We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tempus Hotel Taichung
Ranked #42 of 267 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2010

This was the last Hotel on a business trip to China and Taiwan. Its a decent enough hotel but not as good as the others on the trip. Maybe it was the end of a long journey for us, but the hotel just felt a little tired.

Rooms are ok, very hard beds, but some corridor noise from other guests and even staff made me wake up a couple of times. May well be the best Hotel in Taichung, as some claim. I have nothing to compare it too, but we just found that it was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Tempus Hotel Taichung
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 287 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2010

great hotel with very kind staff, perfect and huge fitnesscenter, billard, pingpong, whirlpool and outdoorpool. the new rooms at the backside-wing are just perfect! just the breakfast could be improved a little (even its very good already). great price performance ratio
every time a good time

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

As residents in Taiwan, we travel throughout the country and stay at numerous hotels. We stayed here based on other reviews and its prior association with a quite well-known hotel chain in Taiwan. The lobby, doormen, and front desk staff and concierge were top notch. The interior room design has *many* problems, a prime example being the TV is attached to the wall can be seen only while on the bed. Therefore the in-room sofa serves little purpose. The real problem lies in the breakfast buffet and the staff more interested in conversing with each other than serving customers. Breakfast is supposed to go until 10am, but at 0915, the tops are lifted off the steamers and you can count on cold food and no one to make eggs or replace any supplies. The breakfast was so bad that we never ate elsewhere at the hotel. Mgmt should understand the relationship between their buffet and patronage of other hotel restaurants.// The management here literally snubbed their noses at us when confronted at check out. Management also declined to contact us about our problems as we requested in the customer satisfaction survey, and as such have lost customers for life. As for anyone else, for this price, you can do much better in TaiZhong.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jashock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

I'm Taiwanese and go to Taichung alot and this is one hotel i would pick if i have young children. The hotel runs a health club with a great children's pool (unfortunately its outdoors), a indoors children's play area and a Wii play room. Its in a good location, close to department stores, science museum, and shopping area. Rooms are clean and fairly new (building A is newly renovated) and price of rooms are very affordable. Clean, comfortable with nice serivce.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

This hotel was overall quite pleasant. The service was very good, and the rooms had nice touches. Although the hotel is not really new, it was well maintained, though from the '90s era by the look of things. The bathroom is all natural stone, with separate soaking tub and glass stall shower, with upscale looking toiletries. The mirror was heated so that it would not steam up after taking a shower. Overall furnishings in the room were decent.

The health club is quite large and active, as it takes members from the local community. There is a large sauna and pool as well.

Although there is not a big impressive driveway, the location is convenient to walk to many restaurants, cafes, bars, and shops in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The Landis Taichung is a five-star hotel managed by local group in Taiwan. At first my husband and I didn't have a lot of expectation but we felt right at home once we arrived at the hotel. The lobby is well-lit, tastefully decorated and the service entirely personal. Then we went to our room and we were very delighted with the setting (except we got a street view which was not pretty). This is the first time both of us are happy with a room! Because of the typhoon we were stuck in the hotel for a day so we tried all their facilities - the incredible hot/cold bath (very clean with advanced massaging facilities), the very well built gym, the clean squash court, wii room, American pool table and ping pong table. We also tried their foot massage except the person who did it was a bit too powerful. Food is good - breakfast sumptuous with different variety. Chinese food - you could tell they have used their "heart" to make the dishes. Overall it was a very plesant stay and we would not hesitate to try other Landises in Taiwan.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brightcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

we have been stay for 4 days in landis hotel.
hotel areas are very comfort and luxury as well as the rooms and the amentites offered in rooms.
breakfast serverd is rich
it's a great luxury city hotel

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank world_treker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#29 of 267 in Taichung
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel Taichung
Millennium Hotel Taichung
#11 of 267 in Taichung
856 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tempus Hotel Taichung - Dadun
Tempus Hotel Taichung - Dadun
#62 of 267 in Taichung
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel Taichung
Windsor Hotel Taichung
#30 of 267 in Taichung
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Landis Taichung
The Landis Taichung
#9 of 267 in Taichung
588 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#3 of 267 in Taichung
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tempus Hotel Taichung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempus Hotel Taichung

Address: No.689 Section 2, Taiwan Blvd., Xitun District, Taichung 407, Taiwan (Formerly The Landis Taichung Hotel)
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taichung
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taichung
#11 Business Hotel in Taichung
Price Range: $117 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tempus Hotel Taichung 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary interior, natural wood and gold color schemes; tasteful furnishings; located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tempus Hotel Taichung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taichung Tempus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing