We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much Better than the Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 UK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
Ranked #18 of 262 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much Better than the Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 UK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This Holiday Inn charges less than 1/2 the price Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 charges. Yet it's 200% better. It's clean and modern. Everything in the room and hotel works perfectly. The price we paid for the room includes free WiFi and breakfast which provided plenty of East and West foods. The front desk employees will help almost any reasonable request and provides small items like combs, toothbrush, soaps, lotions, razors, sewing packages,....., free of charge. The Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, UK will tell you to buy the small items outside the hotel and charge outrageous fee for WiFi and price for meals including breakfast.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the North side with park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    246
    61
    6
    4
See reviews for
115
118
55
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my choice in Taichung after browsing through TA reviews and particularly so after an excellent stay in HIE Bangkok - the points that I could accumulate as an IHG Gold Platinum member was a bonus of course.

I got there on a Friday night after taking the HSR from Taipei, and the total cab from the Taichung HSR to the hotel was TWD250 or so, which was very reasonable considering the distance which took about 45mins drive.

CHECK IN - Check in was fairly quick as we arrived at 6pm, way past the standard check in time. They took the trouble to explain about amenities, breakfast, and even acknowledged my Gold status which was a nice touch - I didnt need the complimentary newspapers though.

ROOM - we booked the twin room which comes with 2 super single beds. The room was a nice size and very well equipped. The 3-in-1 body / hair shampoo didnt bother me as I brought my own. It was very good for the price point I thought. No problems with cleanliness, and plenty of international channels for TV. The standard in-room amenities eg shavers, body lotion, comb etc are not placed in the room by default but they do ask if you need them during check in so you dont have to go down and get it thereafter.

PRICE - I paid TWD2,550 on average for my 3-night stay which I thought was very good especially for an international brand, nice rooms, and free breakfast.

SERVICE - Service was nice but on 2 occasions, I asked the front desk for directions and they gave completely different directions so I was lost on both occasions. Not sure why but I never did ask them again!

F&B - Breakfast was okay, really standard and no change in menus for the days I was there but I'm not complaining as its free and its really quite sufficient for a bite plus coffee before you head out. But the seating is not big so watch the crowds. The lobby also holds a vending machine that you can get drinks and cheap beer from (a can of Kirin at TWD35!).

LOCATION - There isnt much around the hotel to be honest unless you are a park lover. The hotel is connected to Sunshine Mall but it only contains a Jap place, a Mos burger for food. All the other units are outlet malls of otherwise expensive retail stuff, but not cheap either despite being an 'outlet mall'. You can find Yi Zhong Street and Night Market just around the park about 10mins walk away. Fengjia Market is a short 20min cab ride away and cost about TWD150 if you prefer to not take the public transport. Other sights like Carton King are better off reached via cab as well.

OTHERS - Taking the public bus can sometimes be a pain even when I can understand Chinese perfectly and can speak it fluently - only because their public buses have very strange independent systems and their bus stops dont look like bus stops.

I would choose this hotel again in a heartbeat as it suits my needs.

Room Tip: Any room should be nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hburn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you would like to know more about the history of Taichung, this hotel is definitely the best idea to stay. Nearby is the old town of Taichung city and you could see the old fashion things near here. The hotel breakfast is excellent. If you plan to visit Taichung, TW. Please remember to pick up this hotel. Besides, next to the hotel is an outlet mall, if you plan to have some shopping.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The room is not as small as the hotels in Taipei, but the beds are not big either. They only have a double bed and not a Queen-sized bed. The elevator is also very slow!

Location is good as it is just two blocks away from Yi Zhong Night Market. It is also located beside a small outlet mall.

Not too many choices for breakfast food, although they do change some of the food on the menu per day. They also have milk tea on their dispenser!!!

The hotel staff speaks relatively good English, and they know the area around the hotel very well.

If you are planning to take a bus to the surrounding provinces, the bus terminal is just on the next building!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GIAJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Clean, smart, fresh lobby and room. Nothing huge or glamorous but you can find everything ready when you need. Limited amenity but the friendly staff will check if you need any additional items upon check in. Love the always friendly staff at front desk!

Very good for value especially breakfast was provided with the just right variety!

Location is good-10 to 15 minutes walk to the Taichung Station, and 5 minutes walk to the main street. A nice outlet mall is just downstair!

One thing to note is the glazed bathroom, you can see the shape of the one having shower.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ended with 35 on low floors (where I stayed was 535). People waiting for elevator can se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SieSieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

the hotel's ground floor is connected to a small mall where there are a few clothing shops, apparel shops, MUJI, and Mos Burger.
the hotel is just next to a big park. if you love running, you would appreciate this than running on their small gym equipped with only treadmill and a bike, no weights.
about 30mins walk is a morning/day market. quite a busy one too.
to go up to the room you'll need to scan your room key.
they have laundry room too where you can iron and pay for the laundry machine with coins too.
the standard room i had was of good, comfortable size for 2 adults.
they provide 2 bottles of drinking water of 600ml each day. you cant drink the water off the tap.
a downside though, the frosted bathroom glass is kinda too thin that your mate might see your curvy, sexy shape while you're under shower.
the next disappointment was that they have A/C controller in the room, but it doesnt get up to beyond 19 degrees although i've pressed it to 35 degrees. i was sleeping in a fridge. however, the receptionist, who was also the room service, gave me a heater to warm up the room. great they have a solution to their problem.
the finer detail that made my stay much more comfortable was that most of their power plugs in the room could be used with EU and AU (2-prong) plugs. glad it was so because i forgot to bring my adapter!
the brekkie was alright, combination of Asian and Western dishes. they only have a few selections. however, i think they serve different dishes after an hour or so because i saw that the people who arrived after me were having different dishes that i did. if so, that's quite good.
clearly Taiwanese love guava and cherry tomato that they serve that all the time for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

It is located at a very good location at Taichung which Ziyou Road, Taichung Train Station and Yīzhōng St, Bei District are nearby. But unfortunately, iPhone 5 is not supported for the room battery charger.

Room Tip: Rooms facing shopping mall are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
0.5 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
3.5 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#3 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park City Hotel-Central Taichung
3.6 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#28 of 262 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park

Property: Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
Address: No.94 Section 2, Tze Yu Road, Central District, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taichung
#4 Business Hotel in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park is located right next to the historical Taichung Park in the city centre and is the only International brand hotel managed by InterContinental Hotels Group in Central Taiwan area. The Hotel offers a fresh, comfortable and uncomplicated accommodation to business travelers who value time and money. The smart simplicity concept makes the hotel a smart choice for the travelers to Taichung. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park Hotel Taichung
Holiday Inn Taichung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing