We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location; Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
Ranked #18 of 263 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Crest
Level Contributor
252 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Good Location; Excellent Staff”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We enjoyed a four night stay at the Holiday Inn Express Taichung. After arriving in Taichung via Taiwan’s High Speed Rail (one hour south of Taipei at speeds up to 198 km/hr), we took a complimentary shuttle (no. 13) that terminated at Taichung Park (by the clay tennis courts). From there it was a 2-3 minute walk (along the same street used by the bus) to reach the hotel.

Check-in was quick and efficient. We were assigned a large room on the top (12th) floor with great views of Taichung Park, probably due to being Platinum Priority Club members. Many of the rooms do not feature an outside view but instead open to the hotel’s atrium.

Breakfast was served in the Great Room across from the Reception area. Breakfast was a self-service buffet but staff did remove used dishes from the tables as they accumulated. During our stay, the menu varied daily but always included rice porridge (congee) as well as eggs (scrambled or boiled), hashbrowns, a couple of stir fried vegetables and an Italian pasta dish. Everything was really good. Dishes were kept replenished although there were a few times when tour groups descended on the restaurant and the staff fell behind. The hotel accommodates groups do to its proximity to Sun Moon Lake so it can get hectic early. We learned that breakfast after 8:30AM was usually more relaxed.

The staff members at the Reception Desk speak excellent English and provided great assistance to us with touring suggestions. In particular, they recommended a shuttle service near the hotel which we used to travel to/from Sun Moon Lake. You really don’t need a guided tour since it’s easy to walk around the lake area, take a boat ride, ride the gondola, etc. Also, the hotel provides a bilingual sheet which shows the bus lines which go to/from attractions like the Science Museum.

In addition from being across from Taichung Park, you can also walk to the Confucius Temple and Martyr’s Shrine. Also, if you want snacks, there’s a 7/ll on a nearby corner and there also is a Welcome Mart (a supermarket with everything from beer, wine & liquor to fresh veggies) within walking distance (just ask the Reception Desk for directions).

We really enjoyed our stay and recommend the Holiday Inn Express in Taichung.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenHsiao, 經理 at Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear ExcellentAdventures

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay.
We are more than happy to satisfy you when you were staying in our hotel. Sincerely hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Best regards,

Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    251
    64
    6
    4
See reviews for
120
119
56
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location of the hotel was great since it was next to the Taichung park, where you could go for a walk in the morning. A shopping center was downstairs and two local night markets were close. The hotel staff was nice and helpful. Also, the room was clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of Taichung park if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiextc台中, 業者 at Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear FC17

Thank you for sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park.
We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our staff, location and room.
I am certainly sharing it with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This modern hotel is situated right oposite of the Taichung park. Most of the rooms are also facing the green park. Helpful and English speaking staff in the reception. Very clean facilities. the room was more than an average business level. Lifts were rapid and the sound proofing out/inside was good. If some remarks needed... The breakfast was hardly comparable to an average level business hotel standard.
The Super Fast Train shuttle bus stop was just 50m from the hotel corner on the park side.

Room Tip: Ask the room facing to the park, 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelsinkiJom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Though it is a chain, this is one of the best.
Positives:
1)Their staff is really exceptional. We had stayed in many Holiday Inn Express, but this one is really the top, from front desk to the cafe/restaurant's staff. The staff are young, cheerful and chirpy who shows genuine service! Not the type of service with a plastered smile which we often encountered at times.
When we enquired about the bus to SunMoon, front desk whipped out a schedule and told us that the next bus is leaving in a few mins. Even though we could walk there on our own as the bus stn/office is a minute walk away(same row as the hotel), one of the front desk staff accompanied us to the bus stn/office as she wants to make sure that we didnt miss this bus.
2) Location - it is really central, 10 mins walk to the the bus/train stn , eating venues surround the area. behing the hotel are several small restaurants, from Japanese Teppanyaki to Vietnamese food. The Japanese one is pretty good.
It is so central that we could take bus rides to downtown to Sogo and hop on one back as long as the bus indicate that it pass the train/bus stn. And for free ! Yes, the driver told us that it is free bus rides within a certain radius.
3) Checkin was a breeze.
4) Room was clean and comfy with full toiletries.
5) Breakfast was pretty decent as there were Western and Chinese dishes to choose.

We will certainly choose this hotel for our next trip.

Negatives: none that we could think of.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms nearer to the lift, as it is really a long corridor to the other end of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We chose this hotel for our stay during our post wedding photo shoot in Taichung. We purchased a photo shooting package with a studio nearby. Frankly, there are many hotels where we could book with our travel agent easily. Only a few of them is near our studio. We were attracted by this hotel's appearances at 1st sight when we checked out this hotel's official website! It is certainly a good deal given its price!! We soon made our booking with our travel agent. I emailed the hotel after my reservation. To my surprise, staff at their Guest Service, Mr Sam Chen, upgraded our room for us after knowing that it's our honeymoon stay! It was a room overseeing spectacular scenery of Taichung Park (a park with lake view, a fountain, tennis court, and city view). How could I ask for more?!

Just when we thought we had made our right choice on staying here, we were surprised by staffs at reception counter on one of the nights during our stay... I am the kind of person who basically like to take pictures in anywhere. Be it a casual dinner or a special day... I just like to shoot objects / people wherever I go. This trip was for photo shooting with studio... And i didn't get to see the gowns till my arrival. Since I worried I wasn't being able to find a gown that I like, I brought my own wedding gown too! I remember it was nightime of Nov 6 to Nov 7, 2012 am. We finished a day of photo shoot with our studio from 9am to 10:30pm. We still had our makeups on and nice hair-dos when we got off our cab. We are both still very energetic... So we get dressed (with my wedding gown, and him in suit) and planning to take a few causal pictures (in wedding gowns) for a photo diary which I was planning to make for this trip. It was like around 12am, I think. I didn't know the hotel lobby has an energy saving mode of operation, the lights at lobby was dimmed. I realized this the moment I stepped out of elevator... Before i could even respond to it... Guess what... Here comes the surprise... Just like u held surprise party for your good fd... The lights all turned on in just one second =D We didn't ask for it. We were still standing in front of the elevator when this happened!! They truly took the extra mile to go out of its way just to please their customers!!

Last but not least, I had this fresh flower bouquet for photo shoot... On the day of checkout (Nov 7 am), when the mini van that we called was waiting for us in front of our hotel... I was kinda in a rush... We were heading to the famous farmland seeing sheeps... We asked them for urgent travel advise (we should ve done more prep for our trip). The female and male staff there sincerely gave us travel advise on where we could go around that area... And how they take care of my bouquet of flowers? I was asking them for just a laundry bag... U know, just to make sure the flowers won't fall off before I arrive my next accommodation. The girl at reception desk gave me a beautiful shopping paper bag... She said I could keep the flowers sit inside nicely! So sweet!

Oh btw, their all you could eat breakfast is wonderful! I like eating western, my husband likes eating Chinese all the time, but we both have no problem with the breakfast and like it a lot!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous_sweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Room is big and clean, with street view. The layout is good with working desk and one seater sofa. Bathroom is spacious. Two types of pillow provided, firm and soft but I felt that they were the same. Check-in was fast without any hassle. The staff was attentive and responding to guest's request efficiently. Booking via website was easy. Email response was good and the staff could write English very well. A few computers available at the business corner for free internet. Wifi is free at guest room and the signal is very good. The front desk staff was very helpful when we asked for guide and information.
It takes about 50 minutes from THSR station to the hotel, by free shuttle bus. Walking distance to Taichung Station. Alternatively, you may take bus or taxi if you bring along heavy luggages. Location is good, bus stops is just nearby. Bus to Sun Moon Lake is available next to the hotel. Taichung Park is just across the hotel. Short distance to Yizhong area and night market, as well as Ziyou Road which houses a few shops seliing famous Sun Cake. Breakfast provided was good. But I think there is room for improvement on the variety of food. Overall, it was a enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbydelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Travelled to Taichung via High Speed Rail (HSR), NT700, 45mins ride from Taipei. Super fast & with comfortable seat. At Taichung Station, free shuttle bus provided by HSR to downtown and goes directly to Holiday Inn Express, that was really hussle free.
The staff is helpful, cheerful & knowlegeable, providing info for food outlets, night markets, shopping centres etc. Taichung Park is directly opposite the hotel, and our room is facing the park, so much greenery and is really relaxing. Watching people doing regular exercises in the morning and evening encourages us to keep fit too.
Standard buffet breakfast, could have been better with more varieties and replenishment of food was a bit slow.
Visited this historical building called 宮原眼科Dawncake Restaurant, speciality desserts, ice-creams & beverages. Very crowded and popular with locals and tourists. Unique design and colourful decor, very creative bookshelves filled with lots of Taiwanese products like pineapple tarts, teas & chocolates. Only 10min walk from the hotel, it's definitely worthwhile visiting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ongtay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
0.5 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
3.5 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#3 of 263 in Taichung
950 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kun Hotel
Kun Hotel
#5 of 263 in Taichung
770 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#27 of 263 in Taichung
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park

Property: Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
Address: No.94 Section 2, Tze Yu Road, Central District, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taichung
#4 Business Hotel in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park is located right next to the historical Taichung Park in the city centre and is the only International brand hotel managed by InterContinental Hotels Group in Central Taiwan area. The Hotel offers a fresh, comfortable and uncomplicated accommodation to business travelers who value time and money. The smart simplicity concept makes the hotel a smart choice for the travelers to Taichung. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park Hotel Taichung
Holiday Inn Taichung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing