We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freshfields Resort & Conference

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Freshfields Resort & Conference
Ranked #43 of 261 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good place for a retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Rooms are spacious and clean. Loved the huge bathroom and tub. The location of this place is a bit of a drawback if you plan to do things in Taichung. My only issue is that the public and spa areas seem to be dated--time for a facelift!!! Not quite a five-star hotel with a five-star price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulipjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    58
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
67
20
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I booked a night at Freshfields which was highly recommended by my cousin-in-law who lived in Taichung.

The resort is a short drive from Taichung city and there are plenty of (free) parking lots in the hotel compound.

I got a normal room which came with twin beds, complimentary breakfast and dinner for two at the rate of TWD6400.

We were given room 903 which had an excellent view of the mountain and I could also see the outdoor hot-spring pools from the room.

It was really nice to have a private hotspring bath-tub in the bathroom with lovely scenic view. There are automatic curtains which the hotel advise one to use when using the bathroom.

The buffet breakfast and dinner at the resort were pretty average but since it came complimentary with the room, I have nothing much to complain about.

I was happy enough to use the hot-spring bath-tub in my room that I didn't make use of the spa coupons at all.

I would definitely come back for another stay in future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelineT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed in freshfields Resort last year in October after my trip to Cing Jing. I drove a car to there so that I did not feel any inconvenience in transportation. They have sufficient car parks.
If you are looking for a hot spring resort inside Taichung city. You probably won't find a better choice. The room was clean. The bed and the room is big and comfortable.
The very good thing is they have a hot spring bathing pool inside the room. It is excellent for a couple who want a relax trip with privacy. I like this hotel very much!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnsonHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent 2nights with my family in Freshfield. They provided a quad suite montain view hight floor its very spcious, comfortable, clean. Really nice room with large hotspringbath, deep and plenty of hot spring. The glass wall is amazing, Lovely.

The breakfast is varies with western, Chinese, Japanese, and others in buffet style. Stuff are very friendly, not only speak Chinese, English but also Japanese that made us big suprised. So that we didn't have any language problem to communicate, thanks a lot.

Big hot spring pool the swimming wear is required and Japanese style(naked). The Japanese restarunat is excellent.

Would like to stay there again if I have the chance.

Room Tip: Good for taking a walk after breakfast in Japanese garden, enjoy the gold fish funs. The night view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaokoJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This Spa resort is on the hills just few km away from Taichung. The night view is real cool.
It takes 15 min from the HSR station by taxi (between 200 and 300 NT$).
All the taxi drivers we met knew the place (under its chinese name: Qing Xin wen quan)
The hotel also arrange shuttle, but we did not use them.

This resort is targeting couples and families, mainly locals. Most of the staff speak basic english and their attitude has always been helpful. We had some taiwan group as well without any impact on the quality of service.

The prices you can get when booking on line are much cheaper than the initial price list : https://www.ezhotel.com.tw/freshfields/eng/
We had a corner room which is really large and has a very nice marble japan style bathtub. Good view, nice bed. A relaxing place to share with your loved ones.

The food is ok, not high quality, but for 700 NT$ a buffet for 2... nothing to complain about.

Some can find the location a bit of an issue, you need taxi to get out in town. Hotel is please to arrange taxi for you.
There is a university close (3km) with a good selection of street food and small shops. If you want to have better dinner, go to Taichung center (20-30 min, 300 NT$).
The hotel also provide Bikes.

The outdoor spa is well arranged with a variety of pool to choose from (various temperatures and ph).
A good supply of cascade, water jet, jacuzzi..... all you need to relax !
Note, the outdoor spa is mixe, you need wear swimming suit and a cap to cover your head.
If you prefer bath naked, they have others pools in the male / female area indoor close to the hammam and sauna.

We had a great vacation there.

Room Tip: Check the price of the villa when booking ! We nearly had one at the price of a normal room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice Stay. Room has been automatically upgraded to suite. Though the stuff inside the room is bit old, it is great to have a spacious suite.

But after the hot spring, we have got the skin allergy.

In all, it is nice place and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PIGPIGHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Freshfields is located quite far out of Taichung, so it was fortunate that we had our own transport. Driving there we passed quite a number of industrial areas as well as what looked like a correctional centre. The hotel stands out as one of the only high-rises in the area.

One of the best things about the room was the onsen/hot spring bath in the room. This faces the window, and since there weren't any other tall buildings around, one can soak in the hot spring bath looking out at the view at night. The shower stall had a nice powerful rain shower which was great.

The room was nicely decorated with clean lines and light-coloured furniture. It was spacious even sleeping as a triple in the room. There was also free wi-fi with good reception.

There was also a spa in the basement which we didn't use. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was good, with a large variety of food, and a hot station where a chef would do eggs and waffles to your order.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
3.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Taichung
Millennium Hotel Taichung
#10 of 261 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
5.3 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#25 of 261 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tempus Hotel Taichung
Tempus Hotel Taichung
#34 of 261 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#3 of 261 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freshfields Resort & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freshfields Resort & Conference

Property: Freshfields Resort & Conference
Address: No.2 Wenquan Road, Wuri District, Taichung 41450, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Freshfields Resort & Conference 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Freshfields Resort & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freshfields Resort And Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing