We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Dion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dion
Ranked #59 of 279 Hotels in Taichung
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is nicely located in Taichung. The Feng Chia Night Market is a 15 minute walk and there are several good restaurants within a 5 minute walk The staff is helpful. There are a few on the late night staff that go above and beyond with translating Mandarin to English on some interesting documents about Buddhism. My thanks to the staff for being so helpful.

Room Tip: No pool and I did not use the spa so treat these ratings as non-existent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_one111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jingduan c, Supervisor at Hotel Dion, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for choosing Hotel Dion, we wish you have a wonderful staying with us.
Hope to see you soon in the near future!

Hotel Dion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is a little gem with very quiet surroundings. Welcoming drinks were served and the room come with all basic amenities, but the air ventilation is slightly poor. It is located not far away from Fengjia night market (approximate 5 minutes with taxi, 20 minutes walk). The staffs were not only friendly but extremely helpful. Don't forget to get the self-made map with local attractions, food and shopping mall marked. They were also very considerate to help us prepare 'take away' breakfast as we are leaving early in the morning to catch train to Taipei.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyceKc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Dion Taichung for 2 nights (8th July - 10th July). Costs about SGD 665 for 2 rooms (1 four people room & 1 three people room) for a group of 7 for 2 nights. We booked via Agoda.

Service:
We reached the hotel about 8plus after our tour from Cingjing to Taichung.

Upon arrival, the hotel staff already knew who we are and how many people. Maybe we are the last to check-in :P Nevertheless, impression of this = GOOD!

The staff is friendly and the check-in is fast. Welcome drink offered upon arrival in the room.

The staff also took the effort to help me check out the location of a shop which I wanted to go to. She wrote down the address for me and also informed me the directions.

Location:
Location is quiet but a distance away from Fengjia Night Market for the shopping. We have to walk about 20mins to reach Fengjia Night Market. However, we will usually take a cab back to the hotel as it is only 5 mins away via cab and costs about NT90-100 only.

If shopping is your main purpose, this hotel is not for you. Better to choose another hotel near Fengjia Night Market instead.

Facilities/Rooms:
The corridor is dimly lighted, same as in the room which is not my preference. I prefer my room to be brightly lighted.

Room is very spacious! It is separated into beds and a sofa area. There is also a bathtub in our 4 people room too. Toiletries are available such as shower foam, toothbrush, toothpaste, shaver etc. Hairdryer is available too. Fridge and safe are also available.

Don’t throw toilet paper in the toilet bowl. Ours got stuck one morning and the water starts to overflow!!! The housekeeper took a little long to come and resolve. The water already resided when the housekeeper reached. >.<

Breakfast is included with the cost. Breakfast spread is average.

Overall:
Average. If there is 2.5 stars, I will rate it for 2.5 stars instead. Might or might not stay again since it is not near Fengjia Night Market or any other attractions. Stayed in this hotel as other hotels near Fengjia NM was fully booked. Not worth the cost paid. Service is average though friendly. Might be able to find another hotel at a lower cost. But if you like your surroundings to be quiet, this is a place to be at!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JaniceSoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We found a little gem in Hotel Dion in our very first trip to Taiwan with Taichung as the first stop. What the hotel lacked in facilities (only one food outlet where they serve a buffet breakfast) was made up in the fantastic service we got. The girls (throughout our 3 days there we only saw women service staff) were fabulous! They were not only friendly but extremely helpful - our Mandarin was enough to get us by but we needed suggestions on where to go and restaurants to visit. The reception staff gave us a superb recommendation for dinner - a Japanese grill room. Overall facilities were good - the rooms were comfortable and the bathroom facilities adequate but it was the "people" factor that made the difference!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenaYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The staff was very friendly, rooms are nice and quite spacious. Toilet is nice and clean with a bath tub. Breakfast was included and there are a few variety but don't expect a full English breakfast. Wifi in the room is quite weak but I guess it does depend which room you are in and if it is close to the router.
All in all very nice hotel and would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank keenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a night. Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. Room is quite spacious and clean. We were served with fruit tea upon arrival at the hotel. Breakfast is located at the first level of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaylorSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed one week on a business visit. Staff are very warm and friendly always go of the way to please you. Rooms and toilets are clean but small in comparison to the other hotels in Taichung but managable. There is no restaurant as such but just a few tables to have your meals near the reception and entrance area. Breakfast is the same everyday ( this has to change ) Overall the staff are the only plus point in this hotel which is also a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: nothing specific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.6 mi away
Stay Hotel - Taichung Zhongqing
0.4 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
5.9 mi away
Hotel reve Taichung
Hotel reve Taichung
#46 of 279 in Taichung
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
F Hotel - Taichung
F Hotel - Taichung
#67 of 279 in Taichung
63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taichung Trans Inn
Taichung Trans Inn
#34 of 279 in Taichung
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moving Star Hotel
Moving Star Hotel
#26 of 279 in Taichung
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dion

Address: No.558 Section 3, Taiwan Avenue, Xitun District, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 279 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range: $81 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dion 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing