We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beacon Hotel FengJia....heaven place to be for shopping”
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
Ranked #29 of 265 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beacon Hotel FengJia....heaven place to be for shopping”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The hotel is situated on the 12th floor. The room is very clean, tidy, well presentation. Opposite the hotel is the Feng Jia night market. Below the hotel is Watson, Mcdonalds, and not to be missed the night market with a lot of excitement. Breakfast is good lots of varities.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    118
    42
    8
    10
See reviews for
104
74
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mermaid Waters
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This hotel was a long way from the station but don't be put off because it is in a very convenient location with shopping and a super night market right outside the door. Don't be put off too by the outside or the fact that receiption is on the TOP floor. The staff were exceptionally nice, especially one young man who had been brought up in Canada and spoke excellent English. Rooms are adequate in size with nice bed linen and towels. Water and tea and coffee available in the room. Bathroom good with separate shower but lack of hanging space for wet towels etc. Breakfast was fine, although the food was cold. Good variety. They had one little lapse while we were there in that our room wasn't serviced even though we had been out all day. They offered to do it when we got back but needed 20 mins and we were too tired and so just got them to change the towels and give us some water. Think it was just a mistake as they had been full the night before. In a great location for the night market and it's different foods.Rooms could be a bit noisy if people came in late and were talking loudly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel for 1 night & I found it super convenient! Fengjia night market is just downstair! It is also provided with a car parking space just right at the basement of the hotel, you can just drop your car & then bring your luggage to hotel without trouble! The room though is a bit small, it's clean & modern! The breakfast buffet is also with variety of choices! It's so relaxing to sit on the 12/F with large window to enjoy your breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smile_w99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We fell in love right at the first time of our walk into the hotel lobby and of course the rooms. They are modern, well-maintained, clean, and smells good. The room we booked, the family suite, is spacious with good amenities, lcd tv, comfy beds, mini bar, safe, and perfect bathroom. Even better, the location is superb. It is located in the busy Fengchia Night Market, so it was easy for us to shop and return to the hotel in a minute. Negative points, if any, are the lack of english usage for staffs, and the lobby is located in the 12th floor which may makes confusion at times for first-time guests.

Room Tip: If you are a group or family of 5 or 6, book the family suite. Big enough for all. Certainly will co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

stayed in this great location hotel, comfortable, quiet, clean hotel with great service, friendly, helpful reception and staff
hotel is located smack right in night action, the largest night market in Taiwan-feng jia night market, with all the night market action around it, yet high security and really quiet rooms-as though another world apart in the room, free wi fi helps to connect to the world.
got a free tsh shuttle bus from taichung tsh to chowma, then a TWD 100 taxi ride to hotel.
Taxi driver dropped us at the intersection as hotel is in the mall, next door to Mackers.
Super efficient reception, respond to all email in english, help to book taxi next day to nantou bus station for the 8.08 AM direct trip to sun moon lake (via tsh stop but bypassing Puil).
reception is on th12th floor,and security require room swipe card to get to the room floor and room. Room is modern, and very clean, looks new, full facilities in room with your own coffee/tea making and complimentary 2 bottles of mineral water, we had breakfast included

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PjKcontributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Judging from the old review here, Beacon Hotel has apparently gone through major transformation. I picked this hotel primiarly for the location, which is right at the doorstep of the famed Taichung Feng-Chia night market. Can't beat the wonderful spot it is at!

Hotel rooms are spread out on the 8th~11th floor in the same building where you find McDonald on the ground level. While location is great, I can't say it gives you the best first impresion, particularly when you have to take the lift to 12th floor to reach the front desk. Fortunately once you step into the reception area, everything is bright and modern. From the design point of view, it fits the theme of a "boutique" hotel.

Service is quick and efficient. Front desk staff is friendly and quickly assigned me a room on the 10th floor. While the room is a bit cramped, everything is well appointed and decorated with modern furniture - comfy bed, smal but functional work area and LCD TV. Bathroom is small but nicely done - shower area is fantatic. Internet and breakfast is all included. Overall no complaint about the room for the price you pay for a prime location hotel. I did not have time to enjoy the free breakfast but heard from other guests that selection was good.

The only drawback I found, is that carpet in the hotel walkway leading to guestrooms is very dirty and quite unpleasant to look at. Considering the entire hotel was only renovated less than a year ago, it gives guests a somewhat bad feeling this hotel is not keeping up with maintanence.

In all, I think Beacon Hotel offers good value, particularly with its prime location so it is a good contender among similar class hotels in Taichung. However I did find a couple hotels nearby offer similar room quality with at least 20% less on the price so I will have to think twice about staying here again next time when I return to Taichung.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SanFranExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

Its a really basic hotel, the room was smaller than what we saw on the website. But it could be due to the fact that we checked in only at around 5pm and it was fully booked that day. The staff was not friendly nor helpful.

Think I saw a cockcroach in the toilet, I am not such. However, its a room that I won't want to stay long in.

It is good only for its location, which is just beside the Feng Jia Night Market in Taichung.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room layout and front desk service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank wonderwonder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Parker Hotel
Le Parker Hotel
#12 of 265 in Taichung
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#4 of 265 in Taichung
997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kun Hotel
Kun Hotel
#3 of 265 in Taichung
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taichung Fengjia Green Hotel
Taichung Fengjia Green Hotel
#10 of 265 in Taichung
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
In One City Inn
In One City Inn
#32 of 265 in Taichung
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 7 Taichung
Hotel 7 Taichung
#31 of 265 in Taichung
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Property: Beacon Hotel
Address: No.427 Fuxing Road, Xitun District, Taichung 407, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 265 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing