We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 115 Hotels in Pingtung County
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I travelled to the hotel in June with my family (2 adults, 2 young children). During our 3-night stay, an offshore typhoon caused the weather to turn gray and windy. We noticed that half or three-fourths of the guests left. The hotel did not inform guests of the hotel's plans for the duration of the bad weather. I am from a place that commonly experiences hurricanes, and therefore I expected that the hotel would let all guests know what precautions were being taken (e.g., flashlights, generator), would reassure us that we would be safe and staff would be available at all times, that guests could leave if they wished without penalty, that additional indoor activities would be made available, and that discounts would be given to the spa and children's activities. None of this was done. When we noticed that nearly everyone had left, we asked the hotel if the hotel would be kind enough to give us a complimentary upgrade to a larger room, given that so many rooms were available and we could not go outside. Instead of easily making a customer happy by moving us to one of many empty rooms, the hotel said no -- strange. The hotel has a lovely setting, though some of the interior (such as our room) looks quite worn for the price. If I returned, I would go elsewhere and hope for better customer service. (During a month of traveling, this is the only place that disappointed us.)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FloridaAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 348 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

The trip there from Taipei is not the easiest because of the drive from the train station to the hotel. The speed train is a joy though. We had a driver arranged from the Chateau to pick us up. He was very pleasant, but the drive was a long one (1.5 hours). For Americans, hotel rooms in some hotels around Taiwan are family style, meaning most rooms at the Chateau have two large beds in the same room, one for parents and one for kids with one bathroom. I would suggest not getting a room where you walk out to the beach because there is little privacy even at your patio. We had a smoker next door who went to the patio to smoke which came into our room. We asked and received a suite which we happily paid the difference, much better. It was on an upper floor, the views were much better, much more privacy on the balcony, two bathrooms, and even though the building materials were the same, it seemed so much nicer. When we visit again, we will reserve the suite and the connecting room so that our 13 and 19 year old have their own room and bathroom. The beach actually was sad for us in that the sand hit our faces everyday. So, we didn't go to the hotel beach. We asked the front desk about other activities and that is when the fun started for us. First, ask for Scott Lin or Joy if you want more personal attention. They will ensure you have the right room and help you. They provided us with outstanding service and organized scuba diving and four wheel drive adventure for my 50th birthday, awesome. Then, email Ken before you come to Kenting at <8802017@simplelife.url.tw>. He isn't cheap but worth it. He took us to a waterfall hike where we swam in the waterfall and then took us boogie boarding. Two days later, he took us on a hike that is not well known but beautiful and out to dinner with the locals where the food was great. We had almost a whole duck for not much money. The atmosphere was nothing, but these hole in the walls are sometimes the best food for the best price. He is a surfer and knows the places to surf and will teach you surfing or sailing or boogie boarding. The food on the main street is ok. There is one fish restaurant that is wonderfully fresh, but expensive, like the jumbo shrimp was USD $10 each, but delicious. Many of the hotel staff want to suggest Smokey Joe to foreigners thinking we will like it, but I'd not recommend Smokey Joe for Americans. It was like an average Chili's and not great. The breakfast at the hotel restaurant was ok, crowded, noisy, nothing special, but was included in the price and the views are nice - and it was clean. Overall, we are going back because we know which room to reserve and who to ask organize the activities.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors are much better than on main floor. Definitely choose view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arabellakline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place could be fantastic but it isn't. The location is great and the pool area is everything that you'd expect it to be. The beach is is particularly good with lots of water fun options.
However, the food was vey disappointing. We had dinner and breakfast included in the price but after the first two days decided to eat elsewhere. It shouldn't be hard to get something so simple right.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gotmywellieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Plane (almost 11 hours) + Train (2 hours) + Automobile (2 hours)... That's how long it took us to Chateau Beach Resort.

Gorgeous beach wedding: romantic set-up, perfect weather, staff very organized.

Family room with 4 single beds: just right for personal space, very clean.

Breakfast buffet: So much food on the menu for everyone.

Price is right!

Most of all... The beach is clean with fine sand.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a Beach View room... Always sold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geeeeeee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

It was a smooth ride from the THSR stn to the hotel. Our driver was really nice and very friendly, Its what I expect after a long ride. The hotel facilities are great, beach front, food/restaurant are great. The hotel is 10 minutes walk away from Kentings Big St (the center of town). If you are not familiar with Taiwanese way of doing things there are things that might be so simple for you but too complicated for them... We arrived on a weekend of spring feast music festival so lots of parties around town and the hotel was one of the venue for 2 nights of public party. It was noisy of course until around 12 midnight but the place looks immaculate by morning after such a party !!! I pity those travelers who just want a quiet and relax night that are staying in the beach front rooms. The rooms are tidy and new. The gardens are great! I booked for a body relaxing massage on their AZZURE Spa.... ok, I ended up having a painful neck, a bruised on my leg, and a sore back the day after! I was complaining that she is too forceful in her massage and to do it softly... every time I said "ouch" she would say, oh that hurts?! and she will push it so hard that I felt numb. I think the massage philosophy is: IF IT HURTS, THERE MUST BE SOMETHING WRONG and if it doesnt hurt anymore then you are healed!!!! All in all the hotel, service, food ambiance are good.

Room Tip: If you are a family and depending on how young the children,... I would recommend the beach front pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneeBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was a fairly short (4 night) stay whilst visiting family working in Taiwan (who came with us). We arrived by bus (direct to the door!) and were immediately divested of luggage and driven to Reception in a "Prisoner" style beach buggy. The place was beautifully furnished, the rooms large and spotless and the staff so helpful and friendly. As well as a beach (with lungers and hammocks) and a protected sea swimming area, it has an outdoor pool, jacuzzi and hydrotherapy complex, a full equipped gym and a games arcade plus table tennis, crazy golf and crazier croquet. It is really near the town (Kenting) which has plenty of restaurants and bars although there are three restauranys on site and the breakfast choice is one of the finest in the world. I doubt that you would find a gap. I wold definitely go again- I just wish it wasn't so far away.

Room Tip: The "Positano" building is for couple and families - the sea facing ground floor rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed here April 2011 for a few days and it was lovely. The room was clean although the bathroom was a little small. We asked for an ice bucket (for a bottle of champagne we brought) and I guess the staff was either confused (most of them don't speak English but we asked in Chinese) or the hotel didn't have one but someone brought us a five gallon bucket filled with ice, so that was nice.

You'll have to wind around the pools and hop a little ledge to get the beach from the wing of the hotel we were at (or maybe I was just too excited and couldn't find the right path down) but the beach is great, clean and had a variety of water 'activities' There were a few hammocks and one row of chairs.
The only thing it was missing was a bar (which was there in a little tiki hut thing but I guess not open). The main outside bar overlooking the beach was closed too when we were there. The breakfast buffet was a little bland and had to trudge across the entire length of the hotel to get to it, but there was Western food.

The arcade and 'games room' was nothing special, actually a little depressing. It's all in the basement and smells like an old pool.
I would go there again over the Howard just for the beach and the rooms with patios that open up to a long strech of beach, which is the whole point of staying in Kending.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessica354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pingtung County hotels
0.9 mi away
Caesar Park Hotel Kenting
Caesar Park Hotel Kenting
#4 of 115 in Pingtung County
624 reviews
1 mi away
Howard Beach Resort Kenting
Howard Beach Resort Kenting
#8 of 115 in Pingtung County
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smokey Joe's Hotel
Smokey Joe's Hotel
#5 of 115 in Pingtung County
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kenting Amanda Hotel
Kenting Amanda Hotel
#2 of 115 in Pingtung County
533 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fullon Hotel Kending
Fullon Hotel Kending
#15 of 115 in Pingtung County
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Richforest Hotel - Kenting
The Richforest Hotel - Kenting
#19 of 115 in Pingtung County
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Beach Resort

Address: No.451 Kenting Road, Hengchun Town, Pingtung County 946, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Pingtung County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pingtung County
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pingtung County
Price Range: $129 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive 5-star resort set right on the most beautiful beach in Taiwan. Our ocean-view rooms have unspoilt 180 degree ocean views. Ground floor rooms and suites have private outdoor patios that lead right on to the beach. Outdoor heated spa massage pool, fitness center looking out over the ocean, beachside evening BBQ and live music, beach bar, 3 restaurants, tours to local attractions, beach hammocks and recliners, beautiful gardens and surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beach Hotel Pingtung
Chateau Beach Resort Taiwan/Pingtung County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing