We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel King's Town Kaohsiung
Ranked #93 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Seoul
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, bad location”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very nice hotel. Room is good and spacious. Fast in-room internet connection Great buffet breakfast. Cheap buffet lunch and dinner. The reception and staffs are very friendly. There is also free internet access at the lobbly.
Location is not so good: Passing through the railway station everyday as the hotel is at the rear of the railway station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
11
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a stopover in Kaohsiung as part of a tour around Taiwan, and arrived late in the evening. The hotel faces the main train station, with a multi-lane road facing the front of the hotel. When we got a room on the 2nd floor facing the main road, I was worried about the traffic noise but this proved to be unfounded. We didn't hear the noise at all, and it was only the next morning that you could hear it if you paid attention.

The bathroom had an awkward layout, with the shower curtain being hung too far away from the tub. The curtain couldn't be draped with the lower end in the tub, so water would definitely pool on the floor around the tub. It also didn't help that the tub was quite high, so one needed to be careful stepping in and out, especially with the wet floor.

Breakfast in the hotel wasn't satisfactory, with limited choices and small quantities. We also didn't realise that the hotel was quite near (a few blocks) away from the night market, so didn't manage to see it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The hotel seemed decent enough. The mattress was firm but comfortable. The tub had a high rim, making it a pretty high step to get in and out of the shower. The furniture seemed a bit dated but in good condition. Breakfast was a buffet with Asian-style choices and the food tasted fine. Note that unlike many American hotels, the doors to the rooms are not on a hinge, so they won't close on their own, and like hotels I've been to in Europe, you must insert the tag attached to the key into a slot near the door to activate the lights.

The location was awkward. While being across the street from the train station was convenient, having to pass through the station's paid area to get to the metro was a bit of a hassle. The hotel provides passes that let guests pass for free, but this doesn't help for passengers arriving by metro, as we were, since we didn't have a pass yet. What we did was get off at the Houyi metro station and walk the few blocks to the hotel from there. If there was an easier way to get to the other side of the train station (or if the metro station had a exits on both sides) it would be an improvement, but there's not much the hotel itself can do to fix the situation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hawaiian717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Hotel rooms and design were very old. Their rooms were very spacious thou, but had some WorldWar 2 feel... which we do not know how to describe.

Will definitely not go back again. We did not have a good night sleep and luckily was there for only one night.

Breakfast was pretty decent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank xxMarriexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

The room had mosquitoes and I got bitten in two places and hearing them singing next to my ears. That happened at 3am and I ended up requesting a room change at 4am. It completely ruined my rest and weekend vacation. After I complained and insisted without any compromise, I got half payment back. The manager at beginning just wanted to get rid of the case by half of that compensation which I didn't accept. Usually high bathroom entrance curb, be sure not to get stumbled every time getting in/out of the bathroom. The highest tub I've ever climbed as well, again, be sure move carefully and not to fall into the tub.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mw1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Electric tea pot did not work, air conditioning thermostat not available. The comforter was quite heavy, and the room was somewhat warm, so I just could not use the comforter without perspiring. The included breakfast, at best, was mediocre. Located right across the railroad station was a plus, but if I am to return, I'd opt for a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viking9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.3 mi away
Traveler Hotel
Traveler Hotel
#167 of 319 in Kaohsiung
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel Kaohsiung Main Station
0.3 mi away
Airline Inn - Kaohsiung Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shihzuwan Hotel - Kaohsiung Station
0.6 mi away
Midtown Richardson - Kaohsiung Boai
0.3 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Xiongzhong
Kindness Hotel - Xiongzhong
#12 of 319 in Kaohsiung
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel King's Town Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel King's Town Kaohsiung

Property: Hotel King's Town Kaohsiung
Address: No.362 Jiuru Second Road, Sanmin District, Kaohsiung 80745, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel King's Town Kaohsiung 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel King’s Town, invested and managed by King’s Town Group, is a tourism and business hotel offering 142 deluxe guest rooms. The completely renovated Hotel King’s Town is exceptional, and undoubtedly it is the best medium hotel in Kaohsiung city. Hotel King’s Town faces the exit to the rear of the railway station and is near to the MRT station. The location allows easy access whether for business or sightseeing. A very warm welcome is extended to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel King's Town Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Town Hotel Kaohsiung
Kings Town Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing