We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Han Hsien International
Ranked #39 of 320 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

My non smoking room smelled like smoke, dinner was average, elevators performed poorly, and there were a bunch of teenagers running around. The furnishings were old and dirty. Small sampo !?! Televisions..really terrible experience in the room.

Service was nice. Asking for directions was accurate and helpful. Location was near many a place for walking.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bing M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Han Hsien International
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 213 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here for 9 weeks, from the beginning of January 2012 (sorry the review says June)

I had a standard double room on the 18th floor, which was spacious enough, comfortable and clean. The room was always well presented on a daily basis, so no complaints there. There was a LAN Internet connection point in my room, and no wireless. This would have been an issue had I not had a laptop with suitable connection points, ie an iPad only. The connection was fast & reliable however.

The staff throughout the Hotel were excellent, from the desks to the restaurants and even the cleaners etc themselves. They were willing and able to help me find alternative places to eat in the city, arrange transport, carry out repairs to work overalls and even assist in putting a colleague to bed after he had had a few too many glasses of Kaoliang one night. I couldn't fault them one bit, and they were often the highlight after some tough working days.

The restaurants were good, though lacking in overall choices at the time. Breakfast was excellent, with a vast selection of fresh foods. The small Bakery inside was very good too, I would often get a small cake or bread to take to work with me from here. The Chinese restaurant was excellent, portions were good and the quality was great, however few of the waiting team spoke english, however it wasn't an issue really. The bar was also a good spot to relax in evenings, although small, it is on the top floor with views over the city, the staff here were very attentive and there was a good selection of drinks available, even soft drinks.

During my trip, an Earthquake occurred also. The hotel itself moved about a bit and was easily felt on the 18th floor in my room which was very unnerving for a Brit who had no experience of these sorts of incidents. The hotel played out a Tannoy of instructions to follow in both local dialects & English shortly after the tremors started. The staff were able to assist with enquiries afterwards. Turned out these are common in the area and it wasn't that much of a major tremor (over 6 on the Richter scale though!)

Overall, a great experience. I would return to this hotel without any hesistation if the opportunity arose again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank djgritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Check in was fast so as checking out. The rooms was exceptionally big same as the bathroom. Service was always rendered with a bow, such a humble asian trait! The only thing that needs improvement is the gym. Overall we had a good time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcAble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My GF and I came from Toronto. This hotel has exceptional service. Staff was courteous, room was clean. Our package includes breakfast. Coming from North America, we were expecting best-western style crappy breakfast. I was so surprised at the quality and the selection at the breakfast buffet. If we are traveling to Kaohsiung again, we will definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have used this hotel on a number of occasions, check in is very speedy. The rooms are of reasonable size with good bathroom and nice large shower.
Unfortunately there is no wifi in the rooms which is a bit of a downer, location is good with just a 10/15min ride to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuniperJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was surprised by the hospitality of the hotel. Every staff that I met during the stay, they were very helpful and very willing to help out.
Another thing is that the breakfast buffet was fantastic. It served a wide variety of Taiwanese food.
Fairly speaking, the facility and the room are old; but I am still recommending this as next time stay for its cleaniness, service and reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yinncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I liked the bigness of the room, the swimming pool and its restaurant. The staff is nice, the service is prompt and the elevators are fast and no waiting at them. The bar on 42nd floor is nice and you can spend hours together there without any nagging staff, who is readily available should you need them.

Room Tip: I think one should ask reception if you are looking for a good view from your room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raju1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
#23 of 320 in Kaohsiung
722 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
1.0 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
#28 of 320 in Kaohsiung
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
#59 of 320 in Kaohsiung
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
#21 of 320 in Kaohsiung
893 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#34 of 320 in Kaohsiung
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Han Hsien International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han Hsien International

Address: No.33 Sszuwei Third Road, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kaohsiung
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range: $71 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Han Hsien International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sihwei Road across from the Kaohsiung City Hall, the five-star Han-Hsien International Hotel offers 42-stories of accommodation where even the most seasoned traveler will encounter a harmonious blend of luxury and personal charm without a hint of ostentation. It is conveniently located just 15 minutes from the Kaohsiung International Airport. The magnificent ambience of the hotel's rooms and state-of-the-art facilities, together with the warmest of service will ensure the comfort of your stay. This popular hotel will entice you in a way no other can and will be your first destination whenever you visit this promising city of tomorrow. All of the Han-Hsien International Hotel's 311 guest rooms and suites are having a beautiful architectural design and bright and transparent glass, which make the hotel look magnificent and elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Han Hsien International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Han Hsien International Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing