We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills hotel that does the job”

Kaohsiung Toong Mao Resort Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaohsiung Toong Mao Resort Hotel
Ranked #168 of 312 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No frills hotel that does the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for a night while on a work trip. Middle of the road hotel in just about every aspect. Beds and sheets were clean and didn't smell funky and were not lumpy or anything. Other than that the room, like the hotel, was utilitarian and showing its age.

There is nothing in the immediate vicinity that would interest a tourist with the nearest attraction of note being the Museum of History a leisurely 10 minute walk away on the other side of Ai He River. Nearest MRT station is City Council is which is also about 10 minutes away, from there options like the Sanduo Shopping District or Liuhe Night Market are within easy reach.

There's a 7-11 just a couple of doors down for your basic needs and the ubiquitous mom-and-pop type of street restaurant just next door so if you know your way around the language it's a snap getting some cheap, good food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inflection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel locates at the centre of Kaohsiung. Liouho night market is only 15 minutes away. There are many restaurants, fastfood shops and convenience stores nearby. You would not get hungry even in midnight. Although the outlook of the hotel is old and not eye-catching, rooms and other amenities are clean and comfortable. Free wifi are available in rooms and lobby. Buffet breakfast was not bad for a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors with less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manson_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

While the hotel wasn't bad, it wasn't good. It is very old and hard to find. There is nothing close to the hotel that is interesting except for the Love River which sucks. There are better hotels in Kaohsiung for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uwscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

I tried to like this hotel, I really did, but gosh it was hard and I'm not really sure why. It is set up for Asian travellers - the hotel was full of Korean, Japanese and Indonesian tours while we were there. We took a taxi from the train station and it was $230. Its not in the heart of things and the hotel has a very run down feel. Most of the furniture is literally from the 70's. The room was spotless but very tired. Think of a clean but old fashioned Youth hostel and you wont go far wrong . It had no double glazing so the road noise was very loud and very thin curtains so it was never dark. The airconditioning is effective but has a very strange sulpherous smell about it.

They don't respond to any emails in English and there is very limited English spoken in the hotel. There are no cots in the hotel but there are highchairs in the resturant. You are given vouchers everyday for breakfast. I would say dont bother with it. The only Western food is bread and coffee (unless you count the chicken nuggets and chips from the night before) and the Asian food didnt look that hot either. They have 2 restaurants but based on the breakfast we decided not to risk it. There's not many restaurants in the surrounding area. A word of warning the map they supply is not to scale so dont trust it to get you to places. The staff were very kind and there was bottled water in the rooms everyday but I'm sure you could do better for the money (especially as they charge you full price for a baby in the room).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaohsiung hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.3 mi away
M Hotel
M Hotel
#98 of 312 in Kaohsiung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
YPJ Hotel
YPJ Hotel
#97 of 312 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
F Hotel Kaohsiung
F Hotel Kaohsiung
#73 of 312 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jia's  Inn - Aihe
Jia's Inn - Aihe
#12 of 312 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Lily Hotel
#216 of 312 in Kaohsiung
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.8 mi away
Toong Mao Evergreen Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaohsiung Toong Mao Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaohsiung Toong Mao Resort Hotel

Property: Kaohsiung Toong Mao Resort Hotel
Address: No.394 Chi Hsian Second Road, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 312 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaohsiung Toong Mao Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kaohsiung Toong Mao Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing