We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly impressive!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jia's inn - Liouhe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jia's inn - Liouhe
Ranked #19 of 311 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Surprisingly impressive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked this hotel 2 weeks before our trip and were pleasantly surprised! There's lots to love about this hidden gem and I'll attempt to list them down:

Loves:
- How new this hotel is
- The arty feel of the whole place including the breakfast restaurant
- The tasty food served during breakfast (the Asian selection fared better than the western ones and the fried noodles on one of the days were really delish!)
- Proximity to train station and Liou He nightmarket (5 minutes each way)
- Bathroom amenities were provided as well as disposable bathroom slippers
- Fantastic service

Could improve on:
- The airconditioning controls which emits a purplish light and is distracting when trying to sleep
- Repelling mosquitoes as we found one in our room when we checked in but fortunately managed to kill it before we turned in for the night

There is a huge arcade right beside the hotel and cab drivers would know where to bring you once you mention this arcade (I think it's called Tom's World). The hotel is so new that most cab drivers may not be aware. When you exit the hotel, cross the road and walk straight for a few blocks to reach this traditional shop (Xing Long Ju) selling soya milk, shao bing and tang bao (juicy meat bun). We only tried their soya milk and tang bao as we were too full from the hotel breakfast. The soya milk has a very nice taste to it and it's worth walking 10 minutes to get to this place!

Room size at this hotel is pretty small but were still able to open both our big luggages and place them side by side. There is still walking space available with both luggages open.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orangemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    145
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
152
124
82
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Located just few minutes walk from the tourist liu he night market, Jia's Inn is a pretty new boutique hotel in kaohsiung. Although it is a good 10mins walk from the Kaohsiung City Hall MRT station, the hotel still seems accessible to any places of interest.
Walking into this hotel was a good one, love the stylish design of the lobby and frontdesk. Some contemporary art pieces makes this place looks classy. I was early for the check-in but the friendly frontdesk tried her best to locate rooms for us as we need a good shower after an overnight flight. There were nice little designs on the narrow walkway to our rooms which makes the journey shorter.
The room wasn't that big but the bed, wall paintings and furnitures were nicely placed which made the room cosy and feels comfortable. Bathroom was pretty big though with dark color tiles which gave a contrast to the white room, and love the rain shower facilities! The room does provide a 24hrs coffee machine at the lobby for those who wish to have coffee anytime anyday.
Particularly love the breakfast area, love the decorations which makes the place look like a cafe or pub. The unconventional settings like bar tables by the glass windows, low chairs and sofas etc, perks me up during breakfast time. Choices of food seems reasonable with local porridge or continental breakfast provided at the self service area.
The room rate for hotel like these are much lower than those in Taipei, so I think getting room like these to pamper your trip is not a bad choice afterall.

Room Tip: Get a corner room for bigger space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKKBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is no more than 5 minutes' walk from City Council MRT station and no more than 15 minutes' walk to the local night market. Located near residential area, the hotel is quiet and comfortable. You can also borrow a free bicycle from the hotel and tour the central park which is no more than a few blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyChu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed there for one night and this hotel is prolly best in the area. The room was not that spacious but its new and clean, quite artsy. Receptionists were helpful, it is about 5 min walk to liouhe night market.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epictravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, Ilhas, Macau
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel is just a few minutes walk from MTR and Liuhe night market. We couldn't find the hotel at first but finally we found it from the sign on the rooftop. The room is really lovely we both love it. Even the room is not big but very stylish and have everything needed. Two can of coke, snack, tea and coffee are complimentary. Breakfast is superb. Totally we love every single corner of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister_AaR0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

As we only had 24 hours in Kaohsiung and many places to be visited in a daytime, we chose this hostel because the location is perfect, only 300 meters to Liouhe Night Market (4 minutes walk) and 600 meters to Formosa Station to see Dome of The Light (8-10 minutes walk). We were 4 person booked quadruple room for Aug 7-8, 2103. Towels-toiletries-hair dryer were available. Free wifi in the room. At the lobby you can use computers and having tea/coffee/water for free. Laundry room (washer & dryer) was in the basement. Need 3 x NTD 10 for each wash/dry.
This hostel is new, the front desk guys were helpful and can talk English. The room was clean & equipped with minimalist furniture and in good design, not much choice in breakfast but still okay. In front of this hostel is Bank of Kaohsiung, where you can change your money to NTD. There's no money changer in Taiwan, you can exchange your money only in the airport, E-DA Mall and the bank (Mon-Fri at 09.00-15.30). The bank's exchange rate was the best than the airport rate/E-DA mall's rate. This hostel offers free rental bicycle also. Unfortunately we didn't have any time to bicycling, as in the morning we continue our trip to Nantou.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoTravelATW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel has everything you need, great price, great location, comfortable clean room. The staff were very helpful and I love the 3 computers with internet connection and the complimentary coffee in the future. Just make sure you have the address written done in chinese as it is hard to find for english speakers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerreBurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.0 mi away
The Tree House
The Tree House
#10 of 311 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jia's  Inn - Aihe
Jia's Inn - Aihe
#12 of 311 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Hotel - Liuhe Night Market Nanhua
2.3 mi away
Just Sleep Kaohsiung Zhongzheng
5.7 mi away
The Riverside Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jia's inn - Liouhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jia's inn - Liouhe

Property: Jia's inn - Liouhe
Address: No.128 Liuhe 2nd Road, Qianjin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 311 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jia's inn - Liouhe 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for both business and leisure travel.Jia`s inn Liouhe offers 70 elegant rooms unique style, and add ECO elements into the original, allowing more room minimalist taste. A relaxing room festooned with hand painting style to any one corner of the room, and the public spaces unique creative design of wooden tone colors with retro furniture, expectations and inspire you to experience another surprise!To provide a wider variety of accommodation services, free Chinese and Western buffet breakfast, complimentary internet access, so you have a warm and comfortable stay and friendly service, allowing you to enjoy a homely feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jia's inn - Liouhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing