We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view from the top”
Review of 85 Sky Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
85 Sky Tower Hotel
Ranked #28 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel room was average in decor although the room was clean. As with the rest of the hotel, the room looked a bit dated and with colors fading. The breakfast area was on the 60th floor and has a 360 view of Kaohsiung. There were plenty of food to choose from and lots of local flavors.
The walk from subway was only two blocks. There are a few restaurants along the way but all in the area near the subway station.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacation_day_n_nite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for 85 Sky Tower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 561 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

As I booked late, I didn't get a favorable rate but the executive room was at least on one of the highest floors. The view on the ports is breathtaking.
But the hotel decoration both in the rooms and public spaces is looking tired. It does not seems to have been updated since the tower was built. Cleanliness is still ok. I noticed that the windows of the 67th floor where single paned. I didn't stay to live through the typhoon but I can imagine strong winds and rain will cause a lot of noise.
The breakfast buffet was also a bit of a dissappointment. A massive number of people and I did not find to many nice items. It reflects a bit the tiredness of the whole place.

Room Tip: Guess the rooms facing the port and sea are the most spectaculair. However the rooms on the side sti...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBObackNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It's Taiwan's second-highest building, bested only by Taipei 101. The hotel occupies floors 39 through 70 and the lobby is on the 39th floor.
The hotel is a three-block walk directly west of Station R8 on the MRT. For reference, TRA - the train station is R11 and the HSR - High Speed Rail station is R16. Both are north of the hotel. I recommend using the MRT. It's both fast and economical. Single fare from R16 to R8 is NT$30. Taxi is about 10 times that.
The view from our 67th-floor room was quite something. We overlooked that portion of the harbour which on this particular weekend hosted the Big Yellow Rubber Duck.
It was Moon Festival, complete with fireworks, barbeques and wall to wall people.
Our room was quite large, with mini fridge and complimentary beverages. The room was spotless and fresh fruit was placed in our room each morning, which was a nice touch. There is an in-room safe and free WiFi which had a strong signal both in the room and all public areas.
The indoor pool is well maintained, but the change room (closet?) leaves much to be desired. And if you don't have your own swimming cap, they'll want to sell you one. The gym is very good and has an impressive array of high-end equipment.
The buffet breakfast is quite extensive and its selections should satisfy most tastes.
The rack rate for our room was NT$10,500 per night. Online providers will do much better for you.
And as per usual throughout this truly amazing country, the staff exhibits courtesy and respect we in North America can only hope for.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgary68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location, a view of harbor that is outstanding, good service, very clean, not far from subway station, but it is still a hike if you have luggage with you, breakfast is good but I had better (needs more fruits and juice options). It is pricy but allow a whole family to stay in one room. Nice bathroom, with enough space for separation of toilet, shower, and tub. Gym is big, pool adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnwtmb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Splendor is a modern and lavish hotel in THE landmark building conveniently located in the heart of Kaohsiung City. Everything about this hotel is first class. Much has been noted about the incredible views, as all rooms are above the 42nd floor (ours was on the 66th), and all views are spectacular.

Rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. The double beds are king-sized and while the matresses are the hard style common in Asia, the hotel will happily and promptly supply you with a soft pad to increase your sleeping comfort.

The breakfast buffet, served in The Brasserie on the 39th floor (floor to ceiling windows overlooking the harbor) is sumptuous, and includes both Asian and Western-style offerings. Lunch, afternoon tea, and dinner also are served there, but the property boasts six other restaurants as well.

Service is friendly and efficient. All staff go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. The doormen are especially helpful in direcing taxi drivers to your destinations as you leave the property. The 40th floor gym, sauna, and pool are in a health club available to local members. They are state-of-the-art, again with helpful staff always in attendance.

Our stay at this hotel was for nine days, and as "long-term guests" we were comped for a number of things, including use of the Executive Lounge and discounts on some of the hotel's services. That wasn't necessary, but much appreciated and typical of the hotel's hospitality.

In all, I can't say enough good things about The Splendor, and I recommend it enthusiastically. It was one of the finest travel destinations in memory, and certainly enhanced our appreciation of this charming city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMSlaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our first trip to Taiwan.....me and my wife joined a tour group staying 5 days (4 nights) visiting Kaohsiung, Taichung, Yilan and Taipei.
This hotel room was clean and roomy (70th Floor). Wonderful panoramic night and day city views (see photos). Beds were comfortable. Being so high up also mean the room was quiet and no outside noise pollution.
Air condition was quiet, effective and efficient
Stayed one night at the hotel.
Bathroom was lovely with separate toilet, shower unit and bathroom!
Buffet breakfast was fantastic. Western and Chinese buffet fully catered for.
Staff all friendly and helpful. We did not use the spa facilities in the hotel, but judging by the high standards of this hotel we think the quality would not be too far off the mark.
I would definitely stay at this hotel next time I am in Kaohsiung.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Badger88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Located in the heart of Kaohsiung, the hotel is very well-appointed and has excellent service. Great exercise facilities (large gym) as well. Rooms are spacious and provide a very good view of the city. Very clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard368B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
#22 of 319 in Kaohsiung
722 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#35 of 319 in Kaohsiung
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Han Hsien International
Han Hsien International
#40 of 319 in Kaohsiung
213 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
#20 of 319 in Kaohsiung
893 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Dua
Hotel Dua
#17 of 319 in Kaohsiung
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 85 Sky Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 85 Sky Tower Hotel

Address: 37-85F, No.1 Ziqiang Third Road, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan (Formerly The Splendor Hotel Kaohsiung)
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kaohsiung
#3 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kaohsiung
#10 Family Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range: $111 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 85 Sky Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendor Kaohsiung Hotel, located in the landmark of Kaohsiung Tuntex Sky Tower, has been certified by the Taiwan Tourism Bureau as the highest five-star hotel in Taiwan. With huge support from Earntex Group, owner of Splendor Kaohsiung Hotel, the hotel upholds the intimate, elegant, and the unique style differs from the old thinking and limitations. The Splendor Kaohsiung Hotel is pleased to announce that its new name has been officially changed to Singfornee Hotel Corporation, 85 Sky Tower Hotel. The name change will be affective as of July 1st, 2013. This new brand sets sail forward as it includes the intention to deliver our objectives and ideals to furthermore serve every guest with enthusiasm and comfort. Hence it is planning to install new facilities to honor the commitment given from guests. 85 Sky Tower Hotel, formerly known as The Splendor Kaohsiung, was specified by the 2009 World Games as its appointed hotel. It is known and appreciates to be as one of the top choices by political leaders, orchestras, artists, and celebrities. After renewing its steps and developments, 85 Sky Tower Hotel continues to persist and to commit with the idea of keeping excellence with world-class five-star hotel standards. With more than a dozen Chinese, Western, and Japanese restaurants located in the hotel, 85 Sky Tower Hotel is using lean materials, unique workmanship to provide the top quality cuisine. It is also a regular contender in Cuisine of the Year contest. In order to continue fulfilling the expectations from both old and new customers, 85 Sky Tower Hotel will comprehensively enhance the dish quality with new Michelin chefs to provide exquisite dining experience. It is planning to become the leading brand in southern Taiwan and is committed to work towards the goal in the near future. 85 Sky Tower Hotel is Committed to promote the spirit of its brand and to vigorously work with the Kaohsiung City Government therefore to improve Kaohsiung tourism image. In addition to enhance the “delicate” and “professional” travel services, 85 Sky Tower Hotel is offering various travel products from the perspective of local cultural to help developing the beauty of Kaohsiung as the Marine Capital City. It strives to lead the travelers on to an experience of rediscovering Kaohsiung and to make 85 Sky Tower Hotel as the home of the travelers when they visit Kaohsiung. We will always uphold the highest principles of being customer-oriented regarding to dining and room services with continuous effort to reach perfection. Once again, thank you for your support! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 85 Sky Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaohsiung Splendor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing