We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel with great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kingdom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kingdom
Ranked #47 of 300 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good hotel with great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I was at Kaohsiung for one day on 24 Feb 11, as part of my trip to Taiwan. The location is very good - a few mins walk from MRT, very near to the Kaohsiung "Love River". The hotel room is spacious and clean, see my attached photos to believe. The hotel staff were very friendly, greeting us with big smiles. The breakfast, provided by the hotel, is buffet styled and frankly speaking, the breakfast can be further improved. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Kingdom and would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    83
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
33
25
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel at one time was probably the best hotel around but it's definitely showing its age. It is nicely located, couple blocks away from Ai He, but the room is a bit dated and depends on which room you get, you still get a CRT tv and a non-smoking room reeks of smoke. But the staff is very courteous and will change the room upon request. They have a really good breakfast, with both Western and Chinese style foods. It has all the amenities such as fridge, hair dryer, and hygiene stuff but no alarm clock. The carpet and much of the furnishing has seen better days though. There are several computers with internet access in the lobby which is pretty convenient.

This is a hotel used by tour groups - so it could get crowded at times for checkin/checkout.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyboyarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

stayed in a few hotels over the past few days of a group tour.

this one is one of the hotels with a smaller room (abt 2/3 of the other double rooms).

the bath towels were kind of damp ... had initially thot that it was becoz after my dad had taken his shower ... but learnt the next morning that it was the same for some of the other group members.

the bed was rock hard !! as if we were sleeping on a piece of wood with just a mattress protector over it !

my mom also complained that the pillow had a 'smell' as if it was not clean.

Kingdom ? i dun think so.

* i was quite surprised to see a female staff dispatch our bags to our rooms. i had initially thot she was recept or something .... pity her.(but i had carried my own bags).

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scyeo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaohsiung hotels

Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

This is a average hotel, if you didn't ask too much. We had stayed 3 nights in hotel Kingdom, the only incident was on the second day, after we came back from breakfast buffet around 10:45 am. When we got back to the 10th floor towards to our room, the door was opened already, a room attendant was cleaning our bathroom during the time. It was only our second day, the room attendant was not supposed to come in unless we put up the sign. Even thought if it was due out, the check out time is at 12 noon, but the room was been cleaned before 11am. Other than that, it was alright. The front desk agents were friendly and very helpful with smile all the time. The food at the buffent breakfast was pretty plain, and the TV was a bit too small. The bathroom need some renovation. Overall, this is a good location but pretty old hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoonfaceVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I have stayed here several times in the past 12 months.
The rooms on the upper floors were refurbished last year. Now have large tv and new decorations.
I find the staff are very friendly, maybe a but quick to take away your plate at breakfast though !
Check-in and out is quick and efficient. Outside you have only a short walk to the Love river and plenty of places to eat and drink.
Overall, I prefer here to the Splendor, where I stayed once.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
0.6 mi away
Holiday Garden Hotel
Holiday Garden Hotel
#46 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
#57 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Lees Hotel
The Lees Hotel
#16 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#25 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
1.5 mi away
Han Hsien International
Han Hsien International
#42 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kingdom

Property: Hotel Kingdom
Address: No.42 Wu-Fu 4th Road, Kaohsiung 803, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kingdom 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 15-story Hotel located in shopping & business district near Love River; 15 minutes from train station & 10 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingdom Hotel Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing