We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Accomodation Experience in Kaohsiung” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kingdom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kingdom
Ranked #66 of 308 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Accomodation Experience in Kaohsiung”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Located in the southeastern corner of Kaohsiung City near the Yanchengpu KMRT Station and Love River, Hotel Kingdom on Wufu 4th Road is a welcome oasis by any standard.

A doorman smiles and greets you (and does not expect a tip) as you enter the building. The hotel lobby is clean, bright, and open --- very welcoming. The main dining restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner is situated at the back of this lobby.

Check in procedure is a breeze with the efficient, friendly staff who also speak English and can share local knowledge and can make cost efficient transportation suggestions based on your needs. The hotel staff will also provide a colour handout that they have prepared, in chinese and in english, about your shopping and dining choices around the hotel. Personally I did not use this guide but I know the information highlighted is very useful. In case you are wondering, this hotel is used by many international and english-speaking travellers of all ages and shapes. You will sometimes encounter the odd bus load of tourists staying at the hotel however this did not cause me any inconvenience whatsoever when I was there.

The rooms are very good sized for a hotel in Taiwan, and accomodates those travellers who are acustomed to having personal space. All rooms are air-conditioned, have comfortable beds with clean linen, are furnished, have windows with views, and very well equiped bathrooms.

Facilities in this hotel include a gym and laundry, both situated on the 6th floor using the same entry door. The laundry is equipped with a coin operated washing machine and seperate clothes dryer. Don't worry about using your own laundry washing stuff as the machine comes pre-loaded. Allow about 40 mins for the washing cycle and about 30 mins for the drying cycle. Since there are no staff around nearby you might want to bring your laptop or tablet with you and watch a movie to pass the time. There are also complimentary magazines, some in english, and bottles of water on hand. Technically the gym and laundry shuts at 10pm however you will offend no one if you are reasonably quiet when using the gym. The rooms on the 6th floor are situated well away from this area so even using the laundry facilities should not cause anyone any bother. Since not every hotel in Taiwan has its own laundry facilities, this can come in pretty handy.

Just past the sushi shop next to the hotel is a car park which I believe hotel patrons can use. However I did not use a vehicle on this trip so its best to confirm this with the hotel staff for yourself.

Within a stones throw of the hotel on Wufu 4th rd you have two coffee shops/breakfast bars across the street next to another hotel. One of these is open from 6.30am or 7am and the coffee they brew is excellent. Breakfast prices are reasonable as well. A little further away you have the usual 7-11 and Family Mart convenience stores, a Watson's as well as a post office.

Further down you have the Yanchengpu KMRT station which you can use to travel locally and visit some nearby nightmarkets including the tourist oriented Liuhe Nightmarket (near Formosa Boulevard KMRT Station). Situated about two minutes walk northeast of the KMRT station is a 24 hour McDonald's on Dayong Rd which is great for late night snacking.

About 2 kms due west of the hotel is Sizihwan Bay where the Gushan Ferry Terminal is located. This is where you take the ferry ride to visit Qi jin island.

The hotel is also located just a 5 minutes stroll from the Love River and one of its bridges which joins Wufu 4th Rd with Wufu 3rd Rd. If you are an early riser this can be big plus. A brisk walk along the Love River, or Ai He, is a great way to start your day. On the way to the Love River there are a couple of post boxes one of which you can use to send international mail.

All in all, choice of hotel can sometimes make a difference between an ordinary holiday and a memorable holiday. The Hotel Kingdom is one of those places you need to stay at because it adds to your memorable holiday experience. i will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunday9987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    86
    48
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
38
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
patrick074
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

I am rather worried when I booked this hotel, looking at reviews on tripadvisor that this hotel is rather shabby and not in good condition.
Upon arrival, I found that the lobby is decent, room are spacious by taiwan standard, and quite well kept in view of the age of this hotel.
really nothing to complaint about. I'm paying lesser than USD100 including decent breakfast.
location is quite good. just next to the love river, along the stretch that filled with most activitis.
MRT is around 10 min walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

This is my first trip to Kaohsiung and I was glad this hotel was chosen.
There were free wifi terminals to use on the lobby. Pleasant musicians performing at certain peak hours. It was convenient to visit other places from the nearby stations. Service from the staff was very pleasant.Staff was helpful and polite.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Now_or_Never_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel is in a walking distance from the nearest MRT station and in a nice area (plenty of shopping a dining opportunities, including local stuff). The staff proved very helpful and obliging (we had a somewhat unusual request). Rooms were clean and well equipped. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and included both western and Chinese fare. Overall, we were very satisfied and would recommend this hotel. One minor negative is that the hotel does not have wheelchair-accessible rooms (but a regular room may suffice if the wheelchair is not over 60cm in width to fit through the bathroom door).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kratky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

When I last visited Kaoshiung some 30 years ago, Hotel Kingdom was probably among the best in town. Some reviewers were fortunate to have stayed in refurbished rooms, but our room appeared not yet refurbished. The room was reasonably spacious, but the small TV set was still the old-fashioned type. The hotel is just one block away from the Love River. Walking along the river was an enjoyable experience. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank suathong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

I was at Kaohsiung for one day on 24 Feb 11, as part of my trip to Taiwan. The location is very good - a few mins walk from MRT, very near to the Kaohsiung "Love River". The hotel room is spacious and clean, see my attached photos to believe. The hotel staff were very friendly, greeting us with big smiles. The breakfast, provided by the hotel, is buffet styled and frankly speaking, the breakfast can be further improved. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Kingdom and would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel at one time was probably the best hotel around but it's definitely showing its age. It is nicely located, couple blocks away from Ai He, but the room is a bit dated and depends on which room you get, you still get a CRT tv and a non-smoking room reeks of smoke. But the staff is very courteous and will change the room upon request. They have a really good breakfast, with both Western and Chinese style foods. It has all the amenities such as fridge, hair dryer, and hygiene stuff but no alarm clock. The carpet and much of the furnishing has seen better days though. There are several computers with internet access in the lobby which is pretty convenient.

This is a hotel used by tour groups - so it could get crowded at times for checkin/checkout.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyboyarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.2 mi away
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
#59 of 308 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Garden Hotel
Holiday Garden Hotel
#50 of 308 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#31 of 308 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Citysuites Kaohsiung PIER2
Citysuites Kaohsiung PIER2
#51 of 308 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lees Boutique Hotel
Lees Boutique Hotel
#30 of 308 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kingdom

Property: Hotel Kingdom
Address: No.42 Wu-Fu 4th Road, Kaohsiung 803, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kingdom 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 15-story Hotel located in shopping & business district near Love River; 15 minutes from train station & 10 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Fastbooking and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingdom Hotel Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing