We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kingdom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kingdom
Ranked #70 of 311 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

This is my first trip to Kaohsiung and I was glad this hotel was chosen.
There were free wifi terminals to use on the lobby. Pleasant musicians performing at certain peak hours. It was convenient to visit other places from the nearby stations. Service from the staff was very pleasant.Staff was helpful and polite.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Now_or_Never_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    88
    51
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
39
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel is in a walking distance from the nearest MRT station and in a nice area (plenty of shopping a dining opportunities, including local stuff). The staff proved very helpful and obliging (we had a somewhat unusual request). Rooms were clean and well equipped. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and included both western and Chinese fare. Overall, we were very satisfied and would recommend this hotel. One minor negative is that the hotel does not have wheelchair-accessible rooms (but a regular room may suffice if the wheelchair is not over 60cm in width to fit through the bathroom door).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kratky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

When I last visited Kaoshiung some 30 years ago, Hotel Kingdom was probably among the best in town. Some reviewers were fortunate to have stayed in refurbished rooms, but our room appeared not yet refurbished. The room was reasonably spacious, but the small TV set was still the old-fashioned type. The hotel is just one block away from the Love River. Walking along the river was an enjoyable experience. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank suathong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

I was at Kaohsiung for one day on 24 Feb 11, as part of my trip to Taiwan. The location is very good - a few mins walk from MRT, very near to the Kaohsiung "Love River". The hotel room is spacious and clean, see my attached photos to believe. The hotel staff were very friendly, greeting us with big smiles. The breakfast, provided by the hotel, is buffet styled and frankly speaking, the breakfast can be further improved. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Kingdom and would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel at one time was probably the best hotel around but it's definitely showing its age. It is nicely located, couple blocks away from Ai He, but the room is a bit dated and depends on which room you get, you still get a CRT tv and a non-smoking room reeks of smoke. But the staff is very courteous and will change the room upon request. They have a really good breakfast, with both Western and Chinese style foods. It has all the amenities such as fridge, hair dryer, and hygiene stuff but no alarm clock. The carpet and much of the furnishing has seen better days though. There are several computers with internet access in the lobby which is pretty convenient.

This is a hotel used by tour groups - so it could get crowded at times for checkin/checkout.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyboyarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

stayed in a few hotels over the past few days of a group tour.

this one is one of the hotels with a smaller room (abt 2/3 of the other double rooms).

the bath towels were kind of damp ... had initially thot that it was becoz after my dad had taken his shower ... but learnt the next morning that it was the same for some of the other group members.

the bed was rock hard !! as if we were sleeping on a piece of wood with just a mattress protector over it !

my mom also complained that the pillow had a 'smell' as if it was not clean.

Kingdom ? i dun think so.

* i was quite surprised to see a female staff dispatch our bags to our rooms. i had initially thot she was recept or something .... pity her.(but i had carried my own bags).

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scyeo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaohsiung hotels

Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

This is a average hotel, if you didn't ask too much. We had stayed 3 nights in hotel Kingdom, the only incident was on the second day, after we came back from breakfast buffet around 10:45 am. When we got back to the 10th floor towards to our room, the door was opened already, a room attendant was cleaning our bathroom during the time. It was only our second day, the room attendant was not supposed to come in unless we put up the sign. Even thought if it was due out, the check out time is at 12 noon, but the room was been cleaned before 11am. Other than that, it was alright. The front desk agents were friendly and very helpful with smile all the time. The food at the buffent breakfast was pretty plain, and the TV was a bit too small. The bathroom need some renovation. Overall, this is a good location but pretty old hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoonfaceVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.0 mi away
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
#58 of 311 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Garden Hotel
Holiday Garden Hotel
#55 of 311 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#33 of 311 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
#24 of 311 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lees Boutique Hotel
Lees Boutique Hotel
#28 of 311 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kingdom

Property: Hotel Kingdom
Address: No.42 Wu-Fu 4th Road, Kaohsiung 803, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kingdom 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 15-story Hotel located in shopping & business district near Love River; 15 minutes from train station & 10 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingdom Hotel Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing