We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Ranked #24 of 313 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Convenient place to stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at grand Hi Lao hotel for two nights in October 2012. The check in was quick. The room was spacious. Hotel is located right in the city. We walked round the corner to et at a night market. There are so many variety of food and so cheap. Hotel is close to the Love River, where we walked, had a cuppa and something to eat by the river at night. The view was good. Breakfast at the hotel was good, there were a wide variety of food, western, Chinese, Japanese and Korean. The only thing I don't like of this hotel is the pillow. It is just too low and soft for me, by second night I simply couldn't get enough rest therefore I felt really tired on the third day in Kaohsiung. The room is decorated in victorin style, and is clean. There is a surcharge for the Internet. I don't think I will stay at this hotel again due to the pillow. Will probably stay at crown plaza hotel again next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    298
    74
    10
    12
See reviews for
163
118
52
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

来高雄就住这家, 服务还是象以前, 友善, 方便, 周围吃饭也方便, 房间大, 干净, 早餐丰富又好吃. 楼下是百货公司. 景观也赞, 在市中心, 没什么大楼. 床也大又舒服, 有些贵, 停车不是很方便. 很适合家庭来住, 周围好像没有地铁.
Nice hotel, if you are looking for convenient and deluxe hotel , its the best choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAN_VIC729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I travel to Kaosiung at least once per year for business & always stay here.
The hotel is clean with nice large clean rooms & lovely big beds. The staff are always pleasant & welcoming. Housekeeping are great & the laundry service is very efficient.
Over my many stays at The Grand Hi-Lai I have eaten in all the restaurants that are located within the hotel as well as venturing out to eat. Being a single female traveling alone, having the choice of so many restaurants within the hotel is great. The Teppanyaki restaurant is fantastic & by far my favourite style of food.
Excellent choice at breakfast with so many different choices to suit most tastes.
I have never had a bad expereince whilst staying at The Grand Hi-Lai & will continue to stay here whenever I travel to Kaohsiung.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I would not stay anywhere else whilst on a short trip to Kaohsiung but by international 4/5 star standards it was pretty mediocre and rather old fashioned. Nothing cosy or plush but service was good and all perfectly clean and functional. In the 80s it would have deserved 5 stars. Seafood and dimsung was great and good value. Executive club was small and tired but lovely staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Excellent hotel by Taiwan standards. Big clean rooms and nice staff. It is located right next to a big shopping mall, that makes shopping and eating very convenient. There is a nice foot massage shop right across the hotel. So if you get tired of shopping, you can go and have a foot massage, it opens quite late too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aveave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Yes, no doubt about it, this is an excellent all-rounder hotel for a stay in Kaohsiung. I will definitely return here on my next trip whether for business or pleasure.

For dining, I counted at least 9 restaurants in the hotel. I dined twice in the Japanese restaurant on the 10th floor. Each time, the sushi and sashimi were fresh, and we were left very satisfied. I dined once at the Steakhouse on the 45th storey. The view was panoramic if you could get a window seat. The waiters and waitresses were very attentive. Breakfast was at the Harbor Restaurant on the 43rd storey. The spread was good and the place, while crowded, was managed well.

There was in-room internet service (both wired and wireless). I paid NT$700 a day. The speed was very fast. Once my colleague found the speed in her room dropping and she called up the reception. The problem was rectified within minutes.

I asked for an iron and an ironing board to be delivered to the room. They were delivered within minutes.

The hotel was connected to the Hanshin department store which was spread over a few floors including 3 basement levels. The basements featured a food court (Jason's), book store (Kinokuniya) and many other stores (e.g. Muji, Uniqlo). You can probably get anything you want here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack_CCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

not enough words to comment what it is about. Perfect service, polite, welcoming, great rooms, clean, superb business centre, food is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolceVita36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
0.6 mi away
85 Sky Tower Hotel
85 Sky Tower Hotel
#27 of 313 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#34 of 313 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dua
Hotel Dua
#17 of 313 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
#26 of 313 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lees Hotel
The Lees Hotel
#21 of 313 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung

Property: Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Address: No.266 chenggong First Road, Qianjin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hi Lai Hotel
Grand Hi Lai Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing