We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but need renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ranked #34 of 329 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Stay at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung for one night with family. This is indeed an old hotel that need to be renovated. Narrow and dark underground parking area with gray cement wall made me feel that I were driving into an abandoned building.
Lobby is spacious and well decorated. Checking was smoothy and staff was polite. The room is not spacious but okay. Free bottled water, coffee, tea and safety box is available, but I am disappointed that there is no welcome friut.
This property locates beside the bank of Love River and one can have an open and pleasant river view if the room faces the river.
Our room rate package includes dinner and breakfast. We tried the Cantonese restaurant on the 2nd floor. They offered 5(or 6) courses dinner, yummy.
Lover River is just one minute walk away so we took a short walk along the river bank after dinner. Love River is decorated with brilliant lights and music is everywhere. Really a good weekend night to be here.
This is a average mid-scale 3 1/2-4 stars hotel with good location, but need further renovation especially for the parking area. If you wish to access Lover River easily or great food, stay Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung won't let you down. Otherwise, maybe you can try other hotel since room rate in Kaohsiung is not rare.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuanpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 441 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2010

No complaints on an overnight visit in this elegant mainstay of the Kaohsiung skyline.

Clean, neat, professional and understated. A good value for the money (<$95 USD). Cannot comment on many services as I didn't have time to eat or really do much in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pf000sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We tried to stay at the Sky Tower hotel but it was sold out so ended up here instead. The location is pretty nice being right on the Love River. You can stroll up and down the river. The room was spacious and price was cheap but I think I got a company discount so I'm not sure what the normal rates are.

Breakfast was free with my stay. We missed the buffet times but they allowed us to order breakfast to our room with no extra charge.

Good clean place to stay in Kaohsiung.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyqqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I'm not quite as impressed as some of the reviewers here, but I found the Ambassador to be a perfectly adequate though slightly dated business hotel.

The rooms were slightly larger than average, but could certainly do with a little renovation work, particularly in the bathrooms. The view over the river was quite pleasant.

I normally don't eat in hotel restaurants very often, but I thought the options in the Ambassador were quite good. The breakfast buffet is worth a visit, too.

As a jarring note, I've never had to pay for internet in Taiwan before - it's very much part of the standard package. The Ambassador's internet was slow, dropped out, and expensive! Really very surprising in this country and absolutely not good enough for a hotel of this standard.

Kaohsiung is one of those cities that I've struggled to find a 'home away from home' hotel in. I'm not sure that the Ambassador is the answer, but it's certainly an adequate option for a short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Great hotel! Service is impeccable and facilities beyond reproach. I loved the breakfast and the gym. My only two grievances; the pool is too small and the mattresses too hard. Otherwise, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danjumbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

The Ambassador is directly located at Love River, the most popular spot in Kaohsiung.
You walk along the riverbanks or do a romantic boat tour in the dusk or in the evening.
The rooms are good and the restaurants serve pretty good food. The gym is well-equipped and the pool is sufficient for a city hotel. You have several nice restaurants within walking distance. I can recommend it as good choice to stay in Kaohsiung, where seafood is great and you should definetely the delicious mango and ice cream at the nightmarket.
Pics to follow soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatmanOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed April 17, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
#23 of 329 in Kaohsiung
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
0.2 mi away
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
#68 of 329 in Kaohsiung
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
#28 of 329 in Kaohsiung
382 reviews
1.1 mi away
85 Sky Tower Hotel
85 Sky Tower Hotel
#27 of 329 in Kaohsiung
592 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
#19 of 329 in Kaohsiung
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung

Address: No. 202, Minsheng 2nd Road, Qianjin District, Kaohsiung 80144, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#7 Family Hotel in Kaohsiung
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range: $82 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung is one of the hotels that has passed the first wave of five-star evaluation conducted by Taiwan's Tourism Bureau. Sitting at the Love River bank, also known as "Taiwan's La Seine", the excellent geographic environment allows our guests to experience the stunning riverside scenery up-close whether they want to take a walk on the hydrophilic trails on either side of the Love River, sit at a relaxing open-air cafe, appreciate the dazzling lightscribe bridge or take a river tour on the Love Boat and experience the true romance of this waterfront city. Inside the hotel a spacious lobby greets our guests with a high ceiling, a corridor with a gold dome, and gorgeous classical artworks. Entering our hotel, you enter a world blending cultural and historical characteristics, creating a unique style of new European classicism, and combining the best of Chinese and Western hospitality into a cultural exchange. There are as many as 453 guest rooms enriched with bright colors and wide spaces as the design spindle, and fitted with the most modern equipment. We provide the best that quality has to offer as well as the warmth and quiet home feeling rare to top-notch international tourist hotels. Our hotel also hosts six restaurants providing delicious Chinese and Western cuisines and 19 multi-function banquet halls displaying magnificence in charm and grandeur. There is also every service facility that one could expect to find: an outdoor swimming pool, gym, spa, business center and gift shops, all fully satisfying the spice of life that one would need for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaohsiung Ambassador Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing