We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”
Review of Hotel Dua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dua
Ranked #18 of 315 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I love boutique design hotels so I loved everything about Hotel Dua. The entrance was very grand and the location was perfect, just a corner away from Formosa Boulevard Station. There is a lounge section just a walk away from the check-in counter was iMacs available for use and coffee/tea machines and magazines to read and relax. I stayed on the 13th floor in a 13-ping room and it was very decent sized. Enjoyed the flat screen TV in front of the bed very much. During my stay, there was unfortunately a 6.1 earthquake and I was quite scared as the hotel was clearly shaking with lots of banging. As this was my first experience with earthquakes, I called the front desk right away and they were very helpful and rest assured everything was OK. The only con about this hotel is the fact that they did not have any adapters so I couldn't charge anything. For a 5 star hotel, this should be a must. Also, the breakfast was only OK, there should be more variety and better quality items. All in all, great relaxing stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    151
    26
    11
    8
See reviews for
126
169
41
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Mar 8-9
Staying 2 nights here was pure luxury. The hotel name and brand is unfamilar but the hotel is really one of those "grand" hotels that dot the world's cities. For the small price at US$140/night, the room and its amenities, esp the breakfasts, were disproportional. What a bargain!
We were in #908 with both a shower and bath. The room size is large. Every nook and cranny are spic 'n span. How we enjoyed our limited time there.
The 9th floor resto is the breakfast spot and, in the evening, Etage 15. The breakfasts are wonderful and varied. I liked the lup cheong fried rice.
Yueping is a Chinese resto next door. It was full the first night, and the front desk staff helped us secure the second night's dinner booking. The cuisine was exceptional.
Although I probably won't be in Kaohsiung again soon, I would select Hotel Dua again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice location, new, friendly staff, good facilities, meet its 5 star standard. However, nothing "wow" me. I traveled with kids, for me, the hotel is a bit dark, corridors, inside the room, not enough lights, my kids was scared to walk alone to the room next door which my parents stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivydonglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Despite an unfortunate incident several months ago, I feel Mr Hsieh (the general manager) and his team deserve credit for truly going out of their way to make guests feel welcomed and cared for. If you are travelling en famille or even as two couples, the two-bedroom suite is an ideal layout since each room has its own en-suite bathroom as well as a spacious shared living room/dining area. The design of the hotel is all dark wood and dimly lit marble-- contemporary chic at its most somber. If you're after a hotel with lots of family-friendly facilities (e.g. swimming pool, sauna, children's play area, etc.) the Dua is probably not your best bet. But for an ultra-modern boutique hotel with impeccable location (right next to the Formosa MRT and walking distance to the night market), you won't beat the Dua in Kaohsiung.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chatenvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Travelled to Kaoshiung from Taipei recently by taking a HSR. Get out at Zuoying and took a MRT train to Beuatiful island station. get out at number 6, and the Hotel is at the right from the traffic junction. The tall Hotel building's facade is contemporary and and in dark colours.

Entrance are big automated sliding orential designed doors.

Over the counter, service were excellent, prompt and extremely professional.

Corridors were spacious and new. Room was extremely large, clean, new and comfortable. Non-alcholic beverages are free (the only stock available). Room service for meals seems non-existent, a big minus.

The hotel however is not located in the central, and the night market is about 10 mins walk.

Nonetheless, they truly deserve the Number 1 spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MELAKABAGUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent a night at Hotel Dua with my bf's family last weekend. The location is perfect with MRT station nearby. The hotel also provides free parking and wifi in room. Rooms are clean and quiet! We love the free beverages(4 cans: coke, 7-up, orange juice and wheat tea ) in refri! The breakfast is good as well combined with Asian and western food. We will definitely stay at this hotel next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takkilovemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Location is great and near a night market.
Downside of the place is we do not have the chinese name of the hotel, which is pretty hard to tell the cabby where to go to.
Walkway leading to room is ridiculously dark and creepy. Other than that, the room is really big and we love the decor, which is very cosy.
Definitely my choice to stay when I go to Kaohsiung again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
1.0 mi away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
#24 of 315 in Kaohsiung
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tree House
The Tree House
#13 of 315 in Kaohsiung
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
85 Sky Tower Hotel
85 Sky Tower Hotel
#27 of 315 in Kaohsiung
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Kaohsiung Central Park
1.8 mi away
Just Sleep Kaohsiung Zhongzheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dua

Property: Hotel Dua
Address: No.165 Linsen First Road, Xinxing District, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 315 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dua 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing