We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“high quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dua
Ranked #15 of 300 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent a night at Hotel Dua with my bf's family last weekend. The location is perfect with MRT station nearby. The hotel also provides free parking and wifi in room. Rooms are clean and quiet! We love the free beverages(4 cans: coke, 7-up, orange juice and wheat tea ) in refri! The breakfast is good as well combined with Asian and western food. We will definitely stay at this hotel next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takkilovemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    122
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
113
139
36
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Location is great and near a night market.
Downside of the place is we do not have the chinese name of the hotel, which is pretty hard to tell the cabby where to go to.
Walkway leading to room is ridiculously dark and creepy. Other than that, the room is really big and we love the decor, which is very cosy.
Definitely my choice to stay when I go to Kaohsiung again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This could well be the best property to stay at in Kaohsiung. Access is not bad as it is within 10-min walk to Formosa Station of the subway, and within walking distance to Liuhe night market. Rooms are of good size and hip decor, and breakfast is served at the restaurant on the top floor, which enjoys an open view over the city. Breakfast though, was just so-so, and food actually runs out towards the end of the service. I also find service at this hotel particularly unimpressive. The place might be hip, but there is no heart to their service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

"Dua" is Taiwanese for "living". Found this hotel on Tripadvisor, and booked it on the hotel's own website, which has the best value. It has been fully operative since April 2012, and all facilities are new and well constructed, with very helpful staff. Basically a four star hotel without the concierge. Very conveniently located, very easily reached by MRT. I highly recommend this establishment. The room rates will certainly increase when the hotel is better known, probably from sometime this year, so if you happen to stop by in Kaohsiung, make sure to check out its website.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mademoisellef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Date, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed for two nights with my wife. This new hotel is just front of a metro station. The room is wide and clean. Bed and bathroom are well designed for couple. Breakfast is also satisfactory. Free coffee service is available every time in the ground floor. In conclusion, I am strongly recommend you to choose this hotel in your visit in kaohshiung.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mount_USU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Facilities of the hotel is very, very good - big room, fast in-room wifi, very nice breakfast buffet. The location cannot be any better, just steps away from Formosa Station, said to be the 2nd most beautiful subway station in the world. Staffs are friendly and ready to help. Only that it seems they don't have concierge or bell boys. You have to carry your luggage to your room yourself, which is fine for me - just wonder how come a decent hotel like this don't provide such standard service.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor, no view though
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yonghui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived here after staying in a crumby, budget hotel in Hualien and we were unwell. After check-in at the enormous black stone mausoleum-like reception we ascended to our heavenly room. I had booked a 12 Ping room on the hotel’s website for TWD3300 per night. This was cheaper than Agoda and cheaper than the hotel’s own rate at reception which was TWD3520.

Our double room in this stylish, gorgeous new hotel was stylish and gorgeous. There was an attractive motif through the entire spacious room. There was a long shelf that would have accommodated four pieces of luggage. No grovelling in your suit case on the floor! There was a lounge as well as an easy chair and desk with chair. The bed was the first comfortable one that we had encountered so far in our trip round Taiwan. The bathroom had bath and shower, luxurious toiletries and best of all, a Toto toilet! Bliss. Did I say heavenly? I so much enjoyed this room.

Our room was on the 10th floor as was the complimentary self-serve laundry and the gym. So nice to be able to do one’s own laundry without being price gouged. Although there was the usual laundry service if you wanted it. So nice to have some give as well as take in a quality hotel; complimentary soft drinks in the mini-bar, newspaper, real coffee in the lobby.

The breakfast buffet is included and is served in the lovely relaxed dining area on the 15th floor. My only criticism of this hotel is that there were insufficient choices for vegetarians. Of course we are in Taiwan so that is no surprise I suppose. One thing I did love was the high tea served in the afternoon for TWD500. It was not just a lot of sweet stuff but rather a multi-course meal in miniature. And then lots of tiny sweet stuff. It was excellent value and a lovely experience.

Hotel Dua is in an excellent location at the intersection of the two MRT lines. There are restaurants nearby and two night markets are in walking distance. Our taxi driver had no difficulty finding it although he had been crawling along the curb looking at numbers. It was pretty funny when he discovered it was a flash 15 story giant that he had been searching for.

One thing that had concerned me was reviews stating that staff were not English speaking, as it can be very useful to have the help of hotel staff for onward travel plans. Things must have really changed here as in three days I did not encounter a single staff member who did not have sufficient English and most appeared to have excellent English fluency.

I just loved this hotel and it was a real bargain to stay at a quality hotel for this price. We later stayed at the Shangrila Far Eastern Plaza in Tainan which was more expensive but seemed dull and unimaginative compared to the Hotel Dua, and there were none of the nice complimentary touches. Hotel Dua deserves to be No 1.

Room Tip: 10th F has self-service laundry & gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
0.5 mi away
The Tree House
The Tree House
#12 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
#20 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lees Hotel
The Lees Hotel
#18 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kindness Hotel Kaohsiung Jue Ming
1.7 mi away
Just Sleep Kaohsiung Zhongzheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dua

Property: Hotel Dua
Address: No.165 Linsen First Road, Xinxing District, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 300 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dua 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Dua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing