We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Thumbs Up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wang Steak - Kaohsiung Zhongzheng

Wang Steak - Kaohsiung Zhongzheng
Ranked #7 of 3,112 Restaurants in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The food is really good and everyone who visits Taiwan should try this restaurant at least once. The service is excellent and thoughtful. I'll definitely come back again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank japheth85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if your visiting Kaohsiung”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Foremost, you will need to make an advance reservation. This restaurant is popular so just walking in may have you leaving to look for an alternate place to dine. My understanding is there are two seatings for dinner. I went early with a party of 12 for a business function. NT1300/person for a 5 course meal. The steak was tasty and cooked to order. The rest of the meal was excellent - nothing to fault with regard to the food.

Wine service was substandard. It seemed to take ages for them to bring the correct bottle and we were well into dinner before the correct bottle arrived. Just an observation, but it appears there is not much wine being consumed at Wang Steak. Odd, as they have a floor to ceiling wall display with perhaps 200 plus bottles - its just that they are all the exact same bottle of cabernet. Let's just say the wine menu here is limited at best.

I did not care for the white glove table side service - it really seemed a bit over the top for a $40 meal. Perhaps it appeals to the locals who might rightly be concerned about the personal hygiene of the staff.

Wrap-up: Give it a try if your hungry for a steak. It is good dinning experience and no doubt you will certainly be leaving here overfed. However, Ruth's is certainly a more traditional steakhouse from an American point of view - although at 3 to 4 times the cost of Wang's Steak. Or, OB seems popular with local westerners and does a reasonably nice job meeting our expectations when searching for a steak in KHH.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caboyachtservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow - best steak I have had in a long time. I would never have expected that in Taiwan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I am used to the 1-1/4" strip steaks i cook on the grill in the backyard, and usually leave a steak house disappointed, but not here. For $44, we got a real multi-course meal - Salad, soup, entree, vegetable and fruit, dessert, and after dinner juice. The meat was cooked just as I like it, barely warm in the center - you can't find that many places in the US anymore. I wish my wife had been with me instead of our purchasing agent, as it is exactly the kind of place she would enjoy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RockCatWichita_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The price is reasonable, and the serving are huge. Basically is a 5 course dinner. Service is great, and if you go there, you must have the Wang's steak. It's a must try.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jameshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value and quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Taiwan is famous for its open air restaurants and night markets. But when you want something a little more upscale, Wang Steak is a must. It's a small chain of high end restaurants specializing in a beef of superb quality. I went to one for the first time recently and was amazed by the attentive service, excellent food, and incredible value.
It's a set 4 course meal, with 3 or 4 options for each course, each beautifully presented. The first is a choice of seafood or vegetable appetizers, the second is soup or salad. The main course is a choice of different cuts of beef, including the Wang Steak, a bone-in cut that is marinated for two days, and like the beef tenderloin, the veal chop, and the shank, is so tender it almost melts in the mouth. Desserts are equally fabulous. What isn't on the menu are the value-added extras such as the welcome champagne cocktail, and an extravagant fruit plate following the meat course. Unbelievably, the entire cost of the dinner is 1300NT, which is about $43. in Canadian or US dollars. The restaurant is very attractive, a set of small rooms divided by floor to ceiling wine racks, creating a cozy setting. Our server was lovely and spoke very good English. For non-beef eaters, there is a poultry option which also looks very good. Check out their website for more details.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chique-chique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wang Steak - Kaohsiung Zhongzheng also viewed

 

Been to Wang Steak - Kaohsiung Zhongzheng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing