We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of The Icon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Icon Hotel
Ranked #16 of 329 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

we had a room w/o window but its ok. room is big and comfortable. there is 1 washing machine cum dryer on the top level. breakfast is also very pretty and yummy. the staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful. she even went all the way out to help me check out bus timetable and gave it to us the next morning. really sweet of her. u can pass your waterbottles to the front desk staff to ask them to refill water for free. location is a bit off from the train station but its still acceptable.

Room Tip: get a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwenFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 387 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

nice location, nice design, nice service, nice breakfast, and reasonable price!
they have free bicycles to lent, which help visitors to go around easily.
remember to visit the "little green" bar nearby, lots of nice Belgium beer...

Room Tip: Each room has different design, you can choose one while you booking with extra NT$200, or you can c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schiu8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Even if Icon is not the best hotel in Kaohsiung, it is certainly the one with the best design. All the rooms come with a different theme and the entire building breathes creativity.

We stayed in the "computer" room which has a motherboard ceiling and a wall decorated with keyboards. The room is on the 8/F and offers a good view of the city. The atmosphere is cozy and warm.

Breakfast comes in a set and is nothing like the normal boring selection of cornflakes, toast and ham. You can feel that these people paid extra effort to make your stay enjoyable.

Another thing I appreciate is the free bike rental, which allowed me to explore the city at ease. Even if you walk, it's just 5 min away from the Central Park station and about 10 min from Formosa Boulevard Station and the famous Liuhe Night Market.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guneingdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was one of the best b&b that we have stayed so far! With decent breakfast, cool designed room, friendly staff and most importantly, it is located at the great spot in kaohsiung city! 5 mins walking distance form central park station and 15 mins walk to Shinkuchan district. We love the design concept of the hotel and it's really feel good to be back after a long tiring sightseeing around the city. They actually give out a small souvenir after your check-out, how sweet! :) Do give a chance to icon hotel to serve you with their best service and yeah, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeeying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A boutique hotel with a modern young and arty image.
Good clean basic amenities offering value for money.
Professional and friendly staff made our stay enjoyable and we would use this hotel again on our next visit to Kaohsiung

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wig0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is located sort of half way between two MRT stations (Formosa and Central Park). So it's a few minutes walk either way. We stayed at the Rooftop Suite, and it was spacious enough to accommodate 5 of us. (You have to walk up a flight of stairs to the top floor as the elevator does not reach the top) The single beds were a bit hard, but the two king size beds were very comfortable. The room has a little kitchen area (no stove top etc - just a kettle). It was stocked with cups but it would be nice if the hotel would also stock it with some plates and cutlery.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and was able to communicate in English with me. Make sure you get the walking map provided by the hotel, as it has some great eateries and sighseeing ideas on it. Breakfast was adequate, however the washroom at the breakfast area was a bit strange, as it really is only one stall having both urinal and toilet inside.

Overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess_Pudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I've only stayed one night for my business trip. I've chosen this hotel becoz its design and theme rooms. I really love their design concept 'n art works for each guest floor. Very impressive 'n stylish! Especially the painting on 6th floor, Incredible!!! The reception gal was very friendly 'n helpful. This is my 1st time travelling in Kao Hsiung. The reception gal proactively showed me the nice 'n famous sight-seeing points without my asking while I checked in that made me so impressed. They served set breakfast alike in Japan. Yummy 'n nice.

However, the drainage smell in hotel was really stink 'n quite unaceptable. Itz spread around the area of the elevator 'n the cafe. Except this, overall is very nice!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimcarlston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dua
Hotel Dua
#17 of 329 in Kaohsiung
604 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tree House
The Tree House
#12 of 329 in Kaohsiung
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Kaohsiung Main Station Front
1.7 mi away
Just Sleep Kaohsiung Zhongzheng
1.6 mi away
Midtown Richardson - Kaohsiung Boai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Icon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Icon Hotel

Address: No.328 Minsheng First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 329 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range: $43 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Icon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a natural and seemingly accidental presence The Icon Hotel is situated in a corner of the popular XinJueJiang Shopping District. Adjacent to the ever so elegant Central Park metro station, and across the tree-canopy-clad Minsheng Rd., is a simply classic structure full of creative twists.We chose white as our foundation and embellished it with vibrant brushstrokes. Through the creative efforts of numerous artists from around the globe, beyond language and cultural barriers, boundless imagination is materialized in 36 dimensions.Humorous originality frolics in every corner of the hotel as we hope that at every turn of the corner you might let out an occasional chuckle. The Icon is creativity, it is art, and it is a lifestyle. With a humble and low-key attitude we have shattered the traditional impressions of motels, inns, and hotels. Here at The Icon we have orchestrated a visually and aesthetically pleasing feast.The Icon creativityUniquely craftedWe are The Icon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Icon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing