We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor maintenance, average location, chic design”
Review of The Icon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Icon Hotel
Ranked #16 of 322 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a room without window. We have no issue on it. Rooms size is spacious.
Chic and modern design.

The aircon is centralised, unable to adjust temperature individually.
And during the night, a drainage smell comes out from the aircon, awful... Not the whole night though, probably 15-20mins. We smell it for both nights.

There isn't any full length mirror.
2 towels are stains...
Water pressure low.

Breakfast is included in the rate.
You won't have any surprise because we having the same set for both days.

Location average, near to love river and Shinjuku. 2-4 KMRT stops away from the main shopping malls.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 348 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for one night due to last minute change of schedule. Like the creative design of the hotel. Location is great, Walking distance to shopping area. Staff is reasonable helpful and friendly but the hotel room is not well maintained. Moldy grouting in the bathroom, stains on coffee table.
Breakfast is a tray of meat-stuffed croissant, a small salad and a piece of half boiled egg (not even warm), a bacon skewer, few pieces of cut fruit. Coffee and juice was self-helped.
I would think again to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Remember not to book room without window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This new hotel has been built since last year with great location and has chic design. Every room has different design. Price is reasonable and only 5-10 mins walk to the metro station and close to the night market. Staff are nice and helpful. Free WiFi access.

Con. Breakfast portion is small with very limited choices and the room is pretty small.

Room Tip: Don't choose room close to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatureLoverVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Travelled with 10 of my friends in early August. Nice location, about 10 minutes walk to the nearest Subway station... about 15-20 mins walk to Liuhe night market too. Model design with clean rooms... Every floor with different design, and unique design in different rooms too! Loved to cute slippers provide by the hotel, 2 queen beds are available for 4 persons in a room.

Reasonable price, clean and spacious rooms, nice breakfast in the morning, wifi enable in the hotel, staffs are friendly and helpful... The chic and modern hotel to stay in Kaohsiung. Will recommend to all my friends travelling there. Keep up the good job guys!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is the best Hotel i found for the Money.Very close to everething.Subway.is only 3 Blocks from here The hotel is very clean,Hotel staff friendly and helpfull .Breakfast is good.
Same English is must.
I am from Austria i will be staying here for 3 weeks June 1 to 25 th Tem 33C--93F
The price was Us 60.00
You have to see the Harbour Restaurant,The best i have ever seen.

Room Tip: All Rooms have Ac and Quiet. www.iconhotel.com.tw taiwan 886-7-2818999
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shopsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Staying at a boutique hotel have always been one of my top choices.
Opened less than a year ago, Icon Hotel is nicer located at walkable distance to Kaohsiung's central MRT station, and walkable distance to its famous Liuhe Night Market.

It was late when we checked in and the frontdesk was very helpful and gave us a brief explanation of the room and also the places we could go with only 3-4hours to spare.

The room we selected comes with a neon typography that says "Stay Classy" and the room was indeed pretty cool with black and white box decorated around the room. (not to mention that we were given free upgrade to a bigger room)

The whole hotel was themed with design related ideas, and so does the cafe located at B1 of the hotel. All in all, the hotel is suitable for young, chic travelers who want something more than an ordinary hotel.

Room Tip: Select the room design as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LKKBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

First hotel for my first trip to Taiwan. Simple description is the stay was lovely with minimum hiccups.

My friends and I were welcomed with the privilege to select the room we prefer to stay in. Really nice concept though it may not work in bigger scale hotel. This is because each and every room in the hotel is different.

Registration was done quickly and we proceed to the rooms.

Rooms are rather spacious and artistic! Well decorated with furnished with the basic amenities you need.

Our bathroom comes with translucent partition but was still ok. Can't really see what's going on in the bathroom from outside. =)

Breakfast was simple and great to start the day running.

Location is a short 5 mins was from the train station. Staff are very helpful to provide tips and suggest places for us to visit. Something not so tourist.

The only downside is that we saw a few mosquitoes flying around the room. The walls are white hence you can see blurred blood stains of dead mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Bring some mosquitoes repellent as there are a few tiny bit flying around the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookielove_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
1.8 mi away
Just Sleep Kaohsiung Zhongzheng
1.3 mi away
Hooray Boutique Hotel
Hooray Boutique Hotel
#21 of 322 in Kaohsiung
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dua
Hotel Dua
#18 of 322 in Kaohsiung
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Kaohsiung Main Station Front
5.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Icon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Icon Hotel

Address: No.328 Minsheng First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 322 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range: $44 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Icon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a natural and seemingly accidental presence The Icon Hotel is situated in a corner of the popular XinJueJiang Shopping District. Adjacent to the ever so elegant Central Park metro station, and across the tree-canopy-clad Minsheng Rd., is a simply classic structure full of creative twists.We chose white as our foundation and embellished it with vibrant brushstrokes. Through the creative efforts of numerous artists from around the globe, beyond language and cultural barriers, boundless imagination is materialized in 36 dimensions.Humorous originality frolics in every corner of the hotel as we hope that at every turn of the corner you might let out an occasional chuckle. The Icon is creativity, it is art, and it is a lifestyle. With a humble and low-key attitude we have shattered the traditional impressions of motels, inns, and hotels. Here at The Icon we have orchestrated a visually and aesthetically pleasing feast.The Icon creativityUniquely craftedWe are The Icon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Icon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing