We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value with Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Villa Kaohsiung
Ranked #53 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Value with Great Breakfast”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here for business a couple of times over the last two years. I paid US $85 per night for my recent stay. This hotel appears modern and clean from the outside. The rooms are clean and well-furnished. The breakfast spread is the highlight for me. Lots of choices for Chinese fare but more limited for western style foods. The dining room is spacious and clean, as are the lobby and common areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BosAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    72
    29
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
17
9
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is outside of downtown area and no subway around, there are city bicycles out side of the hotel though (20NT/30 min, 1st hour free); there's a 7-11 and a supermarket, and a small size night market at night.
Average breakfast, room was clean enough but nothing special, not-so-comfy mattress; no WiFi in room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Although we only have one night stay here, we enjoyed our stay in the clean & spacious room. The experience is great and breakfast is fantastic. Excellent free wi-fi at the lobby. Highly recommend to any one looking for a homely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Gardenvilla Hotel was the venue for my hotel. I made my arrangements from the US, and everything went without a hitch. I arrived in Kaohsiung late at night and found the hotel shuttle with no difficulty. Unlike the US, this is not a free service, but that is clearly indicated in the reservation form. The room was clean and well-appointed with all the basic amenities, and most important, numerous power outlets. Power in the room is triggered by a sensor on the card key for energy efficiency. The elevators/lifts are also operated by the card key to prevent unauthorized access. There is no wifi in the rooms, but I could work around that.

The hotel is close to local attractions including night markets, Hanshin departmental store, and Lotus Pond. The later is a must-visit. As an internship hotel, the staff is fairly young but very helpful. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mapetite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Only spent one night here but the hotel was very modern and clean and offered the usual amenities for such a hotel. The staff were pleasant and offered help.

The rooms were delightful with an amazing bathroom- however a noisy generator or fan could be heard at night.

Breakfast was more suited to the Chinese guest but fruit and pastries were available if you looked hard enough.

The location was ok- close to high speed rail station and you can walk to lotus pond and the nearest harrods shopping mall but little else in the area geared for western tourists.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed one night in order to present a paper at a conference, and found the hotel to be friendly, stylish and generally well-equipped.

The room decor is particularly swish, with transparent glass partitions separating the bathroom and the bedroom - fine if you don't mind watching a companion's ablutions In suppose. (I was on my own so this was neither here nor there.)

The rooms have broadband but only if you ask a technician to bring a cable. This is not a problem but one needs to know there is no WiFi.

The location is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamiltonstovare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for four days. The hotel had nice amenities. I was impressed with the gym. they had a lots of equipment even a rowing machine. The rooms were of decent size and it was decorated nicely. The Bakery in the lobby was convenient. As a whole the hotel is posh and nicely designed.

I had a problem with the cleanliness of this hotel. On the surface it looks very polished and clean but I was disgusted by the bug infestation. On the first night we had to change our room becuase we came back to a room full of cockroaches. The next morning we saw little cockroaches crawling around the buffet. I was truly disgusted by it.

The rooms were also very humid. When I crawled into my bed the comforters and sheets were damp. It was not a good feeling.

The hotel also does not have wifi connection. There is a cable for Internet and unfortunately it is very short...

Overall I was not too impressed with this hotel. It is aethestically pleasing to the eye but my comfort was compromised.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suntanned-bawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel R14
Hotel R14
#46 of 319 in Kaohsiung
41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Midtown Richardson - Kaohsiung Boai
0.9 mi away
Direct Hotel
Direct Hotel
#122 of 319 in Kaohsiung
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
#21 of 319 in Kaohsiung
875 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
#28 of 319 in Kaohsiung
363 reviews
4.2 mi away
Han Hsien International
Han Hsien International
#39 of 319 in Kaohsiung
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Villa Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Villa Kaohsiung

Property: Garden Villa Kaohsiung
Address: No.801 Chongde Road, Zuoying District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Villa Kaohsiung 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Garden Villa Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Villa Kaohsiung Hotel Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing