We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One-night Stay Gave a Good Impression” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Villa Kaohsiung

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Villa Kaohsiung
Ranked #46 of 300 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One-night Stay Gave a Good Impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed one night in order to present a paper at a conference, and found the hotel to be friendly, stylish and generally well-equipped.

The room decor is particularly swish, with transparent glass partitions separating the bathroom and the bedroom - fine if you don't mind watching a companion's ablutions In suppose. (I was on my own so this was neither here nor there.)

The rooms have broadband but only if you ask a technician to bring a cable. This is not a problem but one needs to know there is no WiFi.

The location is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamiltonstovare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    61
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
15
7
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for four days. The hotel had nice amenities. I was impressed with the gym. they had a lots of equipment even a rowing machine. The rooms were of decent size and it was decorated nicely. The Bakery in the lobby was convenient. As a whole the hotel is posh and nicely designed.

I had a problem with the cleanliness of this hotel. On the surface it looks very polished and clean but I was disgusted by the bug infestation. On the first night we had to change our room becuase we came back to a room full of cockroaches. The next morning we saw little cockroaches crawling around the buffet. I was truly disgusted by it.

The rooms were also very humid. When I crawled into my bed the comforters and sheets were damp. It was not a good feeling.

The hotel also does not have wifi connection. There is a cable for Internet and unfortunately it is very short...

Overall I was not too impressed with this hotel. It is aethestically pleasing to the eye but my comfort was compromised.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suntanned-bawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have spent nearly a week in this hotel for a business trip. I think the best of this hotel is the high quality cost ratio.
The hotel is clean well maintained despite is not a new structure.
People at the front desk, but also room attendants are very friendly and careful to solve any problemor address questions or needs.
I did not have any complaint. Breakfast is quite well mixed between western and taiwanese style, and very differentiated. Swimming pool is continuously supervised and quite large enough to swim decently. Gym is enough to do more than basic training. All in all I was completely satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jparker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
207 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed there one night on a sightseeing tour from Taipei. This place is very nice : a great, clean lobby, efficient check in, spacious rooms, everything very clean and modern, fast free internet, separate shower and bath and fantastic breakfast. This place is just great ! Also the location : walking distance from some nice food court street and from the main shopping street. Strongly recommended !

Only negative point : the minibar was very noisy and when it was switching on and off, it was making a big noise. Not good.

Otherwise : just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

arrived at night, straight to room ,large, elec jug & coffee etc.provided.had shower,fantastic bath room. went to the desk ,asked for a night market for good food,desk staff very helpful. went out the enterance door man asked to help, next a taxi, he said 100 for ride,$2us, good driver straight to night market. after eating & spending about 2 hours ,found taxi,showed hotel card, 110 ,back to hotel. beds very good, morning breakfast was fantastic, good selection for all travelers.

Room Tip: all rooms ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ausiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Pros
+ Modern
+ Quiet
+ Very friendly/helpfu staff
+ Breakfast buffet very good: coffee machine brews individual cups of coffee
+ Master Fung is down the street and has good cheap pastries
+ Great TV selection if you plan on staying in
+ Free wifi

Cons
- Air con did not warm up room.
- A bit isolated but cabs are cheap so this really isn't a "con"
- Small bathroom for two girls.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank macheteready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Garden Villa is a local 5-star hotel. We traveled as part of a tour group and stayed here for a night. Given that we were practically hotel-hopping, this one is one of the better ones we experienced throughout our eight days itenary.

In general, the hotel room looks very clean, new and decent sized. It is also very well located as there are plenty of shops in the surrounding area. The Liuhe night market is about twenty mins car ride away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YHTEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.9 mi away
Direct Hotel
Direct Hotel
#110 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Long Siang Hotel
Long Siang Hotel
#91 of 300 in Kaohsiung
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel R14
Hotel R14
#81 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
#20 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lees Hotel
The Lees Hotel
#18 of 300 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Villa Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Villa Kaohsiung

Property: Garden Villa Kaohsiung
Address: No.801 Chongde Road, Zuoying District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Villa Kaohsiung 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Villa Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Villa Kaohsiung Hotel Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing