We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise from within, affordable and relatively near Central Park Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mirador Hotel Kaosiung
Ranked #140 of 322 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I'll be honest, my friend and I were lost when we couldn't find the hotel on our first day. Blame it on our lack of direction...haha.. However, once you find the hotel, you'll realise that it really is quite near to the MTR, within 5-10 minutes walk and with shopping areas nearby. We were constantly greeted by friendly staff who are extrememly helpful in providing us with useful information and assistance on some of the places that we want to visit during our stay. The hotel staff recommended a very friendly driver and even helped us arranged for the transportation to Kenting. When we were late in returning to the hotel, they even called to check with the driver to make sure that we are still with him and in good hands. The western breakfast is excellent and the rooftop garden makes it a great place for taking some photos, though the garden does seem a little not too well maintained. An extra note will be to take note of the door ledge when you're closing the room door as if it's not fully pushed back when you're closing, you just might be in a big surprise when you return. Be careful not to lock yourself out... In general this is a very good choice to stay for holidays. It's relatively affordable with the MTR and shopping areas being relatively near and MTR centrally located within Kaoh-Siung. Great hospitality and excellent decorations!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloverax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We wanted a room that could accommodate 3 adults & this hotel matched our basic requirement.

The European style decor is very lovely. Loved the lift with a surprise seat inside. Had a good breakfast at the nice ambience garden cafe.

The location is away from the crowd yet within walking distance to transport, good food & shopping area.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinTanMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was looking for a cheap, decent hotel in a convenient location and I was glad I chose Mirador over other hotels. There's a night market nearby and Xin jue jiang district with lots of shops near the MRT. (The MRT Central Park Station is less than 10 mins by foot). For reference I took the cab home one night after the Love River cruise and it cost about 90 NT from there.

The breakfast was simple - either western, chinese or vegetarian. A quick breakfast at the rooftop and you're good to go. There's a nice view outside too and the hotel did quite a good job in decorating the area.

I especially liked the elevator. It felt like I was in the countryside even for just a few seconds. The rooms were small but clean and has a homey feel to it. It's just so cozy inside! They had all the basic amenities and they had free wi fi.

I stayed for 2 nights and would highly recommend it to friends and relatives.

Room Tip: try requesting a higher floor or corner rooms. ours was in the middle right when the elevator opens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badbatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We were visiting friends in the city of Kaohsiung. We think the people of Taiwan are among the friendliest in the world and we loved the city of Kaohsiung. However the Hotel Mirador has alot of small things that need improving. The room was oddly without a standard size closet, and my tall husband's clothes were hanging on the floor. The shower curtains were really short and we flooded the bathroom floor. The room smelled of sewage. The breakfast that was included was adequate in size but we were served a plate of the same items every single day and it got boring fast.
The reception staff are pleasant and willing to give directions, call for cabs etc. The room was clean and certainly adequate in size.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrissyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

When you arrive at Mirador Hotel Kaosiung, the front receptionists will greet you with friendly and warm service. The hotel is designed like a country cottage, and the elevator is very neat with a sofa inside (it's a long elevator). The rooms are clean and well maintained, and the shampoo offered is lemon verbena scented. Breakfast is served cooked with eggs and small croissant, and creme brulee plus a drink (milk, tea, coffee or orange juice). Teabags (fragrant teas) are also supplied in your room and at the lobby. Mirador Hotel is in an area like Shinjuku in Tokyo or Ximending in Taipei: there are lots of shops for young people. You can buy reasonably priced clothes, shoes, accessories, and hip items here. Local young people like to congregate here, so there's a lot of energy and vibrancy in this neighborhood. Night markets are also nearby, and the subway is 7 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The whole hotel and the rooms are very nicely decorated, really an eye-catcher. Our room was very nice but also pretty small for us and our two big backpacks. The bathroom was okay, but we found hair in the bath tub. Another con: The walls are very thin so you can hear the TVs from the other rooms. Also, the rain on the roof was very loud.

WIFI and breakfast was included. Breakfast is served in the cafe on the top floor. It's a set breakfast, so you only have a choice between vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Breakfast is okay, but I can understand people who get bored of it after a few days.

Another great pro is the roof terrace where you can enjoy the evening with a bubble tea and some treats from the nearby nightmarket after a long day of sightseeing (the cafe doesn't sell any food).

The staff is friendly although communication in English was sometimes pretty difficult (depending on the member of the staff).

It takes about 5-10 minutes from the metro to get to the hotel.

The hotel was celebrating it's anniversary during our stay, so we got a discount and thus payed for two nights about NTD 3000 (74 Euro). Laundry was pretty cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Mirador is a nice and interesting looking hotel, with friendly and helpful staff. Lots of help about where to go from the reception staff and they were patient even when we repeated our questions.

My room is clean and comfortable. However, the sound proofing is rather terrible, I can hear cutlery dropping on the 5th floor, I was staying on the 6th floor. The breakfast are suitable for vegetarians. The location is not bad, however if you have a heavy luggage, it is 10 mins walk to the subway (Central Park MRT Station). There are plenty of things to see along the way, it is smack in Shinkuchan, and there are night market stalls set up all around the area starting in the evening.

Overall, not bad at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silentscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.6 mi away
Orange Hotel - Liouhe
Orange Hotel - Liouhe
#84 of 322 in Kaohsiung
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#99 of 322 in Kaohsiung
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
T Hotel Kaohsiung
T Hotel Kaohsiung
#71 of 322 in Kaohsiung
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tree House
The Tree House
#13 of 322 in Kaohsiung
1,287 reviews
1.8 mi away
Midtown Richardson - Kaohsiung Boai
0.7 mi away
The Cloud Hotel
The Cloud Hotel
#72 of 322 in Kaohsiung
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirador Hotel Kaosiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirador Hotel Kaosiung

Address: No.77 Wufu Second Road, Xinxing District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 322 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range: $41 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirador Hotel Kaosiung 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
【Mirador Hotel】located in the right center of Kaohsiung downtown, and the most popular shopping center. It only takes 3 to 5 minutes to MRT "Central Park Station" by walk, furthermore, it only takes ONE minute to the most well-known Shinkuchan shopping center. No matter if you want to feel the night of love river, enjoy the great foods at Liu-Ho Night Market or go shopping among department stores, they are all under reachable distance. You will definetely have wonderful and unforgettable sweet memories during your business trips or family travel.We provide best service and most reasonable rate, hope you will have pleasant and unforgettable memories. thus,【Mirador Hotel Kaohsiung】will be your best choice during your stay in Kaohsiung. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mirador Hotel Kaosiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing