We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“a little bit disappointing for a 5 star Crown Plaza” 2 of 5 stars
Review of E-Da Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
E-Da Royal Hotel
Ranked #36 of 299 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Hsinchu County, Taiwan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a little bit disappointing for a 5 star Crown Plaza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The appearance of the hotel is very beautiful.
Close to the shopping center and the E-DA amusement park.
Rooms is a little bit small and not impressive.
The air conditioning is a little bit loud, poor sleep quality.
Limited choices for Breakfast, and it's expensive too.
Restaurant waiter should be more diligent.
Service part needs to be improved: the lack of Bathroom Amenities, needs to call twice to notify the counter.
Hotel facilities are good and very new.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeichinPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear WeichinPeng

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-Da World and taking valuable time to write us a review. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to the hotel exterior, the convenience to the outlet mall and theme park and our facilities.

As for the air conditioning noise you have mentioned, we take it very seriously and have asked our engineer team to undergo investigations, but if possible, we would like to know the room number you stayed so we could have checked in time.

For the breakfast issue, we offer international buffet selections but regret if the choices are not to your likings; other than buffet breakfast, we also provide A-La-Carte menu as an option. As for the price, we do offer room package which includes breakfast and many customers find it a great bargain. With regards to the attentiveness of our staff, we will take immediate and appropriate actions to strengthen their service attitude.

Once again, thank you for bringing these up to help us improve and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    110
    43
    25
    18
See reviews for
132
45
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Far from kaohsiung city and cost TWD$500 taxi if u don't want to wait for shuttle. Big hotel but try avoid crowd in holiday. Need to queer up for breakfast for 15min. Plenty of shops in mall opposite to hotel. Bath Room is bigger that sleeping room and face the window with unprotected view.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Momowong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Was apprehensive before booking this hotel due to negative feedback on Tripadvisor but still went ahead. Turned out to be a pleasant surprise for my family!

Travelled with hubby and 2 kids aged 5 and 8. Shuttle from Zuoying HSR was a breeze n cheap. Check in was fast and hassle free. Rooms were new and clean with no smell at all. Hotel is located directly opposite the mega outlet mall, n free shuttle service brings us to the Eda theme park. Hotel facilities are good and very new. My family thoroughly enjoyed the indoor spa pools n games room. Gym facilities are good too.

Staff were helpful and very dedicated. Left my newly bought umbrella on the shuttle bus on the way to the hotel. Was sad and informed the staff if they could help contacting the bus driver to locate my umbrella. Imagine my surprise when I returned from the trip to the theme park to see my lost umbrella in the room!

Though young, my kids have stayed at a number of hotels. They said this is the best hotel they have stayed so far and I kind of agree.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear CatherineL:

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World and taking valuable time to write us a comprehensive review. We really appreciate the high appraises you gave to our Room, Facilities, Shuttle and overall Staff Services and the easy access from High Speed Rail Zuoying Station to our hotel. We strive to provide great and impressive services to all our guests and it makes us so happy to read that we have exceeded your expectations. We will definitely share your experiences with all hotel members.
We hope to have the honor of serving you and the family again should your travel brings you back to Kaohsiung.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is located right next to E-Da outlet shopping mall and amusement park. we booked a family room with 2 queen beds which is spacious enough for us. The room is clean but the sound proof is not good just as others said. If your destination is amusement park and shopping mall, this is the right oneto choose. Otherwise it's kind of far from downtown Kaohsiung. However, the shuttle bus runs very frenquently to downtown and HSR station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rliao1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear rliao1688:

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World as your preferred hotel and taking the time to write us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and the fact that we are within proximity to the theme park. Given the size of our hotel, we are about 15 to 20 minutes from city center and as you have mentioned the shuttle bus runs frequently which makes it hassle free. Thank you again for the compliments and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Yours truly,
Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

had never seen such a dirty and smelly hotel room, view of a ruined building,weekends overbooking long time wait in restaurants and for check in/out,mini bar was leaking and moldy,for a 5 star hotel a cheek

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BEFRPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear BEFRPL:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure that our facilities and services are superior and we strive to provide comfortable accommodation and friendly services. It is regrettable to learn that some finer details had been overlooked during your stay, and we would be very appreciative if you had contacted us on the spot for proper rectifications. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously and would love the opportunity to regain your faith and show you our improvements on your next visit to Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World.

Sincerely yours,
Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung E-DA World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaohsiung hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

As a Priority Club member, I enjoyed the priviledge of a dedicated check in counter in the Club Lounge area. I had the family suite, which is spacious and has 2 attached bathrooms. The close proximity to E-Da is a big plus. The hotel is served by several shuttle services to the E-Da, high speed rail and other tourist destination. This makes up for its distance from the Kaohsiung city. The big delight is the indoor waterspa, which has several areas with different water features too sooth tired muscles. The water jets provided warm and powerful sprays of water to massage different parts of the body. I was very impressed with the facility!

Room Tip: Family suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siang7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Siang7:

Thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and take the time to write us a review. We are proud and most appreciative of your high praises of our convenient location to city center and theme park, as well as our fabulous indoor water spa facilities.
Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hualien, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Location: The hotel is located at EDA-world resort, it’s about 30 minutes away from high speed railway(HSRC) Kaohsiung station. It is very far from downtown of Kaohsiung.
Front desk staff: The staffs are all kind and speak in good English and Chinese. But you usually need to wait at least 15 minutes for check-in because there are so many people want to check-in at the same time.

Room: I stay in a two single beds room for 4 days. The room is comfortable with enough space for two people. The equipment in room is new and well-preserved.

Restaurant: we have a breakfast and lunch in buffet, the food is nice with a lot of choices but no so impressive.

Overall it’s a hotel with good quality, but the price for the room is still too high considering the overall quality.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yichingchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Yichingchen:

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments about the language proficiency of our front desk staff and the spaceious of our guestroom. As a resort of our size, we are 15 to 20 minutes away from city center and THSR Zuoying Station, with shuttle bus running on regular schedule. Our standard check in time is 1500pm, and if going to the theme park is in your itinerary we would suggest to leave your luggage at our concierge desk so it will not delay the rest of your plan. Thank you again for sharing your experience and concerns with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.1 mi away
E-Da Skylark Hotel
E-Da Skylark Hotel
#99 of 299 in Kaohsiung
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
10.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
10.1 mi away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
#17 of 299 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Lees Hotel
The Lees Hotel
#16 of 299 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
8.9 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
#20 of 299 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
10.4 mi away
85 Sky Tower Hotel
85 Sky Tower Hotel
#18 of 299 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E-Da Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Da Royal Hotel

Property: E-Da Royal Hotel
Address: No.153 Section 1, Xuecheng Road, Dashu District, Kaohsiung 840, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kaohsiung
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — E-Da Royal Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
E-DA ROYAL HOTEL is the only five star and upscale resort hotel situated in Kaohsiung city, south of Taiwan. The hotel has e.g. facilities for a wedding (including catering), a wellness centre including the Tea Tree Spa and is the only in Asia with a Dream Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your E-Da Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung e-Da World Hotel Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing