We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Indoor Waterspa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of E-Da Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
E-Da Royal Hotel
Ranked #35 of 304 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Indoor Waterspa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

As a Priority Club member, I enjoyed the priviledge of a dedicated check in counter in the Club Lounge area. I had the family suite, which is spacious and has 2 attached bathrooms. The close proximity to E-Da is a big plus. The hotel is served by several shuttle services to the E-Da, high speed rail and other tourist destination. This makes up for its distance from the Kaohsiung city. The big delight is the indoor waterspa, which has several areas with different water features too sooth tired muscles. The water jets provided warm and powerful sprays of water to massage different parts of the body. I was very impressed with the facility!

Room Tip: Family suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siang7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Siang7:

Thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and take the time to write us a review. We are proud and most appreciative of your high praises of our convenient location to city center and theme park, as well as our fabulous indoor water spa facilities.
Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    131
    48
    30
    18
See reviews for
160
50
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hualien, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Location: The hotel is located at EDA-world resort, it’s about 30 minutes away from high speed railway(HSRC) Kaohsiung station. It is very far from downtown of Kaohsiung.
Front desk staff: The staffs are all kind and speak in good English and Chinese. But you usually need to wait at least 15 minutes for check-in because there are so many people want to check-in at the same time.

Room: I stay in a two single beds room for 4 days. The room is comfortable with enough space for two people. The equipment in room is new and well-preserved.

Restaurant: we have a breakfast and lunch in buffet, the food is nice with a lot of choices but no so impressive.

Overall it’s a hotel with good quality, but the price for the room is still too high considering the overall quality.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yichingchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Yichingchen:

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments about the language proficiency of our front desk staff and the spaceious of our guestroom. As a resort of our size, we are 15 to 20 minutes away from city center and THSR Zuoying Station, with shuttle bus running on regular schedule. Our standard check in time is 1500pm, and if going to the theme park is in your itinerary we would suggest to leave your luggage at our concierge desk so it will not delay the rest of your plan. Thank you again for sharing your experience and concerns with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Crowne Plaza E-Da is attached to the shopping mall and the theme park is not far away. The hotel itself offers some activities for kids already. The room is very spacious, very large bathroom, bed is very comfortable. This is a very busy hotel, especially in holidays. We could see so many families bringing kids just like us. Even hotel offers 2 very big restaurants for breakfast, we could still find the long queue after 8AM. The kids club is also very full from 9AM when it open but I could see nobody at the gym.
The staff is very sweet and nice. We are IHG gold member, and already some privileges with fruits and cookies at room,...etc.

Room Tip: The room walls are probably thin as others said, but luckily we were arranged at the room close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorsmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPEdaMarComTeam, Public Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear taylorsmt:

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to learn that you and the family enjoyed the stay with us. We strive to provide great services and comfortable accommodations to all of our guests and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back our establishment. Once again, thank you for the wonderful and kind words.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Extremely long waits for bus from HSR to hotel, especially with 2 young kids in tow. Paper thin walls is right, we could hear both rooms beside us. Not sure if it was only our second floor (22xx) Safe didn't work, had to call for service. Shower drain doesn't drain we'll resulting in pooling of water inside stall, and water leaking out of stall onto washroom floor. Hair dryer is barely warm, and you know how long it takes to dry long hair? Will try a different room tomorrow but so far, only the venues outside the hotel in the outlets is making this Chinese New Year vacation with the family tolerable. Very disappointed in what they claim 5 stars

Room Tip: Pay for the best, get a decent room. Pay less than $200/night, get a fair room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at E-Da Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Xavier M,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Kaohsiung, Taiwan.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaohsiung hotels

Jakarta
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

A huge hotel, good for families. Huge room as well, the twin bed is two queen sized beds, can accomodate up to 4 adults and two kids (or six small adults :) ). Shopping Mall and eateries are just within a walking distance, the same also for the theme park. I attended my friend's wedding over there, which was an awesome place as well. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: Plan a wedding here... indoor and rooftop, both are awesome :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alvin_grp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I arrived at the hotel using the high speed train from Taipei. It is really convenient. But once out of the train station there were hundreds of other guests waiting for the shuttle bus to the hotel. It took almost an hour to get a seat. I think they need way more buses to handle to load.
Once at the hotel I was really impressed. The lobby is magnificent. It could easily compete with a RC or FS hotel. Spacious and full of light. The check in was so so. It took quite a while to find my reservation (made through the reservation department at the hotel) and I got assigned the wrong room at first. I booked a room facing the dream lake but got a room facing the ferris wheel. The first room I got was really unacceptable. Dirty carpets and wallpapers coming down. More like a hostel and quite a downer after the first impression. The second room was way better and I liked that there was a small corner with a TV to relax. The balconies are ridicoulus. So small you cant even sit (you cant sit anyways because there is no chair provided). But overall a nice room. Not 5 star but close. Could improve a little on the cleanliness. Dinner was at the Steakhouse and quite nice. The food quality is good and the service is nice and fast. We had a bottle of wine that is on promotion and its good value I have to say. The dessert was a bit bland but the waiter changed it and invited us for a coffe and we were happy. Breakfast is another story though. It was so busy that they opened a few restaruants for breakfast (Thanks god!) because otherwise the waiting would be too long I guess. We choose the Heat and Chill restaurant and it was really a show. More like hostel style, watching all the people storming at the buffet and emptying it every 5 minutes or so it seems. Good that the restaurant manager offered us to have breakfast instead in the business center because it was too noisy and so many people there. Breakfast in the business center is fine, the buffet is smaller but the a la carte is nice and the service is friendly. Check out took a while too, mainly because so many people waited. Needs to go faster.

Room Tip: Face the dream lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel to visit the E-da Them Park within walking distance(or free shuttle) Compared to my other Crown Plaze experience in US, this hotel is far better and will passed as a Renaissance Hotel by Marriott.

We especially enjoyed the indoor health spa, or my kids called it in-door pool because it is huge. Pool area looks nice with a tube slide, very similar to what you will see at Las Vegas strip hotels in a smaller scale. We did not use the pool because it is not heated and the water is too cold.
We did not use their breakfast because their buffet breakfast is always packed with tour groups during our 3 nights of stay there. We did enjoyed their bakery very much. They have a nice Bar located above the lobby overlooking the lobby, nice. Employees are very well trained and polite.

Quality of the room is superior 5-star quality, we booked a room with 4 beds, received a 2 room suites with total of 4 beds, 2 bath rooms, two seperate doors and a private entry way with another door - my wife just love the security. The rooms are with 5 star spec and sizes with bath robe, safe, sleeper shoes, coffee and tea station fully stocked, toiletries for men and women.

It is a easy walk to the Them Park though the outlet mall or take the free shuttle. The Mall has many dining and shopping options. (see my review on the E-Da Them Park)

Transportation is very good, they have direct shuttle from the High Speed Rail station to the hotel at a very low price. Also MAKE SURE you allow a day to visit the Buddha Memorial Center with direct shuttle service for about US$2 per person. (Even if you are not a Buddist, you will appreciate the cultural experience of the Center, allow 3 to 5 hours and make sure you enjoy their Vegetarian Lunch with western menu selection such as Subway sanwich and pasta). TIPS: Ask for a room facing the Ferris whell and upper floor - booking direct with their official site and Priority Club Membership for better services.

Room Tip: TIPS: Ask for a room facing the Ferris whell and upper floor - booking direct with their official s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCWang1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.1 mi away
E-Da Skylark Hotel
E-Da Skylark Hotel
#85 of 304 in Kaohsiung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
#24 of 304 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
10.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
85 Sky Tower Hotel
85 Sky Tower Hotel
#26 of 304 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Lees Hotel
The Lees Hotel
#21 of 304 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#31 of 304 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E-Da Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Da Royal Hotel

Property: E-Da Royal Hotel
Address: No.153 Section 1, Xuecheng Road, Dashu District, Kaohsiung 840, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kaohsiung
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — E-Da Royal Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
E-DA ROYAL HOTEL is the only five star and upscale resort hotel situated in Kaohsiung city, south of Taiwan. The hotel has e.g. facilities for a wedding (including catering), a wellness centre including the Tea Tree Spa and is the only in Asia with a Dream Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Fastbooking and Booking.com so you can book your E-Da Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kaohsiung e-Da World Hotel Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing