We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you prefer a less touristy night market, avoid Lioho Night Market”

Liuhe Tourist Night Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$353.00*
and up
Kaohsiung City Day Tour
More Info
$581.90*
and up
5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung...
More Info
$1,206.25*
and up
Private 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge...
Ranked #11 of 333 things to do in Kaohsiung
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“If you prefer a less touristy night market, avoid Lioho Night Market”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is my 3rd time to the night market. Over the years, it has become more and more touristy. Had the worst experience this time round. Large group of tourists walking together blocking out the street and talking extremely loudly. I think there were more tourists than locals. The variety of food is limited. Many selling "Thailand" (more like tiger) prawns, where they skewer the prawns alive and then barbeque them till they die. You can literally see the prawns struggle until they are cooked red. I would suggest Rueifong or Qing Nian night market if you want to experience a more local flavour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carplaneshiptrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    337
    274
    68
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mostly food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

i went there pretty late, so most of the stalls have closed.
the stewed stall which is famous for it's wings is still open, but that night, it wasn't fantastic.
tried the fried oyster bun, the skin is pretty thick at the top. but once u got passed that it's pretty normal... it'll be good if the owner can have more or larger oyster inside.
there's tonnes of prawns/ shrimp seafood to choose, am not a seafood fan so i skipped past those stalls

all other food is normal, nothing much to shop as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YunLingS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
1 review
“Kaohsiung Liohe Night Market”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

For a wide variety of food choices try this any evening. Of course there are touristy and costume items. Caveat emptor. Starts early evening. Best to do a walk-thru to get an idea of the variety. Besides food there are fresh sugar cane drinks as well as teas. As for food, remember seafood is plentiful either solo or batter-fried. A lot of foods are recognizable, like chicken or shrimp. Sit down areas for consumption of some establishments goods can be had or simply buy and eat as you walk. Convenient walk from main train station. Cabs are always nearby.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HaoRobHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“First night market in Taiwan - so much seafood!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Since this was my first night market in Taiwan - it was amazing!! We arrived a bit early so we actually had a chance to browse and look at all the stalls. We tried a lot of food, and it was all VERY good and very cheap (compared to US prices). We had: the xiao long bao (original and grilled on coconut flour), the bitter melon and papaya juice, various fried seafood (crab, shrimp), fried chicken, different buns, the noodles - we were pretty full when we finished going up and down the market. When we left, the market was completely packed and full of tourists.

Also, the people at the stalls were very friendly - I speak limited mandarin, but they were patient and spoke slowly and in basic words so I would know what they were trying to say to me. Great place!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jl637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice place for a snack or two”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Famous for their papaya milk (REALLY GOOD! especially for me who do not drink milk at all, i actually liked it as the fragrance of the papaya covered the smell of the milk) and their smelly toufu, it's a relatively nice place for visitors who would like to experience how a mini night market looks like in Taiwan. Though the street is not very long, it still provides for a glimpse of Taiwan's night market.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jisushika1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liuhe Tourist Night Market also viewed

 
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
 

Been to Liuhe Tourist Night Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing