We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms... too spacious”
Review of Urban Hotel 33

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urban Hotel 33
Ranked #61 of 329 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The first thing that struck me about this hotel is the fact that the lobby looked plain and almost run on a shoe-string budget. The hotel has a lot of space, too much that isn't well utilized, combined with the use of marble floor, it makes the whole place feel cold and uninviting. Giving the whole place an empty feeling

This sense of emptiness accompanies you as you go up to your floor. The carpets used in the corridors were a little thin which is mainly why it gives a sense of emptiness.

As you enter the room, you'd find that the room is huge. There is lots of underutilized space, so much so that you can fit another queen sized bed into the room easily. Add that in with the fact that the room has weak lighting, it gives a foreboding sense that made me feel uneasy in the room.

The room windows are not always strategically located and do not run the width of the room, which means that there is limited natural light shinning into the room.

There is no wifi, and the only internet connection is via a RJ45 cable that is 3 feet long, and will definitely not allow you to bring your laptop to the bed.

Similarly the toilet is huge, but underutilized. The marble flooring again gives the toilet a sense of coldness.

Overall, while I found the place fairly new, clean and well kept, the oversized rooms, underutilized space and sometimes poor lighting will make me reconsider this hotel. Its not the the hotel is bad, but that the above mentioned issues means that I never felt at ease in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZHMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 142 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We paid 215 euros for three nights.
We got a quite correct room for Taiwanese standards. Not as new as other reviewers said, but very clean.
The room was big, in the 11th floor, bathroom clean but the window was so tiny we almost had no natural light.
The bed was so blooding hard that we couldn't sleep well in the three nights we spend there. We felt tired and sore in the morning.
Breakfast was a just-ok buffet.
You can get far better places for that high price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diegotoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just around the corner of a busy street, easy access to subway and many small shops nearby.
Very friendy staffs. Excellent buffet breakfast in Chinese and Western food. Reasonable room size and bathroom, good bedding and clean. There is no safety deposit box in the room. Wi-fi signal was weak. I did not pay for the rooom and have no idea about their rate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLEE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Room was new and modern. Quite spacious (compared with other Asian hotels). We have a nice sleep and nice bath in this hotel.
Location is excellent. Very close to metro station.
Breakfast is very nice too. A nice range of choice with good quality. I particularly loved the fresh salads and their Taiwanese ''nurou fan''!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 2 visits/3 nights.
Overall stay had been pleasant, staff were friendly and only helpful at certain level. Try to rebook a night, hotel was full and charged a suite rate, which was reasonable. However, I have my second night booked by travel agent and on a lower rate. Asked if I could retain the room on second night, was rejected. Hotel was not wrong but very unhelpful when talking couple of times on the phone.
It seemed that hotel management is not paying enough attention on staff empowerment and guest-oriented. Had a noisy bathroom fan as well.

Room Tip: Wi fi connection in some room is weak, should ask for better one or a router to improve signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Booked two rooms for four as I was travelling with a group of friends. Staff was very courteous and professional at check-in/check-out and throughout the stay. We all liked that the hotel was relatively new with modern decor. Rooms are not large but more than enough for five teenage girls in a room without feeling crowded. There was a tiny window in the room facing a wall so there was essentially no view to talk about. Wifi was okay but at times not strong enough. Requested the iron and ironing board by phone and promptly delivered to room by a service lady though without a smile. Breakfast was not sumptuous but more than sufficient to freshen one up with a fair selection of Western and Chinese food, fresh fruit, etc. A short walk to MRT station makes everywhere so easily accessed. Overall a very nice stay and satisfactory with regard to the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnyH284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is located like 90sec walk from Sinyi Elementary School station (MRT)'s exit 4. Basically you get out, walk 50m straight then turn right and within 50m you will see it.

The staff were helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was provided with the room I booked but I wasn't having high hopes as it was really cheap but it turned out to be a very pleasant surprise! It has nice coffee (proper espresso machine with multiple functions), western and asian selection of food and juice etc. Good start of the day!

The room was small, it has all the basic utilities like kettle, hair dryer and some amenities (not all there but you can request it from reception). The shower was okay but water pressure was slightly weak. Also the bed was very hard and the walls/doors are thin - we were unlucky to have a noisy family across from us who talked loudly outside their room at mid-night!

Basically there's no view in my room (mine was overlooking apartment blocks).

There's free wifi in the hotel and it has two computer at lobby for guests to use, it's very fast and not many people utilize this service while I was there. Hotel staff were very friendly and polite. They are also super helpful and genuine.

Overall it's very good value but if you are planning a romantic holiday, this might not be the place.

Room Tip: Get a room facing inside street instead of the main street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YW L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
1.5 mi away
Midtown Richardson - Kaohsiung Boai
1.8 mi away
Hooray Boutique Hotel
Hooray Boutique Hotel
#29 of 329 in Kaohsiung
288 reviews
5 mi away
The Riverside Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lees Boutique Hotel
Lees Boutique Hotel
#25 of 329 in Kaohsiung
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orange Hotel - Liouhe
Orange Hotel - Liouhe
#63 of 329 in Kaohsiung
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel
#89 of 329 in Kaohsiung
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hotel 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel 33

Address: No.33 Minzu 2nd Road, Sinsing District, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 329 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range: $53 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Hotel 33 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urban Hotel33 is affiliated with the Han-Hsien Hospitality Co. It is in the heart of Kaohsiung commercial district, and located a mere 15 ~ 25 minutes away from the Taiwan Railway Station and airport, and is adjacent to the KRTC. Urban Hotel33 features modern designed Elegance Section and Chic Section. With 167 guest rooms, a business entertainment center, conference room, restaurant and other facilities, our five-star international hotel provides the finest quality and superior service to both our business travelers and tourists from around the world. Our attentive and caring hospitality makes you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Urban Hotel 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing