We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and service”
Review of Hotel Sunshine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunshine
Ranked #51 of 331 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and were made very welcome by the helpfull staff. Clean and comfortable room with good bathroom. Very enjoyable breakfast. A good stay and in a convenient location for our travels.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank issybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 228 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel location is not as idea but there are some mall near the hotel. Surrounding is quiet.
Room size is big and room is clean.
The decor is a bit strange with the bath room and fixture modern looking but the bed and chair are traditional Chinese design.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewNOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It is situated at a busy junction, about 7 minutes walk from the MTR station. Although at a busy cross junction, really cannot hear the traffic when in the hotel. The lobby is rather small and there is only one lift to goup for the rooms. When I opened the door of my room, it is amaze to see the furniture and decoration in the room is of old Chinese tradition; rather not use and adaptable to them.

The room and bathroom were clean. However, dislike the bathtub as it is oblong shape and there is no shower curtain although the bathroom is rather large. As such, you tend to wet the bathroom after taking shower. The water pressure is bad and water shower fittings are as in the 1970s'. Overall, clean and presentable room but with a tired and not pratical function bathroom.

Breakfast is served on the 2nd floor of another building meaning you need to go to the lobby, walk to adjacent / another building. Basically, serving for Asians / Chineses but there are breads, cheese and butter and bottled yogurt. Variety of food, guess this able to compensate my not so pleasant stay in the room.

Will I be back here? Maybe not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clchin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed for a night during the June rainy season period and i must say i really enjoyed staying in Hotel Sunshine! Loved their tea room in their lobby area though i didn't actually get to try their food there. The whole decoration of the hotel is splendid! With very chinese types of furniture right in front of our rooms as well as in our room. The whole room itself is spacious, with a huge bed. The best part is that they provided 5 pillows for each bed! What not to love about this?! Their rooms are also very high tech with touch screen light switches.

The downside is that our bathroom's drainage was clogged and the bathroom was flooded when my mommy was bathing! Fortunately, we called for housekeeping and their staff came promptly after a while to clear the drainage of clogged hair. I am impressed with the staff who came as she was wearing office uniform (which i doubt she is a housekeeping staff) and she actually went down hands on to dig for the clogged hair.

Nothing not to love about this hotel though there was a slight hiccup.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Jisushika1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

If you want to experience a hotel with traditional chinese decoration, sunshine hotel is the right choice. Close to Gaoxiong MTR station, 5-10 mins walk from the exit, free breakfast included. Cost around $3000NT per night. The decoration in the room is so traditional, very very interesting, also provded the chinese version chess for you to play. It took me a while to figure out where was the TV controllor hidden at. Worth to have a try and good value with money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Ming S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in July this year, it was my second stay already.

The new block was very nice, opened a few months back, more westernized compared to the old one, but both are good, depending on which would suit you better.

Breakfast was simple but good, that's all I need to start a day.
Service was excellent and staff are very friendly, they can recognize us almost since the first day we checked in until we left, always greeted with smiling face, from everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new block, as rooms seems larger and brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank Tigger0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

good service with waiters
confortable bed, restroom.
delicious meal.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
39  Thank polingsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Kingdom
Hotel Kingdom
#73 of 331 in Kaohsiung
197 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Riverside Hotel International
0.4 mi away
Kindness Hotel Han Shen
Kindness Hotel Han Shen
#24 of 331 in Kaohsiung
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Midtown Richardson - Kaohsiung Boai
1.6 mi away
Hooray Boutique Hotel
Hooray Boutique Hotel
#31 of 331 in Kaohsiung
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
85 Sky Tower Hotel
85 Sky Tower Hotel
#27 of 331 in Kaohsiung
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunshine

Address: No.75, Zhonghua 4th Road, Linya District, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 331 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range: $35 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunshine 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunshine was established in 1995 and opened at Jhonghua 4th Road. With elegant Chinese classic, the hotel uses valuable and rare rosewood furniture to blend with refined oriental culture and make innovative contemporary designs by unique Chinese culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing