We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay, excellent serivce”
Review of Hotel Sunshine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sunshine
Ranked #43 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay, excellent serivce”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in July this year, it was my second stay already.

The new block was very nice, opened a few months back, more westernized compared to the old one, but both are good, depending on which would suit you better.

Breakfast was simple but good, that's all I need to start a day.
Service was excellent and staff are very friendly, they can recognize us almost since the first day we checked in until we left, always greeted with smiling face, from everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new block, as rooms seems larger and brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank Tigger0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    100
    31
    4
    10
See reviews for
58
40
30
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

good service with waiters
confortable bed, restroom.
delicious meal.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
39 Thank polingsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This is basically very popular with Asians, by which i mean it is not a western style, think dark carved wood and gold bits everywhere.

We were shown three rooms before we found one which did not smell of drains. They all looked out onto a brick wall , so avoid rooms ending with a three. The room on the front was better, I'd say an average 3 start hotel standard.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, we didn't bother with breakfast on the second day as there was nothing we wanted to eat.

If you are western and prefer a western style of modern hotel then try somewhere else, this cost us £55 uk which was only a little cheaper then the 5star places in town, and we Shpuld have stayed there. Even better, id recommend staying 30mins away by train at the shangri la in Tainan and coming in on the train, where we then went on to stay for the second time!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravellingBobUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Great place to stay. The service was amazing. When we entered the room there was fruit with a note welcoming us and wishing us a pleasant stay. The staff even offered their help in finding a hotel in Taipei. Hands down the best I stayed in, in Taiwan,amazing staff and an amazing service. Book through the internet it is cheaper!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank chay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Very welcoming and alert staff with sincerity in helping to ease any problematic situations or questions I enquired. Daily breakfast is generous, diverse and routinely kept refreshed. My room was perfect for me; spacious, very tidy and very clean. I am more than content to stay here again when I return to Kaohsiung. I spoke with a few visitors and they seemed quite content to return as well. It's location is a 5min stroll from the MRT (next to cinemas). There are surrounding night markets with a variety of nightlife spots within walking distance. A mixture of local and western surprises and as I've discovered since being in Taiwan the locals are incredibly friendly and honest. A very happy stay and would highly recommend to one and all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
42 Thank DeadMangoStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
4.7 mi away
The Riverside Hotel International
1.6 mi away
Hooray Boutique Hotel
Hooray Boutique Hotel
#15 of 319 in Kaohsiung
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
The Lees Hotel Kaohsiung
#21 of 319 in Kaohsiung
875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Han Hsien International
Han Hsien International
#39 of 319 in Kaohsiung
208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shihzuwan Hotel - Kaohsiung Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunshine

Property: Hotel Sunshine
Address: No.75 Jhonghua Fouth Road, Lingya District, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 319 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunshine 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunshine was established in 1995 and opened at Jhonghua 4th Road. With elegant Chinese classic, the hotel uses valuable and rare rosewood furniture to blend with refined oriental culture and make innovative contemporary designs by unique Chinese culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing