We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaohsiung
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Life Hotel & Resort
Ranked #196 of 325 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Reviewed June 23, 2013

From my experience, this is one of the top hotels in their price range (NT1000-1500 per night). Friendly staff, big and clean rooms, fantastic location (5 minute walk from Kaohsiung train station, 15-20 minute walk from Liuhe night market). By the way, there is a café near the hotel which sells great pork ribs bento!

If I ever visit Kaohsiung again, I'd definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HL_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

it was very easy to find and a very short walk from the mrt which was very convenient. the staff was very friendly and did all they could to help. one of them actually accompanied my husband all the way to the bank when he wanted to change money which was really nice. the room was compact but had all amenities one would need for a comfortable stay. bathroom was a good size. though there was no window in the room, we didn't miss it as we were there only to sleep and change. the kenting bus is just 1 min away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Is very near the metro so very convenient. Hotel outlook is not that great though

Stepped into the lobby and there is a heavy cigarette stench though staff are very friendly and helpful

Room is kinda small for a couple stay but is kinda unique their amenities in the room

Sofa is just infront of bed so kinda useful only for bags, TV offers a great deal of channel and almost all lighting and TV can be controlled by a controller by the bed. controller kinda looks like those KTV remote controller though

Bathroom is separated by a translucent glass and is kinda huge. shower head in this bathroom is huge, kinda looks like those cleaning up during a HAZMAT incident. spacious bathroom though

Looks more like a motel when we stepped into the room but we are satisfied as the room has a good enough ambience has lots of space for our HUGE shopping luggage and is close to the metro and bus interchange

close to 3 night markets, general tip: ASK THE STAFF for anything. they will advise you promptyly

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linoNOFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This hotel is located very near to the city center where you can just walk around to get food, big shopping malls and shopping street. It is also conveniently located very near to the station.

The hotel is clean and not too small, just nice for a short stay. The staff is friendly as well. It also provides free parking space for travelers who are driving to Kaohsiung, you just need to inform the staff and you will be directly to a 'secret' little parking area underground due to the limited outdoor parking space in Kaohsiung.

Getting a cab is also very convenient, just 2 minutes walk to the nearest junction of the hotel and you can take a cab everywhere.

Recommended for couples as the room might be a little bit small for family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The location was great and just 2 minutes walk from the station. Convenience store round the corner and local restaurants just downstairs. Staff have been friendly and informative. The room was comfortable and the large bathroom was quite impressive. They have free tea and sofas at the lobby. We like the hotel very much, except that the smell of cigarette smoking was extremely strong all the time, which has discouraged us from sitting and relaxing at the lobby. The smell also came into the room through the air-conditioning and sometimes we have to switch off the air-con and open the windows. Other than this, the hotel was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berriberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I chose this hotel due to it's proximity to the bus station, the train station also is right next door also. Its about a minute walk to the bus stop, which most tourists use to get to Kenting.
The hotel itself is comfortable, the staff managed with limited English but I had no problems checking in.
The room was comfortable, spacious, and at around $50 a night great value.
The bathroom itself was huge and almost the size of some rooms I've stayed in.
The hotel is located near a great camera shopping street, where you can buy any type of accessories from lens to cases etc.
You may find your the only westerner here, but none the less it's a good choice for your stay in KS.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Saw the reviews and decided to stay here while I was on my road trip from south to north... They actually had a blown up map to give and highlighted the must-see places. The receptionist was very helpful and it was a great experience with them sharing my exploits of the day and my photography experience. Generally, the people in Kaoshiung are friendly and kind.. The room is big and quiet..nice place. Will be back..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillipTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Group Hotel Chang Chien Branch
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
1.3 mi away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
#23 of 325 in Kaohsiung
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
E-Da Skylark Hotel
E-Da Skylark Hotel
#79 of 325 in Kaohsiung
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Kaohsiung Main Station Front
3.6 mi away
Kindness Hotel Wujia
Kindness Hotel Wujia
#38 of 325 in Kaohsiung
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel & Resort

Address: No.237-1 Nanhua Road, Sanmin District, Kaohsiung 807, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 325 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Number of rooms: 275
Also Known As:
Life Hotel And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing