We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 1,589 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent lodging”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family of 13 with old folks and young children stayed at this excellent lodge June 2013.

Why we rate it excellent? Its because the building structure obtain eco-friendly award.

The rooms, passageway, toilets are so nicely done up, beautiful and comfortable. Rate 9.5/10
The hosts, are super friendly and good mannered. Rate 9.5/10

The only downside will probably be the breakfast. Probably the host used to have simpler meals, we rate the quality and taste of the breakfast porridge 6/10.

Will share on another post for the lodge that provide super delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magtanhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    17
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights over the 10/10 holiday weekend with my boyfriend and my parents who were visiting from the States. It was such a great experience! We wanted to be close to Taroko Gorge without being up the Gorge, and this was perfect - right at the entrance to the park. The owner was very helpful and explained all of the restaurants in the surrounding area. The rooms were clean, spacious, and very bright! The bathrooms had new, clean showers and sinks. We also enjoyed the large viewing deck where we sat in the evenings to hang out with some drinks. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Savanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hosts, Mr and Mrs Teyra Yudaw were friendly and had a great reception. The rooms were cozy and clean, had a good rest especially after the bumpy travel for a whole day at Taroko National Park. I would definitely stay over again during next visit to Hualien.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiakChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the location is very close to Taroko Gorge which makes it easy to get there early (best to get there before the big busses full of tourists arrive!). Teyra was kind enough to pick us up from the train station and gave us a very warm welcome which we really appreciated after a long trip. You can immediately tell that lots of care and love goes into this place, the room was spacious, very clean and well-equipped. The bed was super comfortable too, we did a 10-day trip in Taiwan & Shanghai and this was the best night's sleep we've had. The town of Hualien isn't that interesting, so we preferred staying close to Taroko Gorge and just took the train to Hualien at night for dinner. There is also a cute night market near Taroko (Xincheng) train station which is the nearest train station to the B&B. Highly recommended :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nayoung_VDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

It is just nearby taroko national park. It is quite strategic place. The hotel owner is nice and friendly man. The room is warm, lovely and big. Nice interior design. Feeling like at home. But it's not nearby eating places. They have friendly dog too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank destriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We moved from Tianshiang to this Rainbow B&B for the last night of our trip in Taroko Gorge. After hiking the dangerous loop from the Visitor Center back to the Shakadang Trail with sleek rocks on steep trail, we were so happy to be picked up by Ms. Yeng after dinner. She and her daughter were very caring and helpful to make us feel at ease after a tough day. There's a typhoon in Taiwan now that created landslide on the south bound train track, so she called the railway agency and taxi for us to make sure that we'll be okay for the trip to Kenting. She also asked the kitchen staff to arrange breakfast in time for our early departure. The room we stayed in had brand new hardwood floor, pretty orchid decor and an awesome bathroom! Next morning, Mr. Teyra greeted us at breakfast and told us some very valuable info about the Truku tribe. He also farewelled us with umbrellas when the taxi came to pick us up. We were so touched by their hospitality
and wish we stayed there longer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CINDY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a really great place! I came here with my family and this was our first time to visit Hualien. We were so lucky to stay in the Crossing the Rainbow Bridge. Teyra is the host of the B&B. He and his daughter were very friendly and helpful. Since we were unfamiliar with Taroko Narional Park, Teyra and her daughter spent an hour with us and help us to plan our trip. Teyra is an indigenous person from Truku tribe. He also introduced us local culture and traditional stories. We had a wonderful experience in here. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie_J_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
1.3 mi away
Liwu Hotel Hualien
Liwu Hotel Hualien
#37 of 128 in Hualien County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
9.7 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
4.8 mi away
Leader Village Taroko
Leader Village Taroko
#15 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Taroko Art Hostel Hualien
Taroko Art Hostel Hualien
#102 of 128 in Hualien County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liwuzuocun B&B
Liwuzuocun B&B
#50 of 1,589 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.2 mi away
Taroko sialin coffee farm homestay
Taroko sialin coffee farm homest...
#40 of 1,589 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast
Address: No.210 Neighborhood #3, Chong-De Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien County, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,589 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
 “Crossing the Rainbow Bridge” (muda hakaw utux) is the highest practice of Truku personal values. The tribal people refer to the “Rainbow Bridge” from hakaw (bridge) and utux (spirit). The rainbow is the totem symbol of the tribal spirits. In Truku's traditions, only those who observe the moral code of gaya will be eligible to cross the Rainbow Bridge and meet up with ancestors. The theme of the “Crossing the Rainbow Bridge” Bed and Breakfast is based on Truku culture. This landscaping effect combines with traditional culture to produce a deep and elegant cultural introduction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossing The Rainbow Bridge b&b
Crossing The Rainbow Bridge Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing