We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taroko National Park

Taroko National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Amazing Taroko National Park Full-Day Tour
Ranked #2 of 250 things to do in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jesselton, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Taroko National Park no doubt one of the best park I ever been! The river and the mountain is simply gorgeous. Took a lot of photos here as my own memories.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    253
    34
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
358 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Rightly the #1 Natural Attraction in Taiwan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is rightly the #1 natural attraction in Taiwan. Our visit was three days after Typhoon Usagi which damaged enough of the park that only the first loop to the trail that leads to the temple and the Eternal Spring Shrine. I wish we could have seen more because the small part we were able to see was a spectacular gorge. Bikers are especially blessed as a bike trail goes up to around 3300m.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impressive Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Impressive trails cut from the marble mountains, lots of history and walking. We hired B&B taxi driver for $3000 day tour and run out of time on some trails due to alternate one lane mountain pass closure times. Note: Our family visited on Monday, which is the day the park office / exhibits are closed. Also, bring your own lunch to avoid the $200 limited preordered lunch menu, worst “Pepper steak” and service ever, waited over half hour for meal at 1 PM reservation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2-3 Days Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is one of the best spot in Taiwan. It's a huge park with various activities for everyone. You can go for a hike, or ride the bike in the beautify gorge, visit Tianxiang for the natural hot springs in the hotel or in the river, or go to Shenmiku to swim in the crystal clear natural pool.

The national park located on the east side of Taiwan, most people enter the park from Hualien. You can also choose to enter the park from Hualien and drive all the way to the west side of Taiwan to Taichung city if you have time.

I would suggest a 2-3 days stay in the park for a pleasant trip.
Some people might get car sick due to the curvy road in the gorge, so take your time to stop and go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank yoyochiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park with lots of walking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a true natural beautiful park, it does take time to finish to the whole area and we just did a portion of it (1-2 hours i think, we hired a car+driver, feel bad for him to wait for us for too long :P), but if you have time, seriously, have a great walk inside!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainbowws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taroko National Park also viewed

 

Been to Taroko National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing