We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hualien - Most endowed landscape in East Taiwan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

After a blissful stay in Kenting (Kending) at Caeser Park Hotel - we drove to the East part of Taiwan - Hualien. The drive was indeed beautiful with the Pacific Ocean towards our right and the mountain ranges on the left. Finally after about 4 1/2 hours of drive (with multiple sightseeing stops on the way) - we reached Hualien and drove up the cliff to reach our Hotel - Farglory. Within minutes we were there at the Hotel and were warmly received by the Concierge and the check in staff. Our room - a large family room that had two large single beds and a large double bed - had one of the most amazing views of the Pacific ocean. Given that the hotel is located on top of the cliff - the views of the ocean become even more amazing. From the ramparts of the hotel - you get a wonderful view of the entire Hualien city - which becomes even more fantastic as the night falls. Its like stars on the ground !!!.

The hotel - a very large complex with victorian style interiors - has wonderful restaurants. The breakfast at the British Garden was fantastic with good spread of delicacies.

Sightseeing around the hotel is one the best that I have ever been to. The Taroko gorge tour was the best and the rugged mountains reminded me of my drive up the himachals in India. Nature has been preserved at its best and though tourists are increasing year on year - the authorities have ensured that nature is kept unspoilt. The river flowing through the gorge - adds to the pristine beauty offered by this natural habitat.

Coming back to the hotel - the service, attention and courtesy received from the staff was world class. This despite the size of the hotel. A simple experience will help understand what I mean by courtesy. Upon checking out and getting into the car - a bell boy (Ben) runs up and hands me over the morning news paper (in English) to read on the way. On the way out... remember. I will not forget this small, simple yet touching experience.

Room Tip: Choose a Ocean facing room - the views are breathtaking. We picked up a family room which could comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YogeshGrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. YogeshGrover,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We checked in Saturday and checked out Sunday!
It was a first time for us and our 16 month old.

Property clean & well kept, regular shuttles to the Ocean Park (at bottom of hill), a nice choice of restaurants on site, spacious public area to walk around.

Lots of families there during our stay.
The property is a wonderful place for young children!
Indoor pool(s) (open all year round i believe) with one at 50cm for children.
Exercise room (for adults). Well padded toddler play room with a variety of toys!
Coin Op Video game arcade with Initial D ver 3 (2 player) in basement!

We stayed in the south wing with a balcony and view of the ocean.

Breakfast Buffet was amazing!
Lots of choices. Get there early - long lines after 8am

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. Abe L,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel but we got upgraded lunch here due to bad service at Bali Suites Hotel the night before.
the location quite far from town but its ok because guests so happy here. We had bento japanese menu for our lunch, simple but nice.
after lunch guests went outside of this hotel and take picture.
Awesome.... breathtaking ocean view...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaSilvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. VeronicaSilvia,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed in a room with two single beds and a sofa bed. Room is very spacious and quiet, has comfy beds and a hot tub. Pillow was a bit too soft for me and there weren't any extras in the closet. The view is breathtaking and there are many shops in the hotel. However, the hotel is very far from other attractions and from the city. Breakfast was ok, not very impressive. I would recommend staying for a night or two, but probably not longer than that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blissful0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. blissful0307,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked this hotel because our daughter wanted to see the dolphin she swam with 2 years ago. The theme park no longer offers this activity but the hotel receptionists made a big effort to communicate with the theme park and my daughter was given an exclusive chance to see (not to swim with) the dolphin again. I cannot praise highly enough how helpful the hotel staff were. We were not interested in the theme park and it was raining, so we stayed in the indoor pool and enjoyed the splendid view of the Pacific Ocean from the big window next to the jaccuzzi. We also had an ocean view from our comfortable room with a good size balcony. As mentioned by other reviews it is located in an isolated mountain area (so may be good to bring some snacks with you just in case but the hotel offers a room service for fried noodles/rice until late but not cheap). I would recommend this hotel as a side trip to Hualien/Hualian especally for family with young kids.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. H H B,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel feels like a Disney version of what a Chinese person would think a luxury European hotel would look like. It's striving to be a 5-star hotel. It has clean, spacious rooms and beautiful views. A family member booked the place and paid for us, so I can't comment on the value. It's a bit far from town, so not much to do at night.

The best parts were the pool/jacuzzi (awesome views!) and the breakfast buffets --- lots of choices (Western, Taiwanese, and Japanese) and everyone (kids and grandparents) was happy and full. The free shuttle to and from the Ocean Park was convenient. My kids (9 and 11) enjoyed exploring the amusement park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. TAmomof2,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

FarGlory is known as a luxury resort, a getaway for families and couples. It sits atop the city of Hualien with a view of the ocean, which is beautiful. My husband and I thought it was great the first night but we did get bored pretty quickly. It's so far away from the town we felt trapped. Instead of the hotel all-you-can-eat breakfasts (which was mostly Western, by the way) we would have much rather eaten at food stalls and hole-in-the-walls in town and experiencing the local life. The Sea World-like facility was closed for the winter when we were there, which was a bummer.

It was nice the pool and jacuzzi was empty so we got to enjoy it all to ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. zooee,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
6.1 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 136 in Hualien County
1,559 reviews
20.0 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 136 in Hualien County
1,333 reviews
5.3 mi away
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
#11 of 136 in Hualien County
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 136 in Hualien County
205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#3 of 136 in Hualien County
1,018 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#26 of 136 in Hualien County
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualien FarGlory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Address: No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien County 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range: $133 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hualien FarGlory Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 381 various styles of guestrooms leaning against the hills and looking out to the ocean, Hualian Farglory Hotel had a capability to provide the best facilities for 1,000 guests simultaneously. Inside fo this intricately designed Victorian style palace, your senses will be brewing with joy every moment.The deep blue Pacific Ocean is the best facility in every guestroom, and the most attentive services are an indisputable fact, which makes the well laid-out modern facilities merely accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hualien FarGlory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing