We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and great amenities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Ranked #10 of 125 Hotels in Hualien
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and great amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We are an American family of 5 living in Taiwan. We stayed at the FarGlory Hotel in June of 2011 on a very last minute trip. We booked our trip 12 hours before we arrived and were able to get a room with plenty of space for the 5 of us, which is no small challenge in Taiwan. Upon our arrival at 11AM, our room was ready and we were able to check in. Our room was very large - 1 queen, 2 beds that the hotel called singles but were actually double beds, 2 love seats, and a dining room table for 6. We even had an ocean view. The price was high, but worth it for the space and views. The hotel was very clean. We ate the dinner and breakfast buffet at the English Garden restaurant. There were enough western dishes to keep our kids (9,7,3) satisfied, though the dinner buffet was quite expensive. Having visited Disney over 20 times, I can tell you that this is not Disney but it is a very nice resort and park for Taiwan. We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask about packages with park tickets and meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    99
    43
    7
    4
See reviews for
121
40
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Nothing feels quite like getting out in the city and enjoying a few days of peace in a 5-star hotel in the mountains. The Farglory Hotel allows you to do just this, being located on a mountaintop facing the sea.

After staying at the hotel a few times, I would give the hotel a B+/A-. The view is splendid and the lobby/decor tasteful and neat. The serenity of the hotel is unmatched in due to the secluded location. Very peaceful and Zen-like; I love sitting at the lobby/cafe and just looking out at the wonderful view. The locale also makes it difficult to get anywhere w/o a cab though.

The price is extremely affordable especially through certain credit card deals, I believe I was able to book a standard room for around 100 USD and later upgraded the room for minimal costs. The service, however, needs to be improved. The staff had an unfriendly tone when we were making reservation, and didn't provide us with much info. Check-in and out was smooth but other services were just standard. The staff didn't greet us or assist us in any endeavor unless we asked: not what you would expect from a five-star hotel.

Overall, the Farglory hotel was a nice little place to relax and I would definitely go there again despite some shortcomings in service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cayenne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

Stayed there during Chinese New Year as part of the package. Hotel does look like a Disney Resort... .Room is pretty good in size with a large balcony and sofa/reading area (which can be set up as a sofabed). Pretty good room size and both view are quite nice. Restaurants are all very busy (due to big holiday weekend). Outdoor swimming pool is small compare to the size of the resort.

Not very conveniently located if you are not going to their Ocean Park. Will I stay again? Maybe, if I am with kids from my family.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samandjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
201 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

My sister booked on this hotel, so I didn't have much idea on this hotel.

I was impressed with the lobby and the view. The hotel is situated on a mountain top. You will see the beautiful view of the ocean.

The room is spacious and clean. The buffet breakfast is just 400ntd. So the price is quite affordable.

We all enjoyed this hotel. I give 5 stars on cleanliness, service, location, value, rooms and sleep quality. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sophiegrayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

This is a great hotel I stay when I visit Hualien & Taitong. Easy to find great seafood at affordable price and great cultre & natural experience!

There is a great place nearby for seafood called Yen-Liao, highly recommand!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waterman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
429 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 617 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We did a weekend trip from Taipei to visit the Taroko Gorge (among other sites), and the package we booked had us staying at this hotel. Our whole travel group was slack-jawed upon entering the lobby.

It is a pretty luxurious hotel, with a huge, scenic property. It sits atop a moutain, close the Ocean Park theme park, and over-looking the Pacific Ocean. Nice touches to this hotel include the garden paths outside, Koi ponds, sculptures and other artwork, and the outdoor infinity pool over-looking a spectacular view.

The rooms were quite nice, with an old English style. Our sleep was incredibly comfortable.

Only downsides: Could smell cigarette smoke in our room; the huge buffet dining hall felt tacky, and the buffet food tasted like buffet food; and the isolation of the hotel. For that reason, I think it is best for short stays (e.g. to see the Gorge; go to Ocean Park), or for those that need seclusion/relaxation on your vacation. Avoid the huge dining hall, if possible, as it caters to volume (e.g. multipled bus groups). There are smaller eating establishments at the hotel, that I would hope are better - if not for the food than for the atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank product-of-canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

the room is clean, the food is nice, the outdoor swimming pool is not big but nice. a little bit far from the city anyway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rubytaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
6.1 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
20.0 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 125 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
5.3 mi away
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#29 of 125 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.6 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
5.8 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualien FarGlory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Property: Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Address: No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 125 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hualien FarGlory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 381 various styles of guestrooms leaning against the hills and looking out to the ocean, Hualian Farglory Hotel had a capability to provide the best facilities for 1,000 guests simultaneously. Inside fo this intricately designed Victorian style palace, your senses will be brewing with joy every moment.The deep blue Pacific Ocean is the best facility in every guestroom, and the most attentive services are an indisputable fact, which makes the well laid-out modern facilities merely accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hualien FarGlory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing