We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CJ Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CJ Hotel
Ranked #23 of 125 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Excellent Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very pleasant 3 days stay. We took a taxi to the hotel, which is tucked away in a small side street off the main shopping area. The hotel looks small from the outside, but it is comfy and spacious inside with many contemporary artworks. We were very pleased for our stay there with good sleep, since it was so quiet. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Our rooms were spotlessly clean. Bottles of water was provided everyday by housekeeping. Free wifi in the room and free coffee in the lobby. Free breakfast delivered to the room, and we liked the selection. All-in-all we truly enjoyed our stay, and this hotel deserves to be #1 boutique hotel in Hualien.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    50
    21
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
43
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel personnel are very helpful and nice. They helped us to find out information on certain places of attractions and also helped us to book train tickets. The hotel generally has a clean, modern and artistic feel. The room is spacious and clean. The hotel location is great as it is within walking distance to lots of good food and yummy local products. Overall, the experience of staying in CJ Hotel for 2 nights was very good! We will definitely choose the same hotel if we visit Hualien again:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank TanHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJHotel122, General Manager at CJ Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear value guest,
It was our pleasure to receive your review about our hotel. We are glad that you fully enjoyed your accommodation along with everything else we offered. The staff will be very pleased with your feedback.
We will keep trying our best to provide the most pleasant experience for our guests.
Thank you again for the feedback. We all are looking forward to your next visit!

CJ Hotel
General Manager
Sandy Pan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel for 2 nights because of so many positive reviews. We definitely made a good choice, and enjoyed our stay very much. Room was nice, tidy and spacious enough with all necessary amenities, including 42 inches TV with a lot of cable channels. Unlike most hotels in Taiwan, this hotel locates in a quiet neighborhood away from noisy main streets. It is about 15 minutes by taxi from the main train station. It is close enough to the main shopping area of Hualien and other attractions, including the Nanbin night market (about 10-15 minutes by bike). This hotel offers many free things: Free breakfast (with several great selections) delivered to your room, free Wi-Fi (a little slow sometimes), free gourmet coffee/tea with snacks in lobby (you can check out the cute artworks display there), and FREE BIKE (oh yes, bike is a good way to see the city and the coastline). The service was excellent with super friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Some tourists are loud. Ask for a quiet floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL M'sia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

3 of us stayed at this hotel one night in december 2012. The room is rather small and it has 2 comfortable queen size bed with clean sheets and 4 pillows. complimentary coffee & chinese tea, adequate toiletries arranged neatly in bathroom drawer, small balcony, nice shower. Breakfast was served to our room at 7.30 sharp as we had requested when we arrived. We arrived at Hualien train station at 1am. We took a taxi to the hotel and cost NT$180.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Hualien on a bike tour around Taiwan. We were wet and cold and it was late. The CJ Hotel was unfortunately booked, as it was a busy holiday weekend. Not only did the extremely kind staff offer us hot tea, they immediately began calling around to other hotels (i.e. their competition) to find us a room for the night. Having done so, one of the staff members, a very gracious and kind gentleman named Daniel, then got the hotel shuttle van, loaded in our wet dirty bikes and drove us over to the other hotel. We have traveled extensively and stayed in many different hotels, fancy and budget, but this is the finest service we have ever received. After our evening at the other hotel, we stayed one night at the CJ and really enjoyed it. Very comfortable, clean and a nice espresso machine in the lobby!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GFGSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was nice. A friend and I stayed for three nights in July 2012. The room was spacious and clean, and after a couple weeks of dorms, hostels, and bamboo mats it felt luxurious. If you are used to fancy Western hotels then you might not be so impressed.
The staff were very friendly, and promptly sent someone to the train station to pick us up. The breakfast is included. It is nothing too fancy but gets you started for the day.
Other reviewers commented that this hotel is too far from the city center, but I didn't find it a problem and enjoyed walking around. Note that there is a large blue sign with "hotel c-j" written on it and an arrow pointing the way, located on a main street. We wandered around a lot coming back the first night, until realizing that this sign was there. Look out for that from the main road and then the hotel is easy to find.
They do have free bike rental, however, the bikes are not well maintained. I rode one with loose breaks. On the ride home, one brake completely came undone. Luckily I was able to slide it back in, but it really wasn't safe. I brought this to the attention of the man working there and he did seem concerned, so hopefully that bike will be taken out of rotation until fixed. So, if you check out a bike, ride around the block and inspect it before you take off on the bike path, and request another one if the brakes and gearshift aren't working.
There is wifi, but we had the same problem as others with getting a consistent signal in the room. It would come and go, and we had to sit in one spot. So if you need a consistent signal in your room for doing work, then maybe this wouldn't be a good choice. The wifi in the lobby worked well, though.
There is also a kettle and small fridge in the room, and some complimentary snacks in the lobby.
Overall I really enjoyed our stay there. At the time I booked it, it was the least expensive I could find in the area, and for two of us only slightly more than we would have paid for a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBtravelUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in C'est Jeune Hotel for 2 nights, during our trip to Hua Lien.

It is a fairly dated hotel in a quiet residential neighborhood. The hotel is around 10 mins brisk walk to the main street, where the shops selling local delights are.

The hotel has a small lobby with comfortable sofas. The staff were cheerful and helpful. The rooms' furnishings were fairly dated and we were given a key to open the door. The room was spacious, with 2 comfortable queen beds.

Guests can choose their preferred breakfast set every morning, and it'd be delivered to their rooms at their preferred time. I chose 9.00a.m, and the lady appeared on the dot each time. I was impressed! The breakfast were delicious on both mornings! I tried the sausage with sandwich set and fish burger set with black soya bean with barley - really nice.

For the price we paid, I felt the quality of the rooms and hotel could be better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summerdayss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.4 mi away
Cullinan Hotel
Cullinan Hotel
#24 of 125 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#7 of 125 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#16 of 125 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Byeyer Hotel
Byeyer Hotel
#35 of 125 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Champs (Hualien)
Hotel Les Champs (Hualien)
#19 of 125 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meci Hotel
Meci Hotel
#15 of 125 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CJ Hotel

Property: CJ Hotel
Address: No.122 Zhongfu Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located near the city center and the Far East Department Store, 10 minutes from the railroad station and 25 minutes from the airport, near public transportation, and with plenty of free parking spaces. It is only 5 minutes walk to the city's center and main shopping district, and near the entrance of Na-Bin Park; in addition, the starting point for city's bicycle route is right outside the hotel. From our hotel, it is very convenient for taking a leisure walk or bicycle ride to see the beautiful city of Hualien and its coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Ctrip TA so you can book your CJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c Est Jeune Hotel
c Est Jeune Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing