We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated Hotel with Good Service in Quiet Neighborhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of CJ Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CJ Hotel
Ranked #23 of 122 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Dated Hotel with Good Service in Quiet Neighborhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in C'est Jeune Hotel for 2 nights, during our trip to Hua Lien.

It is a fairly dated hotel in a quiet residential neighborhood. The hotel is around 10 mins brisk walk to the main street, where the shops selling local delights are.

The hotel has a small lobby with comfortable sofas. The staff were cheerful and helpful. The rooms' furnishings were fairly dated and we were given a key to open the door. The room was spacious, with 2 comfortable queen beds.

Guests can choose their preferred breakfast set every morning, and it'd be delivered to their rooms at their preferred time. I chose 9.00a.m, and the lady appeared on the dot each time. I was impressed! The breakfast were delicious on both mornings! I tried the sausage with sandwich set and fish burger set with black soya bean with barley - really nice.

For the price we paid, I felt the quality of the rooms and hotel could be better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summerdayss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    20
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
43
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Despite a modern lobby, the furnishing of the rooms were dated and the room which we got (a family room) had non-existent wifi signals. While other reviewers had written that the location was good, but I found it too far from the city centre. The hotel was diagonally across town from the train station. At least 20-30 mins walk from the hotel. I think we overstayed in Hualien. After a day, there's really nothing else to do.

On a positive note, the staff was professional and welcoming. Breakfast is served to your room. Tip: The congee is the best item on the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jassym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed in Hualien for two nights as we wanted to spend the day in Taroko. What strike us most about this hotel is it's beautiful design similar to the hotels in Europe.

Room:
- 2 single bed
- 2 pillows
- Kettle, hairdryer, fridge, TV

Amenities:
- Free Wifi
- Bicycles available (free)

Pros:
- Nice, quite environment
- Provide free pickup and drop-off from the railway station (10 mins drive)
- Has emergency evacuation instructions in the closet (for earthquakes)
- Free bicycles available

Cons:
- Location not easily accessible, except by taxi
- Have to walk a distance to access food / shops

Notes:
- Sometimes in the afternoon when the wind is strong, you can hear the howling of the wind in your room
- Check out the shops that sells "mochi", it's one of the specialty in Hualien
- Check out the shop named "Feng Li Wan" which sells super delicious pineapple biscuits!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Our room at C'est Jeune was pleasant, the bathroom was very nice and clean and I really like the location because its off the noisy street tucked into a side line yet very accessible to the main street where all the food and shopping is. There is an awesome dumpling shop just 2 blocks down that has only 1 item on the menu - dumpling soup. Breakfast is delivered to the room and is not that awesome. The staff at C'est Jeune are very helpful and kind, the only thing is that my room had WIFI only at a certain spot cos we had a corner unit. So we had to stand in that spot to surf. Other than that we had a very good stay and I would certainly recommend this hotel for your stint in Hualien

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The hotel is located very near the Heart of the City and not too far from the Bike trail of the NanKing Night Market. Good location to explore the City at night by foot to different attraction for good food and shopping. There is a big SuperMarket that is about 15 min walk from the Hotel. Breakfast is great with choice of varieties. Free Bike to explore the bike trail. Hotel room are clean and big enough for family of 4. Very comfortable. Staff are helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcyc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The stay at the C'est Jeune hotel was arranged by the tour guide for our trip to the east coast of Taiwan. We've stayed at the expansion part of hotel, across the street. The neighborhood around the hotel is mainly residential with some small shops, for more restaurants and bars you'll have to walk a few blocks to downtown Hualien.

Rooms were quite nice. Very spacious, very clean, good furniture. Mattresses were very firm (which I like). Breakfast was complimentary, delivered to the room.

The lobby of the hotel is very nicely decorated! Lots of interesting artwork. Also, the staff is nice and very efficient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZwennK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

C'est Jeune is located about ten minutes (by cab) from the train station in a nondescript, quiet neighborhood of Hualien. The neighborhood has a few very small noodle shops and a larger Japanese restaurant, but dining choices in the area are quite limited

We asked, via an email sent several days in advance, for the hotel to collect us at the train station. When no one appeared we had to call the hotel. They promptly sent a cab. I asked the front desk attendant about this lapse and he candidly admitted, "We received your email, but no one read it."

This is a small hotel with only a handful of rooms on each floor. The guest rooms are also small, but quiet and comfortable. The housekeeping was adequate with the exception of the carpets, which were tracked, dirty and stained. There is complementary Internet service by means of a cable obtained from the front desk. The hotel has a no smoking policy, but the lobby, corridors and elevators were often filled with cigarette smoke.

The beds are quite comfortable, so in combination with a peaceful setting and good air conditioning we had a great night's sleep. Breakfast is cheerfully delivered to your room at a time of your choosing. There are four options to choose from. It's not a big breakfast, but it was surprisingly appetizing.

When I return to Hualien, I will probably select a hotel in a more central location, but the C'est Jeune is fine-- if they would only clean their carpets.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiIslandsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
1.1 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#17 of 122 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cullinan Hotel
Cullinan Hotel
#22 of 122 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#6 of 122 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lige Hotel
Lige Hotel
#20 of 122 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
1.7 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
1.2 mi away
Meci Hotel
Meci Hotel
#30 of 122 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CJ Hotel

Property: CJ Hotel
Address: No.122 Zhongfu Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located near the city center and the Far East Department Store, 10 minutes from the railroad station and 25 minutes from the airport, near public transportation, and with plenty of free parking spaces. It is only 5 minutes walk to the city's center and main shopping district, and near the entrance of Na-Bin Park; in addition, the starting point for city's bicycle route is right outside the hotel. From our hotel, it is very convenient for taking a leisure walk or bicycle ride to see the beautiful city of Hualien and its coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your CJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c Est Jeune Hotel
c Est Jeune Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing