We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Formosa Backpackers Hostel
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed in the dorm room for 2 nights during low season... at first I thought it was a great place... until i woke up the first morning with bites all over my body due to bed bugs... told the girl working there about it... she just bug sprayed the corner of the room... i think she has no idea about bed bugs... and she didn't bother doing anything about it since I was the only customer there on the 2nd night...

Room Tip: avoid unless you want bed bugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimthegreatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
9
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

I currently live in in Taiwan and has travelled around island quite a bit. I made a telephonic booking and was not very impressed when they phoned back after a while to say that they told us the wrong price, and that it is actually a bit more than he originally said. When my parter and I arrived at the hostel, the gentleman who was there barely greeted us. Our room was downstairs and had no window, which was the least of the problems. The fact that we could not lock our room was the stranger part. But the thing that I disliked the most about the place was the bathroom. There seemed to only be one bathroom for our room and the dormitories. That also meant one toilet within the bathroom. It was really not very convenient to make a run for the bathroom as soon as you here the door opening. The toilet paper was empty by the evening and no one was around to ask. The most ridiculous part was the shower. Apart from the cleanliness, which was not great at all, they did not even bother to put up a hook to hold the shower head! I mean really - is that so much to ask? We left the next morning at about 9am, and still no one was in sight. All in all, it was not a great place and I will recommend it when you travel to Hualien.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xworld_in_my_eyesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Our room was double booked and they notified me the night before around 11pm.
Even after we already paid half for down payment...
We were luck enough to have found an alternative hostel at that hour. not cool!

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
12 Thank kay1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

I recently stayed at Formosa hostel and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were are charmingly decorated and the beds were very comfy. The people were laid back and friendly. I highly recommend this place if you're coming to Hualien. It's affordable and exceeds expectations.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank unicornparade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

I recently stayed one night at Formosa Backpackers hostel. I was in a 6-bed dormitory room.

Good location. 15 minutes walk to the Hualien train station, 10 minutes to downtown.

Unlike a previous review's concern, I felt safe in the hostel. Two dogs barked pretty hard out when strangers came. A staff stayed in the building also. His room was right in front of the dorm room.

Dorm room was quiet, spacious and clean. It had a garden attached to the room. Bed was comfortable. The room had a coffee table with chairs and a book shelf full of books. Toroko guide book there was especially useful. Shared bathrrom was spacious and clean. The hostel provides shapmoo and shower gel. There was a door to the bathroom from the dorm room but it was blocked off with the book shelf. It's right next to the room anyway.

Common area was cosy and friendly. A computer for internet access (10 NT for 15 minutes). Outdoor bar in the hostel. Friendly and helpful staff speaks excellent English.

Awesome value for money. I highly recommend Formosa.

  • Liked — friendly & helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank krnworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

When arriving in Hualien, we simply called the cheapest hostel we could find, which was Formosa. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to their "honeymoon room" which was beautifully decorated, though had paper walls, which would have caused problems were we hoping to do any "honeymooning." All we needed was a bed for the night, but we got a great atmosphere, busy common area to meet some fellow backpackers, free coffee, and a friend in the manager. She was going to a nearby concert and asked us if we'd like to join! We did, split a six pack with her, learned a lot about the little city of Hualien and the festival that was going on at the time. Great hospitality!!! there was generally a surfer/artsy vibe. Photography books were lying around if you get bored. There are some amazing photos from happy patrons around the world. Surfboards available for rent. A decent sized library with everything from Tom Clancy to Thomas Pynchon! Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank uncoeuraweigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

A group of us 5 girls booked a night's accomodation at Formosa Backpackers Hostel in Hualien.

Misleading description:
The booking of the hostel was done online. In the description of the dorm, is was stated that there would be private (bath) facilities for the 6-bed dorm. When we arrived, I noticed that there was no attached bath in our dorm, and had to clarify with the owner. Her explanation was that she forgot to change the details in the website. She didn't attempt to apologise or offer to refund us a portion.

The air-conditioner in the dorm was also not plugged in but we had a standing fan. The room was a little stuffy and had no proper ventilation.

Security:
After showing us to our dorm, she left the hostel. There was no lock to the front door; just the shutters and a sliding door. Considering that the door to our dorm had no lock, we felt unsafe.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank lee_sron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleeping Boot Backpackers Hostel
Sleeping Boot Backpackers Hostel
#4 of 156 in Hualien County
173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colorful Taiwan Hostel
Colorful Taiwan Hostel
#24 of 156 in Hualien County
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hualien Wow Hostel
Hualien Wow Hostel
#3 of 156 in Hualien County
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mini Voyage Hostel
Mini Voyage Hostel
#2 of 156 in Hualien County
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Just Walk Backpacker Hostel
Just Walk Backpacker Hostel
#30 of 156 in Hualien County
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
On My Way  Hualien Hostel & Backpacker
On My Way Hualien Hostel & Back...
#14 of 156 in Hualien County
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formosa Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formosa Backpackers Hostel

Property: Formosa Backpackers Hostel
Address: No.206 Jianguo Road, Hualien City, Hualien County, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 156 Specialty Lodging in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Formosa Backpackers Trip Advisor Page. We are a Hostel in the Heart of Hualien city. We have been open for 11 years now. The owner loves to travel all around the World , so she knows what a traveller needs. We have all kinds of rooms from Dorm style to private doubles, also family rooms. We welcome single travellers, couples or even groups. Please feel free to contact us with any questions that you may have. We can help you with travel advise. We also can arrange tours for you. Whale whatching, River Rafting, River Trekking, Taroko Tour. We look forward to welcoming you to our hostel. If you have stayed here before please feel free to upload your photos and to leave us your review. Many thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Formosa Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formosa Backpackers Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing