We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place in the midst of the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leader Village Taroko
Ranked #15 of 131 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2010

As the Grand Formosa was still under renovation chose this property instead. So glad we did. Charming, quiet, in the middle of the gorge and atop the mountains. Modern amenities in an aboriginal setting. We will definitely be returning. This is THE place to stay in Taroko Gorge. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NickinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Leader Village Taroko
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 204 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2009

Hi, this is Cliff, trip leader of a group of 7 from Ramblers Holidays in the UK touring and hiking around Taiwan.

We stayed at the Bulowan Leader hotel in Taroko National Park last week. We were due to to stay at the Grand Formosa, but ended up staying at the Bulowan Leader hotel as the GF is closed for refurbishment. Lucky for us! What a superb location - the hotel consists of 30+ log cabins on a grassy plateau looking out over the bottom of Taroko gorge, surrounded by mountain peaks. Nothing else nearby, just the peace and quiet of nature, broken by the sounds of the macaques early in the morning. You can often see them in the trees beyond the cabins.

Cabins are well-furnished and clean, all mod cons including TV, wifi access, with veranda (balcony) and chairs. Breakfast (buffet) and dinner are both fine. There's a free aboriginal cultural show each evening after dinner, nothing fancy, just the local school students singing, dancing. Good fun, join in if you want to, we did! There's a collection afterwards for the typhoon disaster relief fund, but no pressure.

Staff were friendly and helpful, but limited English.

Thoroughly recommended if you want a quiet, relaxing base right in the middle of this magnificent national park.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank clifframbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We discovered this place on our way out of the national park- and made a last minute decision to stay the evening. Very pleasant stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We were extremely glad that we chose Leader Village over the Grand Formosa as our base in the Taroko Gorge. The hotel is a series of charming wooden cabins, situated in a valley surrounded on all sides by the almost vertical cliffs of the Gorge. The cabins are clean and simply appointed with terraces to sit out on and take in the stunning views. The setting is drop-dead gorgeous and the hotel provides transport to some of the easy trails. While English is hard to come by, the staff do make an effort to communicate and are friendly. The place is not for night life freaks - free broadband access and CNN channel constituted our evening's entertainment.

The big let-down was the food. The hotel's website led us to believe that the set meals would be served a la carte but in fact it was free-for-all buffet style with very disappointing food. As there are no alternatives nearby, you are forced to submit to it which is unfortunate. Tip; bring snacks with you. The Taiwan beer went down well however.

All in all I would recommend this hotel if you want to have a charming experience and see the Taroko Gorge, which is unforgettable. Maximum stay would be 2 nights. If you wish to have a memorable culinary experience, I suggest you go elsewhere (not the Grand Formosa!), in fact you probably will not find it in the Gorge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DragonFund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

My mom and I stayed in this lovely 'hotel' one night in May. Although you can actually tour the national park in 1 day without staying at all but we found it really nice to stay inside the park after everyone has left. The 'hotel' actually is made of many cabins that blended in so well with the environment. The room is clean and equipped with all the amenities needed. The only thing I wished they had was real bed instead of mattress on the floor. It was a bit difficult for my mom to get down and up. And it would be nice to have chairs also.
Dining room food was good although service was a bit slow. After dinner they had show for the guests. I was tired didn't go but my mom enjoyed the show.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wen_c82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

If you love hiking, magnificent views and nature then this is the place for you. One of the front desk staff speaks basic english adequate to explain the facilities. The english website is quite comprehensive. We chose a package including breakfast and either lunch of dinner. Chinese style breakfast was tasty and the set meals interesting. The views from the dining room are fantastic. Our cabin was small but adequate. The rooms are lined with wood and shower has a pebble floor. Each cabin has a verandah which is perfect for relaxing at any time of day. For those without transport, a shuttle bus [prior arrangement needed] will take and collect you from hiking trails for a reasonable cost. We also used the shuttle to return us to the Hua Lien train station which was very convenient. The views from the village as really somethiing special and unforgettable.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ozjanemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

We were here in a 5 bed Grand-view Tribal Suite on the 9Dec 2008.
Rate : NT$1,250/per person including breakfast.
We love this place. It is so peaceful and tranquil.
We will be back for sure next December.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheahwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
4.9 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 131 in Hualien County
1,289 reviews
12.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 131 in Hualien County
1,517 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 131 in Hualien County
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#26 of 131 in Hualien County
98 reviews
13.7 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#2 of 131 in Hualien County
946 reviews
21.2 mi away
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
#11 of 131 in Hualien County
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leader Village Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leader Village Taroko

Address: No.231-1 Fushih Village, Sioulin Town, Hualien County 972, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hualien County
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hualien County
Price Range: $158 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leader Village Taroko 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leader Village Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leader Village Taroko Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing