We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great experience inside of Taroko National Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leader Village Taroko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leader Village Taroko
Ranked #14 of 127 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Macau, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great experience inside of Taroko National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Leader Village Taroko bungaloes looked great and were pretty comfortable. It was a bit cold inside the bungaloes early january but somehow it added to the experience. In the evening the whole area is very quiet.The "village" proposed some activities in the evening to get a glimpse of the aboriginal cutlure, or to discover the local night fauna. Overal the staff was extremely friendly and attentive. In addition. the traditional aboriginal breakfast was simply delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anhangabau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    69
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
67
51
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

There are not many accomodations on taroko itself, and this is not your usual hotel experience. You will stay in wooden chalet style houses and experience the local performance at 8pm. Dinner is either BBQ pork or you will have to bring your own as there's basically no shops open at night and the 8pm local performance is your only entertainment which in a way will 'force' you to tuck in early and rise early for the walks around leaders village.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank finexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This "village" consists of nice, authentic bungalow style wooden houses, well suited for its location inside a natl. park. Beds are mattress' directly on a raised floor and comfortable. The duvets are a bit thick for summer, but the air-condition, whether 2 or 4 bed room, are sufficient to cool room down. Dinner is buffet and local, most likely BBQ boar (mountain pig) and maybe also beef, and lots of extras, including fresh vegetables and fruits. Beer and wine can be bought and is reasonable priced. Breakfast is simple, but sufficient. The receptionist staff and manager Jonathan command good English and are very capable of assisting and advising. The night show of around and hour is well worth seeing. Finally always keep in mind, where in the world you are ;-) Good value (4100TWD/2 person room) rm. A01-A06 prob. Best. Recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Yeager74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We had high expectations, because of all the positive reviews. The rooms are pretty nice, but the overall impression is negative. We experienced very amateurish service. Although everybody is very helpful, it feels very chaotic.

The advertized BBQ only contained pork belly and sweet potatos (so the cheapest possible option) and it was served on plastic plates. For lunch there were bus-loads of people, so don't expect any romantic surroundings (after lunch there was a performance in front of the huts)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank freeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chungli, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The room might not be on the top of the line, but the service and the staff are the best assets this hotel owns. The head of village (GM) is very dedicated to what he is doing. The staff is very multifunctional. We saw them everywhere we went: the dining room, the kitchen, and the show at night. A very relaxing stay with breathtaking view all around. A must visit if you are ever in the Taroko area!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phinn_Huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel offered pickup from the Hualien train station at a reasonable rate. The driver was very accommodating when I requested to rent a scooter (for exploring Taroko Gorge over the next two days) and to follow him back to the hotel (my girlfriend and luggages were in the car). As I was much slower than his car, he kept checking back to ensure that I was able to catch up.

The hotel, or rather resort, was set in a serene environment surrounded green mountains. Dinner at the restaurant was fantastic and we see no reasons to eat elsewhere. During the two nights we were at the resort, there were performances by the natives and we were also brought out for a night walk.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reconns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

An oasis of calm to go to after battling the hordes of tourists on those big coach buses; cabins are not spacious but nice, well kept, clean, rustic and open up to beautiful views of the surrounding mountains, fresh air; good, polite service (one fellow generously helped cart our bags to our cabin); generally a quiet and peaceful place, the notable exception being the nightly show; only caught the last bit the night we stayed but that was enough, way too loud, besides it was amateurish; I wouldn't bother with the show, but the sound's hard to ignore; breakfast buffet was decent, nothing outstanding, fairly typical mix of hot and cold Chinese and western foods; we didn't have the dinner buffet, but it's probably a decent choice over going to Hualien, which I think was 30-45 minutes away, one way 

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sockrateez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
4.9 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 127 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
12.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
13.9 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
12.6 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
18.2 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#7 of 127 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leader Village Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leader Village Taroko

Property: Leader Village Taroko
Address: No.231-1 Fushih Village, Sioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hualien
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leader Village Taroko 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leader Village Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leader Village Taroko Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing