We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leader Village Taroko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leader Village Taroko
Ranked #12 of 122 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed in Grandview Chief Suite for 2 nights (2 adults and 2 children). All my email queries prior to our stay were promptly answered by Jonathan, the Manager. He also helped us to arrange for transport from Hualien Train Station to Qingshui Cliff. We liked the service of the driver and booked him to tour Taroko.

Resort is beautiful and view is fantastic. Room is of good size and beds nicely heated up with heated blankets. Most of the furniture and decorations in this resort are by Taroko Tribe and employees are of Taroko Tribe (except for CEO and Manager).

Although the service is not fantastic, the food is not fantastic, the cultural show is not fantastic but all the staff tried their best. Overall, it was a wonderful experience for my family - staying in a lodge within Taroko and in the company of the Taroko people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YTRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    64
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
57
47
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights in the grandview chief suite. The suite was spacious with two bathrooms and a verandah, a great place to relax with a beer after a day of walking. The room was nicely decorated with indigenous woodwork but did not have a lounge (only cushions to kneel) so there was no place to sit indoor.

While the hotel is located in a beautiful national park, it was not so tranquil as I expected it to be. In the morning, we were woken up by some early risers (members of a tour group) who were chatting outside of their cabins while waiting for the breakfast buffet to open. At night, there was always performance/entertainment which can be heard throughout the village. So if you are after a quiet getaway, you may be disappointed.

Another tip: A car is needed to travel around the national park. A one-day private tour for two costs NT$1400pp. It is offered by a private company but sold via the hotel. Note that some attractions may be closed for repair or because of risks of rockfall so gather information from the visitor centre before you start your day and be flexible with your itin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Yellow25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We took the train from Taipei, a 2 hour journey. We arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the train station. Our driver was a young aboriginal man and an excellent driver. In fact all the hotel workers are aborigines. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we loved it. We knew that it would not be 5 stars but the setting was so picturesque that it made up for it...and it got better and better. We loved the cabin rooms furnished in Japanese style which look out to a big green oval. Dinner was yummy and the most delicious barbeque pork ever. Then after dinner the hotel staff put on a cultural performance for the guests. If you could understand Chinese ( which we did ) it was most entertaining. No worries of tour groups at this hotel as it only has 37 rooms. The whole experience was exactly what we wanted to see in Taiwan...to get out of the cities, to see the nature and the culture of the aborigines. The next day we hired a tour guide to take us through Taroko gorge and thoroughly enjoyed it. If you have the time, this is the trip to do in Taiwan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on our recent visit to Taiwan and I must say this is a stunning place to stay. The staff are all tribals and actively encourage guests to sample and enjoy the awesome natural setting during their stay.

Prices are very reasonable for what you get, and the restaurant serves incredibly good food comprising mainly of tribal dishes.

There are walking trails inside and around the resort that visitors will love, and the staff perform nightly song and dance shows that showcase their tribal culture. I was rather impressed and touched by the pride they seemed to take in their culture, and the effort they were putting in to keep it alive.

This is THE place to stay while visiting Taroko!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This wonderful aborigine village is a wonderful place to stay and learn about the history and culture of the Taroko people, the people whom the gorge is named after. The rooms are in huts, and the beds have electric blankets, so they were pretty warm and cosy. Meals can be a little pricey at this place, and I think there isn't anywhere else nearby that you can get food at. Breakfast is provided so no worries.

However, the highlight was the nightly aborigine show that they put up (free). The staff will play traditional instruments and sing songs in the Taroko language. You can tell that the staff are not professional singers or musicians, but they really put their heart and soul into it. They even got their chefs, waiters and guests to join in a dance! It was really heartwarming. At the end, they played a video showcasing the daily lives of the taroko people in the past. The video was well shot and very interesting. The entire night show was almost 2 hours long, afterwhich they still laid out traditional games for children to try out. I really applaud the effort and sincerity of the staff there.

The place is fairly big and has mini trails around the area, so if you have time in the morning you can explore the area, and take photos of the traditional huts, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delakroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to visit Taroko Gorge. The setting is lovely, right in the mountains of Taroko Gorge, the views are amazing. The grounds of the village are well maintained and there are loads of butterflies in the gardens.
The rooms are wooden cabins. they are nice and spacious with all of the amenities of a hotel room. The price we paid included dinner, which was really good, a set menu of local food the first night and a buffet on the second, breakfast, which was also good and an afternoon tea wihich we could have when we wanted.
The staff were very nice and friendly. We booked at the evry last minute (from another hotel) and they arranged for us to be picked up from near by. Its a great place to visit the gorge from. They offer organised tours (a taxi driver that takes you on a set itinerary) we took one and it went very well. They also helped us organise our transport back to the station for an early train when we left. we were very pleased with or stay.
One thing which is a slight shame is that the shows put on b the staff to present the culture and traditions of the local people is only in chinese. We watched it anyway and still enjoyed it but it would have been nice to understand more. They do hand out a piece of paper in English with a few points to help out the people who don't speak chinese, but the show is obviously goes onto a lot more detail. We still enjoyed the music and dancing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
188 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is located in the mountains of the Taroko Gorge amid stunning scenery. It is off the beaten track, but if you book in advance, they will pick you up from the station in Hualien (about one hour away) and drop you there when you leave for TWD 800 total. The buildings are all wood, the cuisine is the mountain food of the local indigenous people, who give their name to the gorge. It's a good base for visiting the Gorge, all temples and mountains.
The area is popular with Taiwanese and Chinese visitors too, and can get pretty crowded at times. You have to wear a hard hat (which you rent at various locations in the area) because of rockfalls, and there are frequent signs with dire warnings about venomous snakes, giant hornets and wild cattle, all allegedly very dangerous. I did a fair bit of walking in the area (especially the delightful Liu Shui trail) without seeing any of these beasts, so the dangers may be exaggerated.
The evening show put on by the indigenous youngsters who work in the hotel is equally delightful, with a little audience participation, although if you don't speak Chinese few concessions are made on evenings when there are no other non-Asian visitors.
Accommodation is well appointed and comfortable rather than luxurious. A problem with my reservation, made by phone from the tourist office in the station in Taipei, which the hotel was reluctant to honour for the agreed two nights, was fairly quickly resolved in my favour after arrival.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kindziara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
4.9 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#3 of 122 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
12.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
13.7 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#11 of 122 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
21.2 mi away
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
12.6 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leader Village Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leader Village Taroko

Property: Leader Village Taroko
Address: No.231-1 Fushih Village, Sioulin Town, Hualien 972, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hualien
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leader Village Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leader Village Taroko Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing