We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay if you are going to hualien.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leader Village Taroko
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Imagine living in a nicely furbished wood lodge surrounded by mountains around you. You can hear the birds chirping in the morning, while you lie in comfort in the air-conditioned wood cabin. It is a nice place for relaxation. The hotel is solely run by the aboriginal tribe (taroko tribe) and the people are all very polite and friendly. Tribal performances are conducted every night, and there is also a guide to take us to the trail at night to introduce various species of plants, insects and animals. If you want to visit the taroko gorge, the hotel can arrange a guide to take you on a day trip. THe food is excellent! We had wild boar and lamb, and everything is fresh and taste really good! If you want to visit the taroko gorge, spend a bit more and stay at least one night at Leader village, it is definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owen1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 206 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

I did not stay here; rather, during my tour of the Taroko Gorge, I had lunch here, and I THOROUGHLY enjoyed it! We had BBQ fish and a bunch of other local delights, to include bamboo rice...which was QUITE interesting! Additionally, there are just some STUNNING views of the mountains from the site. I cannot speak for the comfort of the rooms, but you REALLY cannot beat the location...ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a meal in the restaurant; it's DELICIOUS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Thurman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Sadly we could only stay one night due to road closures in a typhoon, But we would love to stay longer in Leader Village and the Taroko Gorge, which has to be one of the most picturesque spots in Taiwan. The cabins are charming and comfortable, and the surroundings stunning. We sat for hours on our verandah watching distant waterfalls plunge into the jungle. The Truku people who run it are very friendly and helpful, put on a music and dance show after dinner, and lead nightime nature watch forays into the jungle. The chinese food is mediocre, but excellent steaks etc can be ordered off the a la carte menu. Beer is good, but very limited choice of wines - one red (good) and only sweet white. More fresh fruit and an egg bar would be an improvement at breakfast for Western tastes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

i found this place to be very beautiful and calming, surrounded by majestic mountains. Sound of nature can be easily heard. At nights, you can join the walkaround around the hotel premises (cool, clear and fresh air) and also join the performances.

The folks who run hotel are multi talented. it is much like a village tribe/clan, and they serve multiple roles like cook, clean, prepare, check-in, dance/sing/perform. You can see the great camaraderie amongst the clan

What i didnt like:
1. Found the hut to be a little small for 4 (2 young kids 8 and 9)
2. location was little secluded, so you would most likely need a car (although another family took the cab)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuneKeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very secluded which means without a car you can only take one or two hikes. The food is very ordinary at best and tasteless. Over cooked buffet or pre cooked items predominate. On the up side staff is very friendly

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank wilmingtonohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went to Taroko National Park for two days and decided to stay inside the park instead of downtown Hualien this summer. Although we have been Taroko before, we do not know there is such a beautiful and small village suituated on Bruwan plateau and surrounded by mountains. Bruwan, meaning “echo,” which used to be a tribal village of the Taroko aborigines. The current village is quite small with only about 30 cabins; nevertheless, it provides 5-star food, service and hospitality. Best of all, we enjoy the tribal dance and singing performance at night on the court yard. During daytime, we saw lots of birds and butterflies. It is very convient for hiking on the several trails nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DamOfMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Taroko. The mountain setting can't be beat, and the dinner buffet is excellent.- we had multiple helpings of the BBQ wild boar, BBq sweet potato and pork bone soup. There is a free evening tribal performance which is a little cheesy (put on by local teenagers) but still entertaining nonetheless. Room and bedding is comfortable, if you don't mind sleeping on the floor. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank underock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
4.9 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 133 in Hualien County
1,309 reviews
12.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 133 in Hualien County
1,526 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 133 in Hualien County
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#2 of 133 in Hualien County
990 reviews
12.7 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#23 of 133 in Hualien County
99 reviews
21.2 mi away
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
#11 of 133 in Hualien County
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leader Village Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leader Village Taroko

Address: No.231-1 Fushih Village, Sioulin Town, Hualien County 972, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hualien County
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hualien County
Price Range: $157 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leader Village Taroko 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leader Village Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leader Village Taroko Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing