We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have never written a review before, but I feel I must do it for this place.

We booked 3 rooms, each with a penthouse/loft that has a second queen bed for a big family trip. This hotel touts that it is on the Tripadvisor's world top 100 list.

If this place is in the top 100, I don't want to know what #101 is like.

Check in this evening (Saturday) and went to buffet dinner and guess what, they asked us to sit downstairs and go up to the 2nd floor to get our food and come back down because the dinning room is full. This is despite we have 8 kids (age 6~13) in our group and the danger of having kids going up and down the stairs with food.

When they finally moved us upstairs, the situation gets comical. They don't have enough glasses for all of the diners to get something to drink. When we ask them, we were told they were drying the glasses and we should just wait.

Then when we get back to our room the A/C in the loft/penthouse went dead at 10:00PM and the room heated up to at least 32 degree C. Hotel sent an engineer and after 45 minutes of futility, gave up and offered to move to another room in a different building, away from our families in the other 2 rooms.

We told them that we are all unpacked for the 3-day stay and kids are already sleeping downstairs (the A/C downstairs worked fine); that we would be willing to pay for a smaller room till the upstairs A/C is fixed the next day. We were told we have to pay the full-retail weekend rate ($8200NTD) for another room or they can give us a fan to blow cold air upstairs if we don't want to change room.

I am writing this review in a hot, stuffy room because I can't sleep.

I know I must adjust my expectation based on the situation. I have traveled and stay in hotels all over the world at both end of budget, and I have never had worst experience than this one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plcresort, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Mr. Peter C
Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and attach great importance to the issue. Promisedland will correct deficiencies and improve the service quality, please give us a opportunity to prove and redeem. Thanks for your comment again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 376 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have stayed in 5 or 6 hotels in Hualien and this is truly the best getaway in Hualien. The resort is quite far from the downtown area and other scenery spots, but the resort itself is a wonderful sight-seeing place. It's worthy the ride to stop by at least 1 or 2 nights and enjoy the canal tour, swimming pool, hot spring spa, magic show and eco zoo next to the resort.

[Room]

Every room has canal view balcony, very pretty. The theme of the architecture seems to be a well mixture of Catalonian art and Taiwanese pattern. The room and bathroom is spacious and exotic.

[Amenities]

We got welcome snack in the room, I liked the mini-sized honey cake a lot and bought more as souvenir before I left. They had complimentary bottled water, bath products, bath salt, hairdryer, slippers and safety.

[Facility]

My family enjoyed the hot spring with two different temperature in different pools. We also had a free eco ride of canal tour for booking the room, and it was very pleasant. Along the canal was botanical garden, we felt get lost in Garden of Eden.

[Food]

The buffet has a plenty of cuisine to choose from and they taste not bad, I really miss some taiwanese cuisine such as fried radish cake with soy sauce and pork rib soup.

[Service]

As I mentioned earlier, the resort was kinda far away from everything, therefore they offer free shuttle service from the Hualien train station. Just make reservation ahead of time and they also have timetable for the shuttle van online.


Overall, it's a hidden gem in east coast of Taiwan!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiMi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plcresort, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2015

Dear honoured guest,
Thank you for sharing your precious opinions here. We are happy that you liked Promisedland Resort! We have the most abundant ecological environment and unique design ideas. Coexisting with the environment and offering best service are the happiest thing for us. As you plan your next trip back to Hualien, we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Many thanks and all the best .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is one of the best holiday resorts in Hualien. This resort covers a very large area and you may need to book a golf cart to move around your luggage in case your mansion is far away from the entrance/lobby. The resort adopted a tropical feel design with a stream running through the resort. The room is very spacious and clean, in particular the bathroom is very large. Staff are helpful and attentive. While there are many cheaper accommodation options in Hualien, one reason we took this resort is that it offers package for high speed train ticket from Taipei. This saved us time and efforts in booking tickets online (very difficult for express train). The resort also provides shuttle bus between the resort and the Hualien railway station. Moreover, the breakfast is good and up to the standard.

This resort is a bit far away from the city center so you will need to have a car/taxi reserved to travel between the resort and Hualien city for dining and shopping. Note that the Chinese restaurant inside the resort is just average and a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caveman_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Caveman Lee
We appreciate give us excellent review. It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. About Chinese restaurant review ,we will improving direction. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.

With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

What a surprise it was to find this resort in it's pristine setting in Hualian. The facilities are well maintained and the rooms are clean and well appointed. We received excellent service from all of the staff, who were friendly and helpful, and the resort has a nice mix of pools and activities to keep entertained.

What we enjoyed most was it's surroundings, which we were able to enjoy on foot and on rented bicycles. It is located in a beautiful valley surrounded by one of the prettiest and most pristine agricultural regions I've ever seen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Kan C
Your review indeed amazed us ! It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.

With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This resort is hidden within the rift valley 30 minutes south of Hualien. They have a free shuttle to transport you from either the airport or the train station hourly, otherwise, trips into town by taxi runs around NT$700.

The hotel is styled as an eclectic European resort, with Italian statues mixed with Spanish architecture. Guests get complimentary boat ride around the compound as well as combo Taiwanese and Western breakfast. There's also an adjoining Nature Park operated by the same owner, with bamboo boat ride, pony ride, archery, and paddle boat and others.

Pricing for meals outside of breakfast seem to be on the high side. And given the resort's location, you really don't have any other alternative. Other cons: After a day, there's limited amount of activities to fill your day. In addition, owner seems to be pushing a Christian agenda.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank octravel9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plcresort, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2015

Dear honoured guest,
Warm greetings from Promisedland Resort.
We appreciate your visiting. It was our pleasure and we are glad that you liked us. We aim to make turnkey package holidays, where everyone can take full rest as soon as they arrive. We will also continuously work harder and look forward to your next visiting.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The staffs there are so wonderful. I like to say the rezort has best resources - their staffs. The staffs are all enthusiasm to serve the hotel guests. They greeted us sincerely & truly care our feeling a lot. I am quite amazing how does the management can make their staffs work so hard to serve customers. I have been travled many countries and I can say the hotel is definitely be award top 100 resort in the world. This is my 2nd time visited this resort and I am so touch by their efforts to maintain such big land. I like to say thank you to those staffs who stationed at lobby area to offer extra hands to search my 12 year old boy while we couldnt locate him. Also like to thank the staff who dedicated a driver to send my 3 year old daughter to see Dr all the way without extra charge. When I was panic, I can feel they were also worried and eager to help us. I am so touch with your service and my family all had great time there. By the way, I also stayed at 2 nights at hotel bayview ranked #1 in hua lian city. I just like to say it is hard to compare apple and orange because they are targeted different customers. For famiky with kids like me, promised land resort is truly number one choice.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near lobby but it may quite hard due to its popularity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Axycl
We appreciate your visiting and praised our staff. It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. If there is any needs of our services in the future, please feel free to contact with us anytime. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.
With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was invited to a conference being held at this resort hotel. Took a twin to room to share with a colleague at the meeting. Upon arrival, nice reception area and efficient service, followed by golf cart ride to our room, although it was not far away. Room large, spacious and well equipped. Views from the windows beautiful, various lagoon and plantation sights. No minibar, but there was a fridge and a call to reception produced beer to stock it (including top up at 3am). Aircon very effective. Wifi fine (free) but bit slow.

Restaurant selection fairly limited (one chinese one varied with some western), snacks and drinks also from pool bar. Being typically Taiwanese no actual bar at night, but the western type restaurant happy to serve drinks, closing at midnight.

Conference facilities very comfortable, main room had tables so easy to take notes/use lap top (good wifi) etc...

No time to venture out so can not comment on general location, but for this 3-night stay was perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfJackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, Public Relations Manager at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Mr. ProfJackman
We appreciate your visiting and interests in Promisedland Resort. It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. If there is any needs of our services in the future, please feel free to contact with us anytime. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.

With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
5.3 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 136 in Hualien County
1,040 reviews
10.7 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 136 in Hualien County
1,559 reviews
21.9 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 136 in Hualien County
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 136 in Hualien County
205 reviews
8.9 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#3 of 136 in Hualien County
1,019 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#26 of 136 in Hualien County
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promisedland Resort & Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promisedland Resort & Lagoon

Address: No.1 Lisiang Road, Shoufong Town, Hualien County 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hualien County
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hualien County
Price Range: $162 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Promisedland Resort & Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is an artwork of leading architects from the world's top resort designing firm W A T&G.The whole place is saturated with fantasy inspired by Spanish architect,Antoni Gaudi,in the form of winding arches with sprouting Babylon,Byzantine , and Moorish motifs.Sporadic usages of mosaic with astute Andalusia homeland accent add playful character to the building hapes.As if in a breathtaking show of titanic pulse,layers of mountain ridges wind their way into the distant horizon resembling tumbling tides in the nearby Pacific Ocean .Next to the spectacular feat of nature also loom traces of exotic domes ,arches,hallways,columns,and other civic forms.Humanity awaits eventful encounter upon your arrival in this amazing journey to Promised Land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Promisedland Resort & Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promised Land Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing