We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Escape for some R&R” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Promisedland Resort & Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Ranked #10 of 123 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice Escape for some R&R”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This resort is hidden within the rift valley 30 minutes south of Hualien. They have a free shuttle to transport you from either the airport or the train station hourly, otherwise, trips into town by taxi runs around NT$700.

The hotel is styled as an eclectic European resort, with Italian statues mixed with Spanish architecture. Guests get complimentary boat ride around the compound as well as combo Taiwanese and Western breakfast. There's also an adjoining Nature Park operated by the same owner, with bamboo boat ride, pony ride, archery, and paddle boat and others.

Pricing for meals outside of breakfast seem to be on the high side. And given the resort's location, you really don't have any other alternative. Other cons: After a day, there's limited amount of activities to fill your day. In addition, owner seems to be pushing a Christian agenda.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank octravel9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plcresort, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, March 9, 2015
Dear honoured guest,
Warm greetings from Promisedland Resort.
We appreciate your visiting. It was our pleasure and we are glad that you liked us. We aim to make turnkey package holidays, where everyone can take full rest as soon as they arrive. We will also continuously work harder and look forward to your next visiting.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    87
    32
    9
    18
See reviews for
146
40
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The staffs there are so wonderful. I like to say the rezort has best resources - their staffs. The staffs are all enthusiasm to serve the hotel guests. They greeted us sincerely & truly care our feeling a lot. I am quite amazing how does the management can make their staffs work so hard to serve customers. I have been travled many countries and I can say the hotel is definitely be award top 100 resort in the world. This is my 2nd time visited this resort and I am so touch by their efforts to maintain such big land. I like to say thank you to those staffs who stationed at lobby area to offer extra hands to search my 12 year old boy while we couldnt locate him. Also like to thank the staff who dedicated a driver to send my 3 year old daughter to see Dr all the way without extra charge. When I was panic, I can feel they were also worried and eager to help us. I am so touch with your service and my family all had great time there. By the way, I also stayed at 2 nights at hotel bayview ranked #1 in hua lian city. I just like to say it is hard to compare apple and orange because they are targeted different customers. For famiky with kids like me, promised land resort is truly number one choice.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near lobby but it may quite hard due to its popularity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Axycl
We appreciate your visiting and praised our staff. It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. If there is any needs of our services in the future, please feel free to contact with us anytime. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.
With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was invited to a conference being held at this resort hotel. Took a twin to room to share with a colleague at the meeting. Upon arrival, nice reception area and efficient service, followed by golf cart ride to our room, although it was not far away. Room large, spacious and well equipped. Views from the windows beautiful, various lagoon and plantation sights. No minibar, but there was a fridge and a call to reception produced beer to stock it (including top up at 3am). Aircon very effective. Wifi fine (free) but bit slow.

Restaurant selection fairly limited (one chinese one varied with some western), snacks and drinks also from pool bar. Being typically Taiwanese no actual bar at night, but the western type restaurant happy to serve drinks, closing at midnight.

Conference facilities very comfortable, main room had tables so easy to take notes/use lap top (good wifi) etc...

No time to venture out so can not comment on general location, but for this 3-night stay was perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfJackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issac t, Public Relations Manager at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Mr. ProfJackman
We appreciate your visiting and interests in Promisedland Resort. It was our pleasure and honor to have you visited our resort. If there is any needs of our services in the future, please feel free to contact with us anytime. All of our staffs will be more than happy to assist you anytime.

With regards,
Warm greeting from Promisedland Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have been in Taiwan many times for business trip, but this summer we had decided to take a week for family vacation to Taiwan. After a little investigating, it seemed clear that the place to stay was the Promisedland Resort, located in Hualien, eastern Taiwan, it offers amazing view of lagoon, and the most wonderful staff I have ever met there.
The Resort in Hualien exceeded all my expectations. It was like the perfect vacation you never even imagined, you can do whatever you want such as boat ride, SPA program, horse-back riding, bicycle tour, DIY stone-oven bread baking class, aboriginal bamboo rafting, feeding animal etc… On our first few walks to the hotel night show, we were usually picked up by a cart and told to call next time.
I finally realized that the Promisedland Resort had selected as best world 100 Hotel and Resort by the Images Publishing group. Wow! I am so happy I have been there, And I look forward to returning soon. See again! Promisedland Resort!!

Room Tip: Every guest room has view of lagoon, I would recommend guest room at cottage one or two, peaceful ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plcresort, 公關經理 at Promisedland Resort & Lagoon, responded to this review, March 9, 2015
Dear honoured guest,
Thank you for sharing your precious opinions here. We are happy that you liked us and had a great time during your stay. Promisedland continuously offers interesting packages for our guests, no matter you're coming with family members, couples, or doing business trips, etc. Staying with us in Promisedland just couldn't be better, so don't forget to count us into your consideration next time you visit Hualien. We are hoping to see you again very soon! Many thanks and all the best .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hualien, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Location: The hotel is 20-30minutes away from downtown of Haulein. You may arrange shuttle bus from hotel when you make your booking. The hotel is much more like a little resort that features in its spanish, mediterranean architecture style.

Front desk staff: The staffs are all kind but mainly speak in Chinese. After checking in, they will drive you with your luggage to your suite.

Room: I stay in a 4 people’s suites for a night. The room is really comfortable and luxurious with enough space for four people. The view is also very nice, indeed.

Restaurant: The restaurant serves delicious cuisine both in chinese and western flavor!! Definitely worth its price. You may also buy their feature dessert: honey cake.

Overall it’s a good experience, I think it’s more suitable for people want a lazy vacation=)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yichingchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a beautiful place, a nice getaway for the whole family. Having stayed at Farglory our previous two visits (before our kids came along), we wanted to go somewhere where our two young kids (3 and almost 1) could enjoy. Promisedland seemed like the ideal place, with a small waterpark, animals, boat rides, etc. We enjoyed our 3 day, 2 night visit, but we'd say this place is good, not great. For what we paid, we were expecting a little more. The staff are all very friendly and professional, the food is pretty good (but Farglory's is better), but sad to say, our hotel room floor was dirty when we arrived...we ended using a bath towel and cleaning it ourselves not once, but three times since our young one was crawling and we like to walk barefoot on the floors. We told the hotel staff when we checked out and they were exceptionally nice about it and apologized and told us we should have told them earlier, but...

Room Tip: Our room was a bit of a walk from the lobby / restaurants / activities. If your kids are small, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TPEfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just came back from a 2 day vacation. I have stayed at Promise Land for several times and I was never disappointed. I specially love the staffs. Always smiling and very helpful. The rooms I have stayed in is always spacious. Love their breakfast. They also have a very nice poor. I will definitely come back any chance I have.

Room Tip: Bring insect repellent if you visit on spring and summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyhare06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
5.3 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#11 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
10.7 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
0.0 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#3 of 123 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
11.2 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#29 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
11.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#12 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promisedland Resort & Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promisedland Resort & Lagoon

Property: Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Address: No.1 Lisiang Road, Shoufong Town, Hualien 974, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hualien
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Promisedland Resort & Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is an artwork of leading architects from the world's top resort designing firm W A T&G.The whole place is saturated with fantasy inspired by Spanish architect,Antoni Gaudi,in the form of winding arches with sprouting Babylon,Byzantine , and Moorish motifs.Sporadic usages of mosaic with astute Andalusia homeland accent add playful character to the building hapes.As if in a breathtaking show of titanic pulse,layers of mountain ridges wind their way into the distant horizon resembling tumbling tides in the nearby Pacific Ocean .Next to the spectacular feat of nature also loom traces of exotic domes ,arches,hallways,columns,and other civic forms.Humanity awaits eventful encounter upon your arrival in this amazing journey to Promised Land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Promisedland Resort & Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promised Land Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing