We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time!”
Review of Nanbin Park

Nanbin Park
Ranked #39 of 247 things to do in Hualien County
Attraction details
Singapore
Level Contributor
293 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our B&B host told us that Nanbin Night Market was in transition (going to shift to another location) and very few stalls were open. We chose to take a look, hoping to entertain my kids with the game stalls that the night market is well known for.

Bad mistake! It was dark, desserted (only a couple of stalls open) and has a rather gloomy and depressing feel. After walking around for 5min, we walked back and told the driver to take us to Ziqiang night market instead.

Perhaps it wouldn't be this bad when it reopens at the new location. But don't bother to visit it now....

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nlaykhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    12
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

If not it's really walking distance from our lodge, it's not worth a trip to be there. Within 5 minutes you'll cover the whole place. Couple of amusement stalls and food stalls , pretty much that's it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Poor night market”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The park was closed for renovation during our visit I'm sure it will be nice when it reopens later in the year. We were disappointed with the night market mainly amusement stalls like you would see at a fairground. Limited amount of food available. Not worth visiting in my opinion.

Helpful?
1 Thank Derekstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Considering it's a small town, pretty decent!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Yes, Nanbin Park is not fantastic but if you're looking for something like that, go to Taroko, you're in the wrong place in Hualien.

Nanbin Park is large and basically filled with rocks, but the shorefront is still nice to go for a walk a different to a traditional beach. The markets are small, but suitable for the simple folks in Hualien.

If you are looking for something to do in Hualien, this place is worth a visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TIersHasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing more than a rocky beach with small night market.”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

A small night market with 20 stalls. Not many people during week days. However, can consider buying some fireworks to fire at the beach. Fun for Kids.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank rcyc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanbin Park also viewed

 
Hualien County, Taiwan
 

Been to Nanbin Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing