We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Full of Loud Mainlanders” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shihtiping

Shihtiping
Ranked #10 of 240 things to do in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shihtiping is a scenic harbor and fishing village between Hualien and Taitung.
singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Full of Loud Mainlanders”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

When we arrived it was getting crowded with lots of tourists taking in the sights. We took a short walk from the car park and managed to take some photos without strangers in them. However, when we walked out, there were close to 22 huge coaches in the car park. We ran to our car to get out of there!

As we drove past the main point of attraction to a side lane, it was better as it was less chaotic and cooler. The views from here were quite good to capture a few shots. Come early to avoid the crowd, especially in summer!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank twofeathersSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    48
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
208 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Shihtiping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Along the coast, the marine abrasion in Shihtiping is the most magnificent ...But the view site is flooded with tourists, so I prefererred to visit the harbor .. Super quiet place, no tourists, contact with fishermen and more a great fish restaurant ...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful stone steps hewn by nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an area of coastal terraces with coastal plants, wave-cut platforms (like stone steps), sea trenches and cliffs. There is no shade whatsoever on the rocks! In summer, make sure you have adequate sun block, put on sunglasses and wear a cap/hat to protect your head.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Exceeding_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shitiping 石梯坪”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It is one of the scenic east coast attraction at Hualien which is famous for its special geology of sea terrain including the wave-cut platforms, uplifted coral reefs, cliffs and the potholes. It is near to the port where whale-watching first started in Taiwan. There are some wooden structures camping site that are clean and equipped with lights.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Santiago0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go there when it's not so hot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Love the view and the kids love the fact we can go catch fishes and crab. Don't like the heat! In fact the first time we were there, we were a lot happier because we are not toast.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank standingfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shihtiping also viewed

 

Been to Shihtiping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing