We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit but not a place for swimming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ching-Shui Cliff

Ching-Shui Cliff
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Small Group Taroko Gorge Classic Day Tour
Ranked #3 of 248 things to do in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but not a place for swimming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

It takes around 20min to drive there from the main entrance of taroko national park. the view is superb and offers a clear sight of both the pacific ocean and the fault of the mountain. the wave is not little, so better just walk a little along the beach. be caution: quite a lot of tourists.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wonderfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    159
    45
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Broken cliff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I always have a soft spot for sea facing cliffs. The More perilous the better.
This one comes with 2 colored tone sea.
I booked a taxi for my Tarokko gorge excursion. This side trip was thrown in to make the deal sweeter.
However the taxi could only take us to the observatory platform which as usual filled with crowds.
If you have your own transport, go further, through the second tunnel, away from the crowd.
The view was indeed breathtaking. The ocean shimmered under the sun, the white waves crashes against the cliffs.
There's a trail that goes down to the beach. However, my taxi driver "claimed" that there's nothing much to see there ( which I guessed he was timing our schedule). Do note, there's no food stalls or shops here. However there is a toilet if you need to answer to nature's call.
The normal bus that takes you to Tarokko gorge does not stop here.
If I have more time and resources (meaning money), I will like to spend 2 days exploring Tarokko. One day to do all is simply too rushed and I personally feel, an insult to the beauty of this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bakatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
295 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Spectacular Ching Shui Cliff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Here one can see two shades of Pacific Ocean.
The cliff is spectacular. There is a flight of steps that brings one to the beach.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZhaoXiuMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We hried a taxi to travel around taroko gorge and paid extra NTD 500 to visit this place, it was worth the money, the view was breath taking, even though the sky that day wasnt in perfect color, but the color of the ocean make one feel very relax and the scenery was very beautiful.Worth to go!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank XinYi0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went with a Taxi to this place and even though it had a light rain that day, the cliff and beach was beautiful....water so clear and the ocean so amazing....not a thing in sight....you can see a line of horizon between the ocean and the sky...it was a beautiful sight indeed, we were glad we went. It is not far from Silk Place Taroko.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Oppsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ching-Shui Cliff also viewed

 

Been to Ching-Shui Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing