We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Value and great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #12 of 123 Hotels in Hualien
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Value and great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on route to the south of Taiwan. The hotel is designed like a resort hotel, with lots of amenities and including a well-stocked convenience shop with lots of beautiful souvenirs. The rooms are large, well designed with a good shower system. The beds are comfortable, room has strong wifi connections and a good variety of TV channels besides the local channels. For our family on holidays, the best selling point was the restaurant with a generous buffet spread for breakfast and dinner. The overall service and help from the staff was commendable. Many of the staff speak English. Overall, it was very good value for a 4- star hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    102
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
114
31
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour package.
Our room had an excellent view, and was very spacious. Bathroom was luxurious and modern.
Had buffet dinner and breakfast there, and food was quite good.
We understood that it's an expensive hotel, so would expect this level of standard for a five-star hotel.
It was a very nice stay, and we wish we had more than one night here. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keishuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

General: large, modern hotel in a large park, clean, quiet, free parking. Excellent value for the price; we would go there again.
Room: spacious, comfortable beds, two chairs with a small table, TV, minibar, safe, coffee/tea maker, complimentary bottled water, free WLAN access. Nice bathroom.
Restaurant: large and noisy, but with a huge selection of good foods (dinner and breakfast).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

It's a resort hotel which is about 30 mins drive from airport. The room is very spacious and they offered topical fruit plate upon our arrival. The room is very tidy and neat and the view from the room is awesome. This hotel is very caring because they had prepared mosquitoes repellent patch for their customer as the hotel area is surrounded by nature. The hotel offers good quality of buffet breakfast and some really interesting outdoor activities for all age group. I tried one of them and it is really new experience for me! :D It is about 10 mins drive to downtown of hualian and about 30 mins drive to the national park of Taroko. Overall I had a very good stay over here. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LewKaiXian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was my first night stayed in Taiwan after the long flight from North America. Hotel location is ok, not close to any major attactions or night markets (about 10 minutes drive to downtown area). My room is a non-smoking room, but I still can smell the odor from the ancient cigarette.
The facility is excellent, and dinning area is spacious. My stay included free breakfast buffet, and they provide variety of food for different clientele.

Room Tip: Please check with the receiption desk when is the best time to have the breakfast. If you want to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLMarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Known as Meilun Hotel to the locals, Parkview is located about 10 minutes from Hualien's city centre. It's a good escape from the city, with the hotel offering enough to keep all occupied for a while.

The rooms are very spacious, with some offering great views of the mountains. The bed was a bit too firm and pillows flat, though they were able to send more pillows to the room. The bath tub has low sides, so it's easy to get in and out. TV does not have many international channels though. Staff are generally very warm and welcoming.

Breakfast tends to be crowded, and the hotel advised guests to avoid the peak 8-9.30am timing. It's a fairly large spread, just a wait for the cooked food like pasta and eggs. Otherwise, head for the cereal and breads where there are no queues. I didn't try the other restaurants; there were 2 on level 2.

Activities galore at the recreation centre, such as table tennis, billiards, indoor and outdoor pools, gym, children's play area, spa, rock climbing wall etc. The resort even has a man made waterfall and small lake. There's a laundry room with coin operated washers/dryers and a souvenir shop.

I asked about a shuttle bus to the city, but the only shuttles are to the domestic airport and train station. Taxis are about 300NT to Zhonghua Road for shopping or Ziqiang night market.

I generally prefer well located hotels but was attending an event at Parkview. An overall good experience in one of the better hotels in Hualien.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank juzatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We chose the Parkview Hotel because of its access to Taroko Gorge and the activities for kids on the hotel property, and it was great on both points. We arrived in Hualien on the train and the Parkview provided free transport from the station. The room was large, with two double beds and plenty of other room to spread out suitcases and still make an extra bed for our third child. The beds were extremely hard, so I'm not sure the bed on the floor was much different than what the rest of us had. The hotel did not have any extra beds available for the night (and given the speed with which multiple people answered a request, I wonder if they ever have any available), but they did bring us extra bedding to make an extra bed on the floor. We ate only at the buffet restaurant, and it was passable, but nothing special. The hotel seems to get a lot of tour buses through, so it was always busy. Service at the front desk was helpful at check-in, even getting us into the room a bit early because one of our children was feeling ill, and arranging for a taxi for a trip to Taroko Gorge the next day. The highlight of our time at the hotel was the beautiful open space with a view of the gorgeous mountains and a grassy hill to run on, and the recreation building that allows for table tennis, a kids' playroom, arcade games and even an indoor climbing wall. The woman who worked the climbing wall was skilled and friendly, and dealt really nicely with our children. Overall, the size and business of the hotel made it feel a bit impersonal, but the facilities, service and location are a positive, and different than what we saw offered anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
0.5 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#30 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#11 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
1.0 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#8 of 123 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Property: Parkview Hotel
Address: No.1-1 Lin-Yuan, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing