We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Spacious room with lots of outdoor activities available” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #17 of 122 Hotels in Hualien
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spacious room with lots of outdoor activities available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

It's a resort hotel which is about 30 mins drive from airport. The room is very spacious and they offered topical fruit plate upon our arrival. The room is very tidy and neat and the view from the room is awesome. This hotel is very caring because they had prepared mosquitoes repellent patch for their customer as the hotel area is surrounded by nature. The hotel offers good quality of buffet breakfast and some really interesting outdoor activities for all age group. I tried one of them and it is really new experience for me! :D It is about 10 mins drive to downtown of hualian and about 30 mins drive to the national park of Taroko. Overall I had a very good stay over here. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LewKaiXian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    94
    32
    6
    5
See reviews for
108
28
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was my first night stayed in Taiwan after the long flight from North America. Hotel location is ok, not close to any major attactions or night markets (about 10 minutes drive to downtown area). My room is a non-smoking room, but I still can smell the odor from the ancient cigarette.
The facility is excellent, and dinning area is spacious. My stay included free breakfast buffet, and they provide variety of food for different clientele.

Room Tip: Please check with the receiption desk when is the best time to have the breakfast. If you want to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLMarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Known as Meilun Hotel to the locals, Parkview is located about 10 minutes from Hualien's city centre. It's a good escape from the city, with the hotel offering enough to keep all occupied for a while.

The rooms are very spacious, with some offering great views of the mountains. The bed was a bit too firm and pillows flat, though they were able to send more pillows to the room. The bath tub has low sides, so it's easy to get in and out. TV does not have many international channels though. Staff are generally very warm and welcoming.

Breakfast tends to be crowded, and the hotel advised guests to avoid the peak 8-9.30am timing. It's a fairly large spread, just a wait for the cooked food like pasta and eggs. Otherwise, head for the cereal and breads where there are no queues. I didn't try the other restaurants; there were 2 on level 2.

Activities galore at the recreation centre, such as table tennis, billiards, indoor and outdoor pools, gym, children's play area, spa, rock climbing wall etc. The resort even has a man made waterfall and small lake. There's a laundry room with coin operated washers/dryers and a souvenir shop.

I asked about a shuttle bus to the city, but the only shuttles are to the domestic airport and train station. Taxis are about 300NT to Zhonghua Road for shopping or Ziqiang night market.

I generally prefer well located hotels but was attending an event at Parkview. An overall good experience in one of the better hotels in Hualien.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank juzatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We chose the Parkview Hotel because of its access to Taroko Gorge and the activities for kids on the hotel property, and it was great on both points. We arrived in Hualien on the train and the Parkview provided free transport from the station. The room was large, with two double beds and plenty of other room to spread out suitcases and still make an extra bed for our third child. The beds were extremely hard, so I'm not sure the bed on the floor was much different than what the rest of us had. The hotel did not have any extra beds available for the night (and given the speed with which multiple people answered a request, I wonder if they ever have any available), but they did bring us extra bedding to make an extra bed on the floor. We ate only at the buffet restaurant, and it was passable, but nothing special. The hotel seems to get a lot of tour buses through, so it was always busy. Service at the front desk was helpful at check-in, even getting us into the room a bit early because one of our children was feeling ill, and arranging for a taxi for a trip to Taroko Gorge the next day. The highlight of our time at the hotel was the beautiful open space with a view of the gorgeous mountains and a grassy hill to run on, and the recreation building that allows for table tennis, a kids' playroom, arcade games and even an indoor climbing wall. The woman who worked the climbing wall was skilled and friendly, and dealt really nicely with our children. Overall, the size and business of the hotel made it feel a bit impersonal, but the facilities, service and location are a positive, and different than what we saw offered anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Well the clue is in the title. The hotel has everything in place except for the rooms.They look quite old because of dated furniture and furnishing. The bathroom is big but again lacks appeal because of old fitting. Also the sleep quality is quite low not because of the bed but because of paper thin wall and door. You can hear everything happening in the doorway and 2 rooms on both sides. Its quite annoying to wake up to chatter early in the morning.

But I must give full credit to the staff. All of them speak manageable English and go out of their way to help you. The hotel is huge and has all the facilities that you can imagine. Pool, Gym, Tennis Court etc. The restaurant which serves breakfast on the ground floor overlooks the huge garden outside.The breakfast spread was very good and the food was decent if not great. They do have 2 specialty restaurants on the 2nd floor (one is Chinese I think) but I did not eat there during my stay.

Overall,I think this is a good family hotel if you are travelling with kids. Lots of things to do,if you are the type who likes to spend time at the hotel. The cost is average but could be lower given the condition of the rooms specifically.Free wifi is available but the speed is too slow. By way of location, its just 10-15 min.from the airport and the train station as well as the famous beach area. You can actually rent a bicycle and go to the beach whenever you like.

Room Tip: Room with the Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikas101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

this hotel has a huge activity facility that houses sports and gaming equipment, that is conveniently located next to the swimming pool. It's a classy hotel on the outside, but once you enter the room, you will be a little disappointed as the furnishing within is of a lower class. The room is relatively small comparing with the other five-stars hotel that I've stayed near the cities. The breakfast area lacks waiters and you have to queue just to enter, not to menton the long queue for coffee. The breakfast quality has lots of room for improvement, most were horrible. The restaurants on the 2nd floor are fanciful and expensive. The good thing about this hotel is that the service is excellent and most staff speaks english.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our family of four (two adults and two kids ages 4 and 7) stayed here for one night on our around the island tour. We had a suite which was very spacious and the kids even had their own room with a Japanese style sleeping mats. While the architecture is also dated, the inside is recently renovated and the bathrooms were very modern and Western in style.

We arrived late in the evening and left early the next morning, so we didn't get a chance to use the resort facilities. But we walked around the morning of our departure and checked out the pool facilities which looked clean, spacious and well maintained. They had a separate kiddie pool and slides, as well as an indoor playground, pool tables and ping pong tables. There is a large open lawn area and even a driving range. There was a yummy bakery and ice cream stand in the lobby and even a small toy store next to the gift shop.

The breakfast buffet was included, but there were several large tour groups eating breakfast at the same time, so the elevators going downstairs were overcrowded and there was a line to get seated. The quality and selection was a bit subpar, especially in the Western selections.

Despite the crowded breakfast and subpar food, for the value and space, I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amc347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
6.7 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#10 of 122 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#28 of 122 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
1.0 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#8 of 122 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
15.1 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#3 of 122 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Property: Parkview Hotel
Address: No.1-1 Lin-Yuan, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing